Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#41
Originally Posted by brontide View Post
Damn, looks like URI handling is similar, but different... any chance in getting the URI handler code into dbus-switcher? It would also alleviate the need to use greasemonkey for mms: as well ( if I'm seeing this right ).
I only wrote the Greasemonkey script after giving up trying to find out how to change the protocol handling.

Can anyone find the OSSO protocol handler? I tried (adding and) changing all of the proper lines in microb's about:config (mainly the "network.protocol-handler" lines) but it had no effect. There must be some system-wide protocol handler somewhere. I also grepped for "mms:" in all the likely directories without success, so we would need someone with low-level knowledge of how this works here...
 
brontide's Avatar
Posts: 868 | Thanked: 474 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Capital District, NY, USA
#42
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Please post your results here. I'm curious to find out! Could you link to the thread where you discuss this custom script?
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...entral&page=10

Is where I posted my ideas... this is the script I use.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Atempts to translate the command line into numbers without spaces or other chras
number=`echo $* | sed 'y|abcABCdefDEFghiGHIjklJKLmnoMNOpqrsPQRStuvTUVwxyzWXYZ|2222223333334444445555556666667777777788888899999999|; s|[^0123456789\\\#\\\*]||g'`

wget -O /dev/null -q --load-cookie=/home/user/.mozilla/microb/cookies.txt --referer=http://www.grandcentral.com/mobile/messages http://www.grandcentral.com/mobile/calls/click_to_call?destno=$number
Will initiate a GrandCentral callback to my gizmo account. I'm presuming that you have already signed into m.grandcentral.com through the browser so the cookies are all ready to go.

I've already played with some of the default and desktop files and managed to get the default voip-ui to respond to tel: links like the iphone, now I just need to use my script to make the calls ( makes them free since Grandcentral acts as the SIP to landline proxy ). Kinda neat clicking on the facebook iphone call buttons and making the default client ring the number. :-)
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#43
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Pipeline, could you please add the mp_ui.desktop without the MimeType line to your .deb?
I don't think i should be updating the mp_ui.desktop mime type since thats not my file (and since we are still guessing about this ourselves ) Its very possible that would violate a package depency anyways.


I'll try messing around with this setting :
http://cad.cx/blog/2008/03/22/fixing...rt-in-firefox/

It suggests the network.gnomevfs.supported-protocols in /home/user/.mozilla/microb/prefs.js but then im sure i could re-google and get 10,000 different suggestions Thats my next lead though

Last edited by pipeline; 2008-03-24 at 21:58.
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#44
Hmm success (for mms: ), now to figure out which settings i changed were the magic ones :

- I added qoles massive list of media associations to defaults.list
- I added this to dbus-switchboard.desktop :
Code:
[X-Osso-URI-Actions]
mms=X-Osso-URI-Action-Open;

[X-Osso-URI-Action-Open]
Method=mime_open
Name=uri_link_play
TranslationDomain=osso-uri
- and removed the mms=X-Osso-URI-Action-Open; line from mp_ui.desktop's X-Osso-URI-Actions region

there may have also been a :
update-mime-database /usr/share/mime (as root)

And the mms video link earlier posted loads into mplayer

Brontide : This wmv works for wmv because the link (passed to dbus-switchboard still ends in a file type... wmv which i can route)

For the tel: link to work i need to modify dbus-switchboard to handle that custom but it should work... i'm guessing i would edit /usr/bin/dbus-switchboard.py and add (near qoles temporary logic) :
Code:
    if argstr.find("tel:") <> -1:
        os.system("/usr/bin/call.sh " + arguments)
        print "placing call:"
        return
And then maybe edit /usr/share/applications/hildon/dbus-switchboard.desktop and add the tel: handler (like i do above for wmv) to [X-Osso-URI-Actions] and [X-Osso-URI-Action-Open]

do you python enough to edit and test that?

Last edited by pipeline; 2008-03-24 at 22:47.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pipeline For This Useful Post:
brontide's Avatar
Posts: 868 | Thanked: 474 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Capital District, NY, USA
#45
I'll give it a shot and get back to you. I figured from the logic in the voip-ui that I would need to extend the dbus logic with another callback, but I'll see how it gets passed down.

Time to get hacking. The nice thing here is that this is a clean way to handle it. If I write a dialing pad for the home screen I can just do a urlopen and pass it sip: or tel: and if the hook is not there it will open the built-in voip client.

But I ramble.
 
brontide's Avatar
Posts: 868 | Thanked: 474 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Capital District, NY, USA
#46
Oh, while I'm rambling, since you are basically doing URL/string manipulation why not just build out the typing by regexp? That way matching can occur anywhere in the string.
 
brontide's Avatar
Posts: 868 | Thanked: 474 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Capital District, NY, USA
#47
Originally Posted by pipeline View Post
Hmm success (for mms: ), now to figure out which settings i changed were the magic ones :
To get tel: working I did the following and rebooted.

Added this to uri-action-defaults.list

tel=hildon-voip-ui.desktop

Then added/ modified voip-ui.desktop with the following lines.

X-Osso-URI-Actions=voipto;callto;sip;tel

[X-Osso-URI-Action Handler tel]
Method=voip_to
Name=uri_link_make_call
TranslationDomain=osso-uri


Maybe that will help you find your magic changes ;-)
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#48
wow thats cool... and fortunately for you the application to send to is nokia/hildon app wonder why they didnt wire that up before

Thanks for insight to the Action Handler / uri-actions-default linkage that might be good way to expand dbus-switchboard for non-hildon apps.

I have built a new version with modified dbus-switchboard.desktop and added some entries to apps and xref files. Installer will overwrite apps and xref files so backup if you need to.

Download v1.1.1 here :
http://wardenclyffetower.com/MaemoFi...-1.1.3.all.deb

Then for YoDude, you should be able to just edit (as root) the /usr/share/applications/uri-action-defaults.list file and set the mms line at top to :
mms=hildon-dbus-switchboard.desktop

Then reboot and it should work.

As a side note : comix/cbr files (which does have a real mime type just no previous handlers) will work right away from file manager if you open/with and choose dbus-switchboard (because its in the apps and xref files). For automatic selection edit /usr/share/applications/defaults.list adding mime type application/x-cbr=hildon-dbus-switchboard.desktop and reboot

And files with unknown mime types (tap and hold menu/details) application/octet-stream can be universally associated to dbus-switchboard in defaults.list

So to send to non hildon apps :
Web Protocol/URI Handlers : edit uri-actions-default.list
Web MimeTypes : edit defaults.list
FileManager : open/with and pick dbus-switchboard everythime or permanently edit defaults.list

Last edited by pipeline; 2008-05-15 at 02:02.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to pipeline For This Useful Post:
brontide's Avatar
Posts: 868 | Thanked: 474 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Capital District, NY, USA
#49
What repositories for python2.5-hildon and python2.5-gtk?

EDIT: I think I got it

Last edited by brontide; 2008-03-25 at 01:50.
 
pipeline's Avatar
Posts: 693 | Thanked: 502 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#50
hmm maemo extras? probably wont show up in list though but supposed to get pulled in as dependency.

If that doesn't work then shut down app manager and :
Inside x-term type (hit ENTER after each line):

sudo gainroot
apt-get update
apt-get install python2.5-runtime
When asked to agree, choose Y. Now wait until python is being installed.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20.