Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#41
Originally Posted by woody14619 View Post
Hmm.. thats odd, since the sfdisk command output you showed bfore said it had no partitions on the device... Yet now it's saying it has a partition mounted. Well, this should do it for you:

Code:
umount /dev/mmcblk1p1
sfdisk /dev/mmcblk1 <<EOF
,,c
EOF
sync
mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk1p1
sync
sfdisk -d /dev/mmcblk1
The output the the last command should show you have a partition, formatted properly. Then a quick reboot (or open your back cover and replace it) and you should be all set.
Ok did everything you typed and does it look ok? Will reboot after you confirm.

Code:
/home/user # umount /dev/mmcblk1p1
/home/user # sfdisk /dev/mmcblk1 <<EOF
> ,,c
> EOF
Checking that no-one is using this disk right now ...
OK

Disk /dev/mmcblk1: 486192 cylinders, 4 heads, 16 sectors/track
Old situation:
Units = cylinders of 32768 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

   Device Boot Start     End   #cyls    #blocks   Id  System
/dev/mmcblk1p1          0+ 486191  486192-  15558136    b  W95 FAT32
/dev/mmcblk1p2          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/mmcblk1p3          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/mmcblk1p4          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
New situation:
Units = cylinders of 32768 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

   Device Boot Start     End   #cyls    #blocks   Id  System
/dev/mmcblk1p1          0+ 486191  486192-  15558143+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/mmcblk1p2          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/mmcblk1p3          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
/dev/mmcblk1p4          0       -       0          0    0  Empty
Warning: no primary partition is marked bootable (active)
This does not matter for LILO, but the DOS MBR will not boot this disk.
Successfully wrote the new partition table

Re-reading the partition table ...

If you created or changed a DOS partition, /dev/foo7, say, then use dd(1)
to zero the first 512 bytes:  dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/foo7 bs=512 count=1
(See fdisk(8).)
/home/user # sync
/home/user # mkfs.vfat /dev/mmcblk1p1
mkfs.vfat 3.0.1 (23 Nov 2008)
37
#####################################/home/user # sync
/home/user # sfdisk -d /dev/mmcblk1
# partition table of /dev/mmcblk1
unit: sectors

/dev/mmcblk1p1 : start=        1, size= 31116287, Id= c
/dev/mmcblk1p2 : start=        0, size=        0, Id= 0
/dev/mmcblk1p3 : start=        0, size=        0, Id= 0
/dev/mmcblk1p4 : start=        0, size=        0, Id= 0
/home/user #
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.
 
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#42
Originally Posted by fnordianslip View Post
Aargh. Sorry. Been drinking Not helpfull, I know, but at least I'm trying ...

"umount /media/mmc1" should do it.
Will do after woody14619 confirms my previous post.

Thanks!
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.
 
woody14619's Avatar
Posts: 1,455 | Thanked: 3,309 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Rochester, NY
#43
You look good... I'd say reboot and trying writing to it. That should put everything into a working state.

I think I see part of the issue. The old one was formatted as type b, not c. The difference is one uses LBA, the other does not. Shouldn't make a huge difference, but if the devices read the card slighly differently, the LBA version should help.

One thing to note: This is formatting to Fat32. That means you can't store a file on it larger than 2Gb, regardless of the size of the partition. (That's a FAT limitation, no way around that.) Otherwise, anything under 2Gb should store and work fine.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to woody14619 For This Useful Post:
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#44
Alright, it looks like I could write to it, I could before but they would disappear and get the corruption error. Anyway, I copied my videos folder to the memory card but for some reason they don't want to play correctly. It doesn't feel like it's a 100%.

EDIT: I just attempted to delete the videos folder I copied. It deleted, closed the box, reopened the media manager ...the folder with the videos are still there.
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.

Last edited by HeavyComponent; 2010-06-29 at 00:02.
 
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#45
Back to the beginning! I really thought this would of fixed the problem.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.
 
Nathraiben's Avatar
Posts: 267 | Thanked: 408 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Austria
#46
Had a similar problem before - and I never found a fix for it, either.

Just seems like the N900 is a bit picky which cards it will accept. The card in question now happily lives inside my XPeria, while the former XPeria card now works like a charm within the N900. Had no problems with either onr since then - but I'm sure if I switched again I would be back to my read-only problem.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Nathraiben For This Useful Post:
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#47
Nathraiben,

I think I'll do a switch with my 16 with my brothers 16 and see what happens.

Will report back.

I would like to thank everyone who replied and tried to help me. If anyone got a solution please post.

EDIT: You could be right about the N900 being picky when it comes to these memory cards. I inserted my sisters 2GB and it worked flawlessly. The videos played smooth depending on which media player I used, but still quite smooth.

My 16GB has a 2 in the corner and it says HC on it. I have no idea what those stand for. My sisters 2GB is just plain sandisk SD card.
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.

Last edited by HeavyComponent; 2010-06-29 at 01:30.
 
tzsm98's Avatar
Posts: 500 | Thanked: 437 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Oklahoma
#48
Originally Posted by HeavyComponent View Post
Nathraiben,

I think I'll do a switch with my 16 with my brothers 16 and see what happens.

Will report back.

I would like to thank everyone who replied and tried to help me. If anyone got a solution please post.

EDIT: You could be right about the N900 being picky when it comes to these memory cards. I inserted my sisters 2GB and it worked flawlessly. The videos played smooth depending on which media player I used, but still quite smooth.

My 16GB has a 2 in the corner and it says HC on it. I have no idea what those stand for. My sisters 2GB is just plain sandisk SD card.
Some folks have had problems with their microSDHC cards when after having hooked up to their Windows computer in Mass Storage Mode they failed to shut down the card properly by using the "Safely Remove Hardware" wizard before detaching it from the computer. Don't know if this applies to your circumstances or not. I didn't see this mentioned previously, I may have missed it.

The HC is high capacity, in excess of 2 gigabytes. The 2, 4 or 6 has to do with transfers speed possible with the microSDHC card. I saw this mentioned above so I am addressing it.
__________________
A Thing of Beauty Is a Joy Forever
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tzsm98 For This Useful Post:
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 14 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Queens, NY
#49
tzsm98,

Oh ok, I had a feeling that's what it meant. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
Device: Nokia N900
Theme: MaemoItalia Graffiti Theme

---
Who but me?!
--HeavyC.
 
Nathraiben's Avatar
Posts: 267 | Thanked: 408 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Austria
#50
Interesting, so in both cases we're talking about a 16GB microSDHC 2 not working.

(The one that works with my N900 is a 8GB microSDHC 4)

If you happen to get access to your brother's card, maybe note down the data transfer rate for that one, too.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:26.