Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 729 | Thanked: 155 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#51
Originally Posted by benny1967 View Post

This is certainly a chicken-egg problem. No developer will ever put Categories in his .desktop-files if they go unused on the N900.

But if only one applications/launcher such as yours starts using them... You could start a revolution.

Anyway, once you allow users to move around applications, you need a place to store the current location of the app. The .desktop file is a good place for this... So why not write to the .desktop file in case it doesn't already include a category (or in case the category needs to be changed) and then always read from the .desktop file when you have to determine where to put an application?
That would be awesome!
 
fpp's Avatar
Posts: 2,853 | Thanked: 968 times | Joined on Nov 2005
#52
Originally Posted by manzn View Post
Hello fpp,
pls can you enter follow command:
ls -r /opt/*
and post oder mail me the output
Sorry manz -- I'm at work and I forgot my N900 at home this morning, probably not enough awake on this first day of the year :-)

I'll do it this evening if no one beats me to it...
__________________
maemo blog
 
Posts: 526 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#53
This looks like an awesome app. I can't wait for it to hit testing, the I'll be installing this asap :-)
__________________
Christopher Stobbs

My Blog
 
Jaffa's Avatar
Posts: 2,535 | Thanked: 6,681 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ UK
#54
Originally Posted by benny1967 View Post
This is certainly a chicken-egg problem. No developer will ever put Categories in his .desktop-files if they go unused on the N900.
You could use the sections which a user has found to get the app:

Code:
for i in *.desktop; do
  PKG=`dpkg -S "${i}"`
  SECTION=`apt-cache show "${PKG}" | grep ^Section: | cut -d' ' -f 2
}
This is useful for the user and also aligns with #3822.

So why not write to the .desktop file in case it doesn't already include a category (or in case the category needs to be changed) and then always read from the .desktop file when you have to determine where to put an application?
Changing a third party package's files to shuffle things around isn't very polite.
__________________
Andrew Flegg -- mailto:andrew@bleb.org | http://www.bleb.org
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Jaffa For This Useful Post:
Posts: 85 | Thanked: 171 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#55
@jaffa thx nice input

@all i have a new version online - testet bei Tom

http://maemo.3ion.at/mymenu-0.4.1.20100104_armel.deb

nice testing - Tom means the update version is ok - plese give me a response :-D
 

The Following User Says Thank You to manzn For This Useful Post:
Posts: 345 | Thanked: 100 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#56
How can I know which version I have ? I can't find MyMenu in AppManager
 
Posts: 85 | Thanked: 171 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#57
@soleil

in xterm enter following command: dpkg -s mymenu | grep Version
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to manzn For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,151 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#58
Wow, groovy! I guess the main menu is supposed to be the system of shortcuts you can put on the desktop, but this is very helpful.
 
Posts: 345 | Thanked: 100 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#59
My version is 0.4.20100103 and I can't update to 20100104 which the script update-menu of MyMenu
 
Posts: 85 | Thanked: 171 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Austria
#60
@soleil - the update-menu is only for the apps not for a update function for the debian package - you musst download the newest version and install it per xterm with dpkg -i mymenu-0.4.1.20100104_armel.deb
 

The Following User Says Thank You to manzn For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:21.