Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#631
I see no problem with this usecase. We need to implement a plugin selection dialog in any case, in which one could check the default plugin to handle a given payload. Then all we'd need to do is create a setting such that the results window is not displayed if not wanted (it provides the copy button, but with a default plugin has no other use).

Regarding opening the web-browser, there are two ways it can open - either in a new window, or in the same window; a settings dialog for the qrcode plugin could allow the user to select which of these happens.

I'll add these to my ToDo list
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#632
Right, hugopl (in #pyside) pointed out that my widget variable is being decref'd as soon as the window is created, so simply making the widget a member of the class (e.g. adding it as self.widget in __init__() sorts that out and displays the window).

Looks like Python scripting is go!

I'll come up with an example code tomorrow, and also one which uses DBus to notify/start external apps (e.g. Map apps for geo:// payloads).
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#633
@flux might be interesting to see this as an option for mbarcode as a plugin or something but i duno if mbarcode does support automatic action.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#634
Originally Posted by flux View Post
I would like to whip out my N900, point it towards the boxes and have my web browser be redirected to the said URL without needing other interaction; should I point to another box, the browser should be redirected to that new page, again without any interaction other than moving the camera.
So you want mBarcode to continue scanning in the background while you view the webpage? Well this is certainly doable once I add the right combination of settings (use default plugin, don't show results page, continuous scanning).


Originally Posted by flux View Post
Now, maybe mbarcode isn't the application for this special use case. But it'd be nice if it were . An alternative to use mbarcode would in my mind be a fork that would use a webkit widget for displaying the page. That way it could still provide its own menu for options.
You are of course welcome to fork if you really want to, but I'd prefer to add options to mBarcode such that it becomes suitable for your (and anyone else's) usecases.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#635
Ok, so MECARD decoding now works, I'll push an update to extras-devel later on today (mbarcode-plugin-qrcode)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 187 | Thanked: 162 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Sunny Woollahra
#636
How would I implement this: http://www.ebayinc.com/content/press...20100623006637 or something like this?

I realise this is an iPhone app, so would RedLaser need to do it, or would I be able to? (If I could write the plugin for mBarcode)
__________________
I think there should be another word for mondegreen
 

The Following User Says Thank You to rfa For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#637
sounds like basically they want to save ppl with iPhones from having to type the EAN,.. code into whatever selling app .. since afaik there's no ebay listing app for the n900 this is not really much of an option - u can of course use mbarcode to read the ean , copy and paste it into ebay-webform .. unless you are planning to write an ebay listing app .. ^^
 

The Following User Says Thank You to LordVan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#638
Originally Posted by rfa View Post
How would I implement this: http://www.ebayinc.com/content/press...20100623006637 or something like this?

I realise this is an iPhone app, so would RedLaser need to do it, or would I be able to? (If I could write the plugin for mBarcode)
Yes we could really do with a plugin that takes the EAN, and then does a lookup and search for where and what price you can buy the item. Android has had one of these for ages (and in fact was what prompted me to start writing mBarcode, unfortunately it's taken a while!). i.e. http://scan.jsharkey.org/

Now that we have working Python plugins, it should be significantly easier to do the weblookups/scraping required to do this. If there's any exsiting Python code out there that we could start with to save writing the whole thing from scratch, that would be good
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#639
Originally Posted by LordVan View Post
sounds like basically they want to save ppl with iPhones from having to type the EAN,.. code into whatever selling app .. since afaik there's no ebay listing app for the n900 this is not really much of an option - u can of course use mbarcode to read the ean , copy and paste it into ebay-webform .. unless you are planning to write an ebay listing app .. ^^
It can't be that hard and would also be a worthwhile thing to do, but I've got quite a lot on my plate already so if someone else fancies having a go that would be good

E.g. http://developer.ebay.com/devzone/sh...s_nv_json.html
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austria
#640
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
It can't be that hard and would also be a worthwhile thing to do, but I've got quite a lot on my plate already so if someone else fancies having a go that would be good

E.g. http://developer.ebay.com/devzone/sh...s_nv_json.html
The problem with that (for me) is that whenever ebay has those free listing days they add a note saying that u can't use any listing tools, but have to use the webpage .... suckers
 
Reply

Tags
barcode, camera, mbarcode


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51.