Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#661
mBarcode starts too slowly for my liking, so I've added some qDebug()s with elapsed times. This is what we see with the first run through (not all classes instrumented):

Code:
event	elapsed time	event time
startup	0	0
show spash screen	266	266
start main window class	269	3
killing camera app	400	131
set window title	400	0
register dbus metatypes 
and connect to shutter/button
signals	413	13
determine initial lens cover state	414	1
load settings	417	3
Create BarcodeDetector	421	4
create Resultswindow	512	91
create VideoWidget	2958	2446
Set autofocus, etc.	2959	1
connect some signals	2959	0
set some window attributes	3020	61
start video widget	3756	736
set videowidget as central widget	3759	3
create and run plugin loader 
thread, register Dbus connections	6824	3065
So it looks like the GStreamer pipeline setup is taking a rather long time, and surprisingly the plugin loader thread (or the DBus connection registration) too, I need to look into that as it should really run async...

Last edited by lardman; 2010-12-08 at 09:35.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#662
Hmm, that table looks awful, will edit it to remove the tabs
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 337 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Austin, TX, USA
#663
Just wanted to mention again how great this app is! A friend recently got an android phone and wanted to show off the super cool app she had. She can scan bar codes and look stuff up! I pretended to be impressed.

Another friend was scanning a qr code with inigma on his iPhone yesterday. I had inigma on a previous windows phone and it is a good scanner, but neither that version nor the iPhone version is as quick or offers as many options as mBarcode.

So kudos to the author!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rmerren For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#664
Thanks for the nice comments rmerren

Going back to the startup speed, looks like I made a school-boy error moving the plugin loading to a thread some months ago, I've now fiex this and we end with a startup time which is twice as quick, however the plugin loading still needs to be done. My preference would be to defer this until after the UI is displayed and then let it run in a bg thread, but apparently it's not possible to set thread priorities so this interferes with the camera view, so I'm currently thinking that the plugin loading should be performed when the results window is first displayed - this produces a delay, which is not ideal, so I'll see if there are any other options re. threading.

In any case I hope to have a new version in Extras-devel this evening.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Den in USA's Avatar
Posts: 1,390 | Thanked: 642 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ California USA
#665
Today I tried generating a link to this thread:

Name:  Mbarcode Link.png
Views: 666
Size:  500 Bytes


Works great!
__________________
N800 / Diablo / 16gb int / 16gb ext / Globalsat BT-359 gps ..... Dell Streak 5 - Android 2.2.2
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Den in USA For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#666
Originally Posted by Den in USA View Post
Today I tried generating a link to this thread:

Attachment 16225


Works great!

Lol, thanks

Time to get QR codes added to the maemo downloads page so we can install packages automatically too.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#667
Right, I've pushed a version of mBarcode that is faster to startup, but then takes longer to display the results window (on the first go), see what you think.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
Den in USA's Avatar
Posts: 1,390 | Thanked: 642 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ California USA
#668
@ lardman - For my Diablo version I stll need to go through terminal to run. However, not a problem since I use "Personal Launcher" and checked "Run in Terminal".
__________________
N800 / Diablo / 16gb int / 16gb ext / Globalsat BT-359 gps ..... Dell Streak 5 - Android 2.2.2

Last edited by Den in USA; 2010-12-08 at 18:40.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#669
Yeah Diablo has unfortunately been almost forgotten.

I suppose we should try a backport of some of the newer features, but we'll need to change the UI. How many people are still using mBarcode with Diablo? Anyone fancy taking on the challenge (with me)?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lardman For This Useful Post:
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#670
i saw an update yesterday but couldn't update, is there some bug ?
 
Reply

Tags
barcode, camera, mbarcode


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:48.