Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 557 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#671
Originally Posted by The Quote Train View Post
Awesome, when did this new version come out?

Any improvement in sound smoothness?
Earlier today for Pandora, just need a proper recompile for N900.

Changes from previous:
- Improved triangle buffering. Due to the low amount of RAM the RSP had access to it could only store ~32 (64 in FZero X's case) transformed vertices at one time. This meant that some programs loaded in 32 vertices and drew them, then directly after loaded in the next 32. My optimisation involved dynamically mapping these 32 vertex locations to a 256 sized buffer and only flushing the buffer when a state change occurs or its full. I used this size so i could continue using UNSIGNED_BYTE index buffers in GL (and i don't think many models actually exceeded 256 verts). With my current fairly naive implementation, The initial scene of Super Mario's Bob-Bomb battlefield (the first level) went from 318 draw calls (21 vertices per call) to 116 draw calls (57 vertices per call) which resulted in it going from ~18 fps to ~21 fps. This is pretty much best case scenario though, Other games do not show any improvement ie Banjo Kazooie. Anyway it makes a noticeable difference in some games.
- Added support for noise and k4/k5 in combiner. I haven't been able to test noise yet though, i can't find anywhere where its used.... apparently the invisibility effect of sm64 uses it.... but i'm not up to that bit yet.
- Redid texture cache. Added support for using IA textures. For some reason though using IA texture in some games causes a null pointer exception, so they're off by default.
- Fixed Wave Race 64 menu, have no idea how i did it...
- I also broke clipping so don't enable it.
- Various other fixes.

And plans to fix Tony Hawk and Starcraft in the next edition. That said, go try out Tony Hawk now... if your tripping you will LOVE the texture bugs :P
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to IzzehO For This Useful Post:
Posts: 94 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Germany
#672
Originally Posted by slartibartfass View Post
Hi, du kannst die Nummern der Tasten hier:
http://www.theasciicode.com.ar/
ablesen. Für "ä", wo normalerweise die pfeiltaste oben ist, wäre das dann 132 (immer die nummer für die kleinen Buchstaben).
Du kannst die blight_input.conf mit leafpad öffnen und bearbeiten, oder die Tasten mittels GUI zuweisen, options und dann input settings.
What's the problem with writing English in an English forum? Maybe others (who are not from Germany) could find the comment useful. The original post was English, so no need to answer in German.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to weißelstone For This Useful Post:
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Brighton UK
#673
Originally Posted by IzzehO View Post
For anyone interested.. just to tease you. Super Smash Bros now works in the new version... along with a 3-4 fps increase in several games.

Been playing SSB for the last 2 hours at full speed, aside from the fact none of them have eyes: it runs perfect.

Now we just need javis to compile and release for you guys :P

As for the SIGSEV error, its a very, very broad error and can mean many things. The most common is the emulator has some weird memory stuck somewhere: just close GUI and re-open. It can also mean the ROM doesn't work, is corrupted or just hates you :P If you know the rom should be working (be sure to try both NTSC and PAL versions), reinstall as posted on the first post at the bottom.
Thats strange, my smash bross was working brilliantly even before the update and all characters have eyes too lol. Audio is on a par with mario 64 and Fzero which i have found to be two other games that run near perfectly. Mario Kart and Zelda OOT playable also but seem to struggle more with audio.

Duke Nukem zero hour also runs near perfectly for me and for those who like zelda I found majoras mask to run even better than Ocarina.

It seems some roms vary in quality so might be worth while people testing an alternative rom if an initial one is unstable before writing it off.
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#674
Originally Posted by IzzehO View Post
For anyone interested.. just to tease you. Super Smash Bros now works in the new version... along with a 3-4 fps increase in several games.

Been playing SSB for the last 2 hours at full speed, aside from the fact none of them have eyes: it runs perfect.

Now we just need javis to compile and release for you guys :P
Btw, how did you test it?
 
Posts: 557 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#675
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
Btw, how did you test it?
ishurmer compiled a version with just SSB fix today. I passed on it was available if he was bored. I'd probably try it myself.. but if a straight up make fails for me... I've got no where near the skill to fix it :P The rest I just stipulated from Adventus' post... on looking back it doesn't seem to come off that way.

This mean your working on it now?

Originally Posted by Mat2k10 View Post
Thats strange, my smash bross was working brilliantly even before the update and all characters have eyes too lol. Audio is on a par with mario 64 and Fzero which i have found to be two other games that run near perfectly. Mario Kart and Zelda OOT playable also but seem to struggle more with audio.
Did you try and actually play SSB? If you did you'd find as soon as you hit someone the emulator would crash. Also in both PAL and NTSC for me the actual 3D characters in game had and still have.. no eyes :P

Duke Nukem zero hour also runs near perfectly for me and for those who like zelda I found majoras mask to run even better than Ocarina.
Just make sure to use NTSC version of both.... PAL version is messed up.

It seems some roms vary in quality so might be worth while people testing an alternative rom if an initial one is unstable before writing it off.
Yep, tis the major tip of the day :P

Last edited by IzzehO; 2010-07-14 at 13:26.
 
Magik's Avatar
Posts: 271 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Poland, Białystok
#676
And plans to fix Tony Hawk and Starcraft in the next edition
argh! Someone gonna be my hero

Thanks for the news IzzehO.
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#677
Originally Posted by IzzehO View Post
ishurmer compiled a version with just SSB fix today. I passed on it was available if he was bored. I'd probably try it myself.. but if a straight up make fails for me... I've got no where near the skill to fix it :P The rest I just stipulated from Adventus' post... on looking back it doesn't seem to come off that way.
The "SSB fix" was not integrated in neither Adventus release nor Ari's source, so I'm wary.
 
Posts: 557 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#678
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
The "SSB fix" was not integrated in neither Adventus release nor Ari's source, so I'm wary.
I've had no issue with it if thats any consolation? :P I'm assuming you saw the 'hotfix' on the previous page? Adventus also has no issue with putting it in the next release.

Leave it out, or include both builds, but I've tried a few games with the fix and haven't seen any issues. Besides that, its a devel app, For every 2 games that are fixed another gets broken anyway.
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#679
Originally Posted by IzzehO View Post
For every 2 games that are fixed another gets broken anyway.
Touché


The plugin is in -devel but the updated version of the emu isn't, so you can only update with apt-get install (NEVER do apt-get upgrade with -devel enabled). I will upload the emu "soon", hopefully.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 619 | Thanked: 100 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#680
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
Touch?


The plugin is in -devel but the updated version of the emu isn't, so you can only update with apt-get install (NEVER do apt-get upgrade with -devel enabled). I will upload the emu "soon", hopefully.
That's weird, I've been using apt-get upgrade with devel enabled for months and nothing major happened. Oh well haha.

edit - do you recommend waiting for the entire emu update to arrive to devel?
________
Pissing Panties

Last edited by nax3000; 2011-03-18 at 13:26.
 
Reply

Tags
emulator, games, mupen64plus, nintendo, nintendo64


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:48.