Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#61
It seems they have removed the stable repository I'm still having problems with that deb file - apt-get dist-upgrade always flags it up even though it is already installed.. and my SDK in general just doesn't seem to be working properly. I must be missing something, but no idea what..

If I can bring myself to installing everything one more time, I'll try again later on today and use the policy-rc.d fix instead.
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#62
I can confirm the exit 101 trick works; it also seemed to take less time to download and install all the binaries this time; only around 2 hours, though this may have been coincidence!

Here's the full list of commands to run to get from qole's image to a working sdk (plus a lot of patience), please note that you will need 7zip installed (apt-get install p7zip-full). I'm also assuming the image is in /home/user/MyDocs and you will also need to replace <your token code here> with the code you receive when agreeing to the license agreement at http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/eula/index.php

Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs
7z e maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2.lzma
mkdir /floppy
qmount /home/user/MyDocs/maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2 /floppy
mkdir /floppy/dev
mkdir /floppy/dev/pts
mkdir /floppy/dev/shm
mkdir /floppy/usr/share/X11
mkdir /floppy/usr/share/X11/xkb
mkdir /floppy/var/run/dbus
mkdir /floppy/var/lib/dbus
mkdir /floppy/var/run/pulse
cp /bin/busybox /floppy/bin
cp /etc/hosts /floppy/etc/hosts
cp /etc/ld.so.conf /floppy/etc/ld.so.conf
CHROOT=/floppy synchroot
echo "exit 101" > /floppy/usr/sbin/policy-rc.d
echo "deb http://repository.maemo.org/ fremantle/<your token code here> nokia-binaries" >> /floppy/etc/apt/sources.list
qumount /floppy
mkdir /sdk
qchroot /home/user/MyDocs/maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2 /sdk
apt-get update
apt-get install nokia-binaries
Oh, and you may also need to run these commands as root because of creating the /floppy and /sdk directories. I did it as root by default so can't be sure.

Last edited by Tigerite; 2010-06-02 at 12:57.
 

The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Tigerite For This Useful Post:
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#63
Many thanks to qole and Tigerite. Things went very smoothly by following all suggestions through qole's last post, and Tigerite has consolidated them nicely.

Anyway, the problem for me has always been making changes that require the rerunning of autoconf and/or automake. I've had some luck by soft linking stuff (i.e. automake1.8 -> automake, not automake1.4 -> automake), but generally, I have to bootstrap these kind of changes in scratchbox, and then copy the project over.

So, it would be the ultimate cool if someone had a recipe for properly installing and configuring the auto build stuff.

But again, qole and Tigerite rock the house.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#64
Okay, I think I'll have to kill Nokia now; not only is the repository back up but there's a more up-to-date version so I've got to create my SDK all over again
 
jaeezzy's Avatar
Posts: 664 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Australia
#65
Originally Posted by Tigerite View Post
Code:
cd /home/user/MyDocs
7z e maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2.lzma
mkdir /floppy
qmount /home/user/MyDocs/maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2 /floppy
mkdir /floppy/dev
mkdir /floppy/dev/pts
mkdir /floppy/dev/shm
mkdir /floppy/usr/share/X11
mkdir /floppy/usr/share/X11/xkb
mkdir /floppy/var/run/dbus
mkdir /floppy/var/lib/dbus
mkdir /floppy/var/run/pulse
cp /bin/busybox /floppy/bin
cp /etc/hosts /floppy/etc/hosts
cp /etc/ld.so.conf /floppy/etc/ld.so.conf
CHROOT=/floppy synchroot
echo "exit 101" > /floppy/usr/sbin/policy-rc.d
echo "deb http://repository.maemo.org/ fremantle/<your token code here> nokia-binaries" >> /floppy/etc/apt/sources.list
qumount /floppy
mkdir /sdk
qchroot /home/user/MyDocs/maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2 /sdk
apt-get update
apt-get install nokia-binaries
Hi can you plz tell if the "CHROOT=/floppy synchroot" is a cmd or it should be written in ld.so.conf? coz I put it in ld.so.conf file and I was getting "ldconfig: /floppy synchroot is not a known library type" however the installation completed without any errors. Thanks

EDIT: OK my bad.. got it. Thanks.

Last edited by jaeezzy; 2010-06-04 at 04:00.
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 320 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Peterborough, UK
#66
Glad you figured it out I can confirm that the commands I posted are also relevant for the new SDK rootstrap image, i.e. you still need to create the same directories and copy the same files, no more and no less.. there's a little bit of work involved to create your own .ext2 image from the tgz'd image, though (until qole is kind enough to host one - I would do it myself but I'd have to use something like RapidShare, which I loathe).
 
Posts: 2,014 | Thanked: 1,581 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#67
Installed the basic version of the rootstrap you posted qole, but the link to the more advanced one seems borked. Any chance you could put it back up again?
__________________
Class .. : Power Poster, Potential Coder
Humor .. : [*********] Alignment: Chaotic Evil
Patience : [***-------] Weapon(s): +2 Logic Mace
Agro ... : |*****-----] Relic(s) : G1, N900

 
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#68
For users who have an existing SDK environment wouldn't it be enough to tar the contents of /scratchbox/users/mohammad/targets/FREMANTLE_ARMEL ?
 
daperl's Avatar
Posts: 2,427 | Thanked: 2,986 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#69
Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
For users who have an existing SDK environment wouldn't it be enough to tar the contents of /scratchbox/users/mohammad/targets/FREMANTLE_ARMEL ?
If I understand things correctly, when working in any scratchbox target, some of the tools are cleverly redirected to x86 binaries. Look at /scratchbox/users/mohammad/targets/FREMANTLE_ARMEL/scratchbox. I think it's a soft link to /scratchbox.

EDIT:

Scratch that. /scratchbox is bound to /scratchbox/users/mohammad/scratchbox. No soft link.
__________________
N9: Go white or go home

Last edited by daperl; 2010-06-04 at 15:22.
 
jaeezzy's Avatar
Posts: 664 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Australia
#70
Originally Posted by Tigerite View Post
Glad you figured it out I can confirm that the commands I posted are also relevant for the new SDK rootstrap image, i.e. you still need to create the same directories and copy the same files, no more and no less.. there's a little bit of work involved to create your own .ext2 image from the tgz'd image, though (until qole is kind enough to host one - I would do it myself but I'd have to use something like RapidShare, which I loathe).
Thanks for the reply. By new SDK do you mean maemo-sdk-v1_2.img.ext2.lzma from qole? coz this is what I have and dpkg -l | grep qt doesn't return anything. Also dpkg-buildpackage -b says Perl: warning setting locale failed, however the process goes on but this message keeps popping. Thanks
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:45.