Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,014 | Thanked: 1,581 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#61
Originally Posted by rlinfati View Post
ahhh...
the java is a trial of 90 days... but, you can reset... uninstalling, and installing again

( at the first run of java, it change a file... )
Couldnt you just keep a copy of the file with the old date and copy that back in place when the timer runs out?
__________________
Class .. : Power Poster, Potential Coder
Humor .. : [*********] Alignment: Chaotic Evil
Patience : [***-------] Weapon(s): +2 Logic Mace
Agro ... : |*****-----] Relic(s) : G1, N900

 
Posts: 402 | Thanked: 229 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Missouri, USA
#62
Originally Posted by Dak View Post
You'll need your N900s IP address - there's a very handy little widget for that (thanks to whoever made it!)

example:

scp -r ejre1.6.0_10 root@my.n900.ip.addr:/home/opt/java
Half true. You can, instead of an IP address, use your N900's host name. From xterm on your N900:
Code:
hostname
By default, this returns "Nokia-N900-42-11"

Your scp command on your host computer then becomes:
Code:
scp -r ejre1.6.0_10 root@Nokia-N900-42-11/home/opt/java
If you are like me, names are easier to memorize than numbers (assuming you aren't being lazy and using the history, lol)

At any rate, pretty interesting that you got the jre running.
__________________
aspidites | blog | aspidites@inbox.com

Last edited by aspidites; 2009-12-22 at 02:31.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aspidites For This Useful Post:
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 213 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#63
Half true. You can, instead of an IP address, use your N900's host name.
Half true. You will need to enter your N900 hostname into your "/etc/hosts" file for your method to work.

Your PC will not know WTF "Nokia-N900-42-11" means, otherwise.

Please don't post misleading information. Think it through and double-check your work. There are many new linux enthusiasts here that could be unnecessarily confused by such things.

Last edited by Dak; 2009-12-22 at 01:55.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dak For This Useful Post:
Posts: 402 | Thanked: 229 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Missouri, USA
#64
Originally Posted by Dak View Post
Half true. You will need to enter your N900 hostname into your "/etc/hosts" file for your method to work.

Your PC will not know WTF "Nokia-N900-42-11" means, otherwise.

Please don't post misleading information. Think it through and double-check your work. There are many new linux enthusiasts here that could be unnecessarily confused by such things.
I didn't make any modifications to my /etc/hosts file and my computer instantly recognized "Nokia-N900-42-11. In fact, the only thing in my /etc/hosts file is this:
Code:
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain   localhost my_host_name
While I appreciate your enthusiasm for wanting to help people, I would appreciate it if you didn't ASSUME that I a) didn't check my work and b) I am unconcerned about how my posts will affect other readers.
__________________
aspidites | blog | aspidites@inbox.com
 

The Following User Says Thank You to aspidites For This Useful Post:
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 213 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#65
I knew your method wouldn't work, but I tested it anyway (Fedora12 box)....and sure enough, it didn't work.

It is clear that you didn't check your work because you don't understand WHY it worked for you. If youi're going to suggest things like this, you should explain them fully.

How is the name ""Nokia-N900-42-11" being correctly resolved to an IP address on your machine/network?
 
Posts: 402 | Thanked: 229 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Missouri, USA
#66
Originally Posted by Dak View Post
I knew your method wouldn't work, but I tested it anyway (Fedora12 box)....and sure enough, it didn't work.
Works for me:
http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cQl3f6hus

Originally Posted by Dak View Post
It is clear that you didn't check your work because you don't understand WHY it worked for you.
I do know why it works. That it fails to work on your machine is no indication of my (in)ability to check my work.

Originally Posted by Dak View Post
If youi're going to suggest things like this, you should explain them fully.

How is the name ""Nokia-N900-42-11" being correctly resolved to an IP address on your machine/network?
Much like you explained how "scp" magically worked on your N900? Much like you explained how to use the alternative archiving program that you pointed to?

I tend not to explain things that aren't going to damage a person's computer. And don't mind answering questions that arise because of some element that I introduced into a conversation.

At any rate, for the sake of not confusing things further and attempting to make this thread at least some-what OP related, two things that I believe make it work on my box and not yours are:
1) I have DHCP enabled
2) both my laptop and N900 are connected on the same wifi network.

That being said for the sake of clarity, my original post should have been something like this:

"If both your N900 is connected to your home wifi connection, you should be able to replace the IP address with the host name without modifying any files on your system."
__________________
aspidites | blog | aspidites@inbox.com
 
Texrat's Avatar
Posts: 11,700 | Thanked: 10,045 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ North Texas, USA
#67
Ok, guys, you're BOTH doing good work here.
__________________
Nokia Developer Champion
Different <> Wrong | Listen - Judgment = Progress | People + Trust = Success
My personal site: http://texrat.net
 
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 213 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#68
I too have DHCP and wifi....yet it doesn't work. I understand why it doesn't work and don't expect it to work. This is why I raised the warning flag about your suggestion - on most stock systems it likely won't work either.

There is more to your config....you really should explain what. DNS server? NIS? Funky WINS router etc?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#69
Dak, aspidites, seriously. Break it up.

This is way off topic anyway, since using scp to transfer the files from a desktop is not the best way to do this. Go to the Embedded Java web page with your N900's browser and download the file directly to your N900, then follow Rob1n's instructions for extracting the files to your /opt directory.

But if you really insist on using scp, try to ping your N900's host name. If that doesn't work, use the IP address (as shown by a couple of widgets you can get for your n900's desktop). It just isn't a big deal.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!

Last edited by qole; 2009-12-22 at 05:48.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 213 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#70
I tend to download everything to my repository server - huge storage - hence my initial use of scp.

But you're right....downloading directly to the N900 and using "tar -xzvf" is far more direct.

Anyway, I'm still fubar with the jarfile mime registration....and I'm working on some crude java benchmarking app to see how hard we can push this baby.

Still no word from Sun regarding licene/royalties.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:26.