Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#691
the default password is 12345.
 
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#692
Originally Posted by kaos_king View Post
OK i sorted this, damn windows firewall. Disabled it and i can get a connection now.

However im still unsure how to connect to the n900 once its connected to my windows 7 box running ssh server. I tried afew connections in putty but couldnt really get anywhere. Im new to ssh, any guidace would be greatly appreciated.
Figured it.


** Edit **
Last question now, maybe i'll figure this one out before someone responds like the others, but I've been searching and trying different things for a while now and cant get it.

I want to be able to copy files from the N900 to either my local machine (thats running putty connected to my dedicated server, and then connected to the n900) or copy the files to my dedicated server - either is fine with me.

I can get files to copy to other locations with scp but i cant get the files to my local. Im using the command like this:

Code:
scp root@localhost:/home/user/MyDocs/somefile.txt .
Now I know the trailing dot means to drop the file in the current directory but the current directory through putty is on the n900. So i can successfully copy files around on the n900, but the way I was trying to get the files to local is like this:

Code:
scp root@localhost:/home/user/MyDocs/somefile.txt remote@MyServerIP:/home/remote
This requests my n900's root password and then reports:

Code:
Permission denied, please try again.
Permission denied, please try again.
Permission denied (publickey,password,keyboard-interactive).
lost connection
Nokia-N900:~#
Is this something to do with me needing to add a key to a file? I've seen that mentioned around alot, but I'm not sure what key and add it to what file (server/n900/local machine?) or if im even on the right lines with adding a key - is there something else Im missing?

As always, help would be appreciated, i've spent many hours on this now and im all out of ideas.

Also, should I be able to log in to the n900 straight from the server? I cant seem to be able to. Cheers, kaos.

Last edited by kaos_king; 2011-02-12 at 12:40. Reason: Got another question/not double posting
 
Saturn's Avatar
Posts: 1,648 | Thanked: 2,122 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ UNKLE's Never Never Land
#693
Originally Posted by kaos_king View Post
Figured it.


** Edit **
Last question now, maybe i'll figure this one out before someone responds like the others, but I've been searching and trying different things for a while now and cant get it.

I want to be able to copy files from the N900 to either my local machine (thats running putty connected to my dedicated server, and then connected to the n900) or copy the files to my dedicated server - either is fine with me.

I can get files to copy to other locations with scp but i cant get the files to my local. Im using the command like this:

Code:
scp root@localhost:/home/user/MyDocs/somefile.txt .
...

Use something like cygwin or mobaXterm on your pc and the first scp you wrote will work.
http://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/en/

Another way is to use WinSCP.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Saturn For This Useful Post:
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#694
Originally Posted by Saturn View Post
Use something like cygwin or mobaXterm on your pc and the first scp you wrote will work.
http://mobaxterm.mobatek.net/en/

Another way is to use WinSCP.
Cheers saturn. I was trying to get WinSCP to do it but I was running it on the local machine and i didnt know where to connect to because first i must connect to the server and then to the n900. Should i run it straight on the server? The server is win7 running CopSSH and it has a bash shell but i cant connect to the n900 from that.

Thanks for the link, not heard of mobaXterm, i'll read up on it when I finish work, but if i use that i still am a little confused as to whether i should be running it on the server or my local machine.

Maybe its a little easier to describe to me if I show you my setup:

Code:
Local machine - win7- (internal)192.168.2.4

Server - win7 - sshd - (int)192.168.2.5 - (ext)MyServerIP

N900 - usual setup
At the moment, i cant seem to talk to the n900 from the server, the only way i can get it to work is connecting the local machine to the server via putty and MyServerIP and then logging in, then i use the ssh command for the n900 (ssh -p 8080 localhost -l root), enter my password and im away.

Sorry for going on, but should i be able to do it on the server or am i using the right method using a local machine and the server as a middle man?
 
Saturn's Avatar
Posts: 1,648 | Thanked: 2,122 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ UNKLE's Never Never Land
#695
Originally Posted by kaos_king View Post
Cheers saturn. I was trying to get WinSCP to do it but I was running it on the local machine and i didnt know where to connect to because first i must connect to the server and then to the n900. Should i run it straight on the server? The server is win7 running CopSSH and it has a bash shell but i cant connect to the n900 from that.

Thanks for the link, not heard of mobaXterm, i'll read up on it when I finish work, but if i use that i still am a little confused as to whether i should be running it on the server or my local machine.

Maybe its a little easier to describe to me if I show you my setup:

Code:
Local machine - win7- (internal)192.168.2.4

Server - win7 - sshd - (int)192.168.2.5 - (ext)MyServerIP

N900 - usual setup
At the moment, i cant seem to talk to the n900 from the server, the only way i can get it to work is connecting the local machine to the server via putty and MyServerIP and then logging in, then i use the ssh command for the n900 (ssh -p 8080 localhost -l root), enter my password and im away.

Sorry for going on, but should i be able to do it on the server or am i using the right method using a local machine and the server as a middle man?
Sorry, I'm lost and don't understand what you actually need to achieve.
If you just need to copy the files from machine A (n900) to B (local windows PC) execute in mobaXterm (running in your local PC) the scp command as:
Code:
scp user@xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:/home/user/MyDocs/somefile.txt .
where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP of your N900.
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Oct 2010
#696
How can I stop SMSCON from using at least 6 SMS for each command I send to it. I have a text message limit from my provider and cannot afford to exceed it.... Please help.
 
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#697
Originally Posted by flexman View Post
How can I stop SMSCON from using at least 6 SMS for each command I send to it. I have a text message limit from my provider and cannot afford to exceed it.... Please help.
You have to edit /opt/smscon/smscon_daemon in this part:


def GSMmodem(Number, Message, Log):
"""
Send message to GSM modem.
"""

Delay = 4 # in sec.
MaxRetry = 3 # number of retries to re-activate GSMm (maybe you have 6)
Retry = 0


Change MaxRetry to 1.
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Oct 2010
#698
Originally Posted by Brian_7 View Post
You have to edit /opt/smscon/smscon_daemon in this part:


def GSMmodem(Number, Message, Log):
"""
Send message to GSM modem.
"""

Delay = 4 # in sec.
MaxRetry = 3 # number of retries to re-activate GSMm (maybe you have 6)
Retry = 0


Change MaxRetry to 1.
Thanks...How to I get to that file to edit it. I used filebox but cannot open the file..
 
Posts: 268 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#699
Originally Posted by flexman View Post
Thanks...How to I get to that file to edit it. I used filebox but cannot open the file..
Well, i use vi from the x-terminal. But you can use another text editor or you can copy the file and edit it with notes and then replace it again.
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ TA
#700
First @ Digitalvoid & Saturn, kudos on a job very well done!!

Any news regarding hotmail users? Emails sent are not arriving to my hotmail account.
(tried same settings as the phones mail app: e.g. mailserver - smtp.live.com, port - 587/25).
I managed to make it work on gmail account (meaning im not completely clueless..)
Help would be very much appreciated.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31.