Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 631 | Thanked: 837 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Milton, Ontario, Canada
#71
Alright guys, on the touch-pressure front/issue... I need some help with this one as my knowledge and understanding of how X-server interacts and works is limited to the last few hours of researching this specific problem! Here's what I;ve got:

I know X-server is configured to use the ts_lib library, which from all research/indications is a plugin designed to provide a filter-based event handling system for the touchpad. Fair enough, very neat but quite complex.
I have a feeling/think I figured out somewhere along the lines that ts_lib utilizes the XInput extension to actually interact with the x-server desktop.
What I don't understand or am missing here is what actually determines how to interpret the pressure data that gets passed from the touchpad through Ts_lib to x-server, because from all that I've read TS_lib is responsible for reading that information and filtering it, but it doesn't seem to actually do anything different with it, it just forwards it along to x? I had thought that Ts_lib would actually do soemthing like trigger some other kind of event depending on how much pressure was applied (i.e. something like button 4 instead of button 1 sort of thing), but I can't find any information to actually indicate that even picking through the source code. Am I looking in the right place here, or is there something else I'm missing?
Any thoughts?
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#72
Hmmm... Looked around online, looks like tslib reads it, filters it by a configurable stack of filters, and dumps it to the X server.

A typical ts.conf (from README in CVS @ http://tslib.berlios.de/) looks like:
Code:
module_raw input
module variance delta=30
module dejitter delta=100
module linear
But mine (stock OS2008) is:
Code:
module pressure
module linear
The "linear" plugin handles scaling to screen size, and I think also calibration.
"pressure" doesn't seem to exist in the cvs tree.

But I think it just cleans up and scales data and passes it through.

There's my 15 minutes of googling, anyway.
 
Posts: 631 | Thanked: 837 times | Joined on May 2007 @ Milton, Ontario, Canada
#73
Yea see that's exactly where I got to... the pressure module (assuming ti follows the guidelines of how ts_lib modules should work) should just clean up any erroneous pressure data and make it into a clearly defined number that gets passed along to the X-server. So that's the question though... how does the X-server (or apps running in X) know to handle that pressure data? I.e. is there a setting when running X that says "this pressure data here means click", or do the apps themselves define it, or? That's the problem; it'd love to be able to simulate it, but without knowing what's actually reading the values/how the decisions are being made it's impossible.

It's got to be something to do with X itself rather than TS_lib since evrouter is firing off events directly to the Xserver using XFakeEvent, whereas TS_lib is reading data from the raw event interface itself and passing it along to the Xserver using some other X-event type function/interface. That means (and this is all open assumptions based on what I've found so far) that there must be something else that interprets/handles those X-events and basically says "if this X-event with this value occurs, do something", but it has to be above and beyond a simple click event or the evrouter would be triggering it already...

Biggest example... what specific piece of code/software actually triggers the thumbkeyboard VS the regular onscreen keyboard VS no keyboard at all (i.e. when a USB HID device is connected)... that's the thing that we need to find out to solve this...
 
darrennewman@sky.com's Avatar
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ UK
#74
Thanks to everyone who has got the mouse working, is there any way of stoping the backlight turning off when useing the mouse?
 
Posts: 551 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#75
Jolouis,

Install updated deb. It sees the BT mouse but it won't pair. I don't know what I need to do. Will keep experimenting.
The wireless USB mouse is very fast with this update. Although can't see mouse pointer.
This has to be the best app so far.

Dan
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#76
I tried pairing with passcodes 0000 and 1234, but neither way did it work; after one of them, apparently, the mouse got a non-paired connection going. Look in the dropdown menu for disconnecting BT devices; the mouse will show up there when you've got it right, even though the control panel fervently denies that the mouse is paired.
 
Posts: 164 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#77
Originally Posted by Benson View Post
I tried pairing with passcodes 0000 and 1234, but neither way did it work; after one of them, apparently, the mouse got a non-paired connection going. Look in the dropdown menu for disconnecting BT devices; the mouse will show up there when you've got it right, even though the control panel fervently denies that the mouse is paired.

I went out and spent 50 bucks on a bluetooth mouse and I'm having the same problem no pairing... there no way to enter the passcode.
If you need any more testing I have Targus Bluetooth mouse. I would be more than happy to test for you I really want this to work..

Thank you so much for the great effort

Last edited by migs; 2008-03-25 at 06:05.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#78
Originally Posted by jolouis View Post
Alright guys, on the touch-pressure front/issue.
Do you mean a issue like where you cannot click on the applications launcher?

a. The buttons on the left edge of the screen (the task manager) are not clickable with the mouse makes it almost impossible to 'drive' the device

a. to Eero Tamminen for this

The problem is caused by the N800 giving priority to pressure information rather than remotely-input mouse clicks. This can be circumvented by disabling pressure information usage, by running the device X server with XInput protocol/extension disabled.

To do this, modify the file /etc/init.d/x-server by adding the option "-extension XInputExtension" to the end of the ARGS="...." string, preceded by a space, and then rebooting the device.
http://maemo.org/community/wiki/how_...800_from_a_pc/


Originally Posted by migs View Post
I went out and spent 50 bucks on a bluetooth mouse and I'm having the same problem no pairing... there no way to enter the passcode.
If you need any more testing I have Targus Bluetooth mouse. I would be more than happy to test for you I really want this to work..

Thank you so much for the great effort

Use penguinbaits version of X11vnc and reboot so it starts up on the N800 and use your computer to enter in the code either with remote desktop connection (it has xrdp too) or vnc. Or if touch screen still works, use xkbd on the tablet itself.

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ghlight=x11vnc

Originally Posted by darrennewman@sky.com View Post
Thanks to everyone who has got the mouse working, is there any way of stoping the backlight turning off when useing the mouse?
moredimmingoptions
http://maemo.org/downloads/product/O...immingoptions/

Set timeout to 24hours

I believe timeout is set by a gconf value. So maybe this script could set a new one on connection and restore the old one on disconnection?

Last edited by qwerty12; 2008-03-25 at 07:47.
 
Posts: 164 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#79
Anyone get a bluetooth mouse working well yet? There has to be way to work out the pairing issues..
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Romania
#80
I have a MoGo mouse that I managed to pair two weeks ago using 0000 as passcode, but meanwhile I paired it with another device and I cannot make it work again with N800.
I remember a strange thing, that after pairing, it did not appeared in the list of bt devices, but it automatically connected to device and worked.

I'll reflash the device and try again one of these days.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:32.