Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#71
Originally Posted by 412b View Post
The main target right now is to solve battery drain issue. Right after that I'll take a look at the switching to Offline Mode.
When you do integrate it, here's the commands to save time :

Normal Mode:
Code:
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/dbus-send --system --type=signal /com/nokia/mce/signal com.nokia.mce.signal.sig_device_mode_ind string:"normal"
Flight mode:
Code:
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/dbus-send --system --type=signal /com/nokia/mce/signal com.nokia.mce.signal.sig_device_mode_ind string:"flight"
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Moscow
#72
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Is it possible to make this app load into the system tray of another window manager? There's no good Internet Tablet battery applets for any of the other available window managers. I would specifically be interested in tweaking this to run in the system tray of LXDE.
Well, there is no big problem in that. If you look into source, there are 2 classes. DBusMonitor is the class that gets and sets all the values and informs about events, so the main limitation is using of PyGTK and Hildon-specific objects. In other words: all you need to make it work in other manager is to replace the UI related stuff. And of course you need python support.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to 412b For This Useful Post:
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Moscow
#73
Originally Posted by qwerty12 View Post
When you do integrate it, here's the commands to save time :

Normal Mode:
Code:
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/dbus-send --system --type=signal /com/nokia/mce/signal com.nokia.mce.signal.sig_device_mode_ind string:"normal"
Flight mode:
Code:
run-standalone.sh /usr/bin/dbus-send --system --type=signal /com/nokia/mce/signal com.nokia.mce.signal.sig_device_mode_ind string:"flight"
Thanks. In fact all I needed is "/com/nokia/mce/signal" and "com.nokia.mce.signal.sig_device_mode_ind string"
 

The Following User Says Thank You to 412b For This Useful Post:
lcuk's Avatar
Posts: 1,635 | Thanked: 1,816 times | Joined on Apr 2008 @ Manchester, England
#74
Originally Posted by 412b View Post
The main target right now is to solve battery drain issue. Right after that I'll take a look at the switching to Offline Mode.
412b, take your time
you may be bombarded with requests but thats because everybody sees great value in what you have started.
__________________
liqbase sketching the future.
like what i say? hit the Thanks, thanks!
twitter.com/lcuk
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lcuk For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#75
Originally Posted by 412b View Post
Well, there is no big problem in that. If you look into source, there are 2 classes. DBusMonitor is the class that gets and sets all the values and informs about events, so the main limitation is using of PyGTK and Hildon-specific objects. In other words: all you need to make it work in other manager is to replace the UI related stuff. And of course you need python support.
Well, you can use hildon UI stuff in alternate desktops, but you need to be able to start up the applet independently of Hildon-Desktop and the icon needs to show up in the systray... I'll see if I can start this applet up without Hildon Desktop running...
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#76
OK, now that I have a little more time to go over this in detail. . . .

The UI needs some TLC. The presentation as it stands is a little stark and cluttered. Certain information should disappear (Version), other information needs to be adjusted ("pretty print" for the cpufreq settings—Apple calls this "Processor Performance" perhaps just "Mode" will do) , and some additional information might be added (voltage, mAh, anything else useful you can get out of retu).

I have some ideas floating around in my head if you'd like to see some mockups.

Originally Posted by lcuk View Post
you may be bombarded with requests but thats because everybody sees great value in what you have started.
Yes, definitely. Be worried when you don't get any response, not when you get a lot of them.
__________________
Ryan Abel
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to GeneralAntilles For This Useful Post:
Posts: 111 | Thanked: 23 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Singapore
#77
Hi, version 0.22 seems to have fixed my battery drain problem. I am not seeing any difference compared to before installation Thank you, 412b
 
Posts: 145 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#78
I can second that - v.22 is working perfectly wrt battery
drain.
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#79
either i was not paying attention, or pybattery dont know how to warn about anything but imminent shotdown from lack of battery.

im used to having small warning sounds from the tablet when the battery slips into something like 25% or lower.

but today all i got was the sound for when the battery is close to 0% (the menu showed 0,3%), and the icon was red.

btw, i found a interesting message when i hooked the tablet up to a usb charging cable the other day, "device not usb cable compatible" or something like that.

Last edited by tso; 2008-11-14 at 04:42.
 
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Moscow
#80
2 ALL
If you experiencing problems with enabled sound (CPU frequency is constantly max, 400MHz for me), just disable screen tapping sound. I'm still digging it, so reenabling can be possible, if the solution will be found...



Originally Posted by tso View Post
either i was not paying attention, or pybattery dont know how to warn about anything but imminent shotdown from lack of battery.

im used to having small warning sounds from the tablet when the battery slips into something like 25% or lower.

but today all i got was the sound for when the battery is close to 0% (the menu showed 0,3%), and the icon was red.
It warns you... It's just you the one not paying attention to it
When battery level is less, then 12,5% the icon is partly red and notification sound is played.
When battery level is less, then 5% the icon is totaly red, notification sound is played and information banner is shown.
I can not add there an orchestra, or Big Ben, or a canon

Originally Posted by tso View Post
btw, i found a interesting message when i hooked the tablet up to a usb charging cable the other day, "device not usb cable compatible" or something like that.
Not mine
Ask the Nokia's guys
 
Reply

Tags
applet, battery, python, statusbar


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:38.