Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#71
Thanks Jakiman, I've used your hildon.menu as a template for mine and now have it pretty much looking how I want. One question though, does anyone know if it's possible to create a folder (or directory) within the standard 'More...' folder? I ask as I want to have a folder in which I can put the duplicate icons I'm going to make so I can have shortcuts for the same programs on multiple desktops. If avoidable I don't want my 'Duplicates' directory in the Main Menu and just want to hide it away in the 'More...' one. Thanks
 
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#72
I've set up numerous folders (Games, Utilities etc.) but wanted to have two folders at the bottom of the menu for 'More...' with all the unallocated apps that don't fit into the other directories (as it's set up as standard) and then also an 'All' folder for all the apps on the phone in case you can't remember where you put an app or just want to scan through everything. However having all the apps in the 'All' folder obviously makes the 'More...' search for all unallocated apps come back with nothing as they are all now in a folder ('All'). Is there any way to change the configuration of the 'More...' directory so that it searches for all unallocated apps but disregards the fact that the are returned in the 'All' folders search? The two directories currently look like this in my hildon.menu file:

Code:
  <Menu>
    <Name>All</Name>
    <Directory>all.directory</Directory>
    <Include>
      <All/>
    </Include>
  </Menu>

  <Menu>
    <Name>Applications</Name>
    <Directory>applications.directory</Directory>
    <OnlyUnallocated/>
    <Include>
      <All/>
    </Include>
  </Menu>
Thanks
 
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#73
Anyone have an idea with either of these queries please?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#74
Originally Posted by Kamikaze View Post
Thanks Jakiman, I've used your hildon.menu as a template for mine and now have it pretty much looking how I want. One question though, does anyone know if it's possible to create a folder (or directory) within the standard 'More...' folder? I ask as I want to have a folder in which I can put the duplicate icons I'm going to make so I can have shortcuts for the same programs on multiple desktops. If avoidable I don't want my 'Duplicates' directory in the Main Menu and just want to hide it away in the 'More...' one. Thanks
Yes, you can do. I edited the applications.menu file to add (after the <Layout> section:
Code:
<MergeDir>submenus/</MergeDir>
I then created a new submenus directory (within the same directory that applications.menu is), and copied the applications.menu file into it. I then edited the applications.menu file, replacing the top level "Main" name with "Applications" (as it's a submenu of the Applications menu), and the submenu "Applications" name with a new one. Then it's just a case of adding a new .directory file, and editing the new .menu file to add in whatever <Filename> entries you want.

I'm not sure I've described that too well, so let me know if you have any questions about it.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#75
Thanks for the info Robyn, however I am not sure where the applications.menu file is. I can find and have edited the hildon.menu and applications.directory files and looked in the directories that each of them are in but cannot find it, please can you tell me where I can find this file to edit it? Cheers
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#76
Originally Posted by Kamikaze View Post
Thanks for the info Robyn, however I am not sure where the applications.menu file is. I can find and have edited the hildon.menu and applications.directory files and looked in the directories that each of them are in but cannot find it, please can you tell me where I can find this file to edit it? Cheers
The applications.menu file should be in /etc/xdg/menus/hildon
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#77
Thanks again, Rob1n. But I think I've followed all your steps and still not managed to get the submenu directory to show up within the 'More...' directory. If you can be bothered please could you up your applications.menu, submenus.menu and submenus.directory files so I can see if it's something obvious I done wrong? Cheers
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#78
Originally Posted by Kamikaze View Post
Thanks again, Rob1n. But I think I've followed all your steps and still not managed to get the submenu directory to show up within the 'More...' directory. If you can be bothered please could you up your applications.menu, submenus.menu and submenus.directory files so I can see if it's something obvious I done wrong? Cheers
Mine's a little hacked around, but you should get the idea.

Here's the applications.menu file. I had to remove all the default layout stuff otherwise there seems to be no way to order the directories before the applications. If you don't mind them all mixed together then you can leave that alone though:
Code:
<Menu>
  <Name>Main</Name>
  
  <Menu>
    <Name>Applications</Name>
    <Directory>applications.directory</Directory>
    <OnlyUnallocated/>
    <Include>
      <All/>
    </Include>

    <Layout>
      <Menuname>office.directory</Menuname>
    </Layout>

    <MergeFile>submenus/office.menu</MergeFile>
  </Menu>

</Menu>
And the submenus/office.menu file:
Code:
<!DOCTYPE Menu PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD Menu 1.0//EN"
 "http://www.freedesktop.org/standards/menu-spec/menu-1.0.dtd">

<Menu>
  <Name>Applications</Name>
  
  <Menu>
    <Name>Office</Name>
    <Directory>office.directory</Directory>
    <Include>
      <Filename>calendar.desktop</Filename>
      <Filename>osso_calculator.desktop</Filename>
      <Filename>osso_pdfviewer.desktop</Filename>
      <Filename>sstg.desktop</Filename>
      <Filename>stg.desktop</Filename>
      <Filename>wtg.desktop</Filename>
    </Include>
  </Menu>
</Menu>
and the office.directory file (I still need to sort out better folder icons):
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Directory
Name=Office
Icon=general_folder
EDIT: Oh, and I used MergeFile instead of MergeDir to enable me to keep all the submenus in the same directory, but add them into different menus. Either will work though.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#79
Cheers dude, I'll fiddle some more!
 
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Florida
#80
Everything I've read here seems to be about building & modifying folders within the application menu. I like that, but I want to access those folders... or at least the application menu, directly from my desktop.

Normally, if you nave nothing running in the background, it's a simple click to get the application menu. But if you have other apps running, you have to go though the current apps screen first. So... it it possible to build a widget or something to go directly to an application folder... if not, then at least a widget or shortcut from desktop directly to the application menu??
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:42.