Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#71
Hey @hopbeat, how about focus == alt?
I'm desperately missing alt+. in bash
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#72
Originally Posted by hqh View Post
You're not supposed to fully press the camera button. Use a light press (as in focusing the camera) and it will work as intended. AFAIK there's no practical way to override the default behavior for fully pressing the key.
Actually it is very easy to override behaviour of this key. All it taked is one command:
Code:
hal-device -r platform_cam_launch
If you wan hal to keep reporting this key on D-Bus, but use a different name, do something like:
Code:
hal-device -a platform_cam_launch2
  button.type = 'activity'  (string)
  linux.sysfs_path = '/sys/devices/platform/gpio-switch/cam_launch'  (string)
  info.parent = '/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/platform_gpio_switch'  (string)
  info.linux.driver = 'gpio-switch'  (string)
  platform.id = 'cam_launch'  (string)
  linux.hotplug_type = 2  (0x2)  (int)
  linux.subsystem = 'platform'  (string)
  info.addons.singleton = { 'hald-addon-omap-gpio' } (string list)
  info.capabilities = { 'button' } (string list)
  info.subsystem = 'platform'  (string)
  info.product = 'Platform Device (cam_launch)'  (string)
  info.udi = '/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/platform_cam_launch'  (string)
  button.state.value = false  (bool)
  button.has_state = true  (bool)
After this, the cam_launch button is announced on D-Bus, but with a name that does not cause the camera application to start.
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Matan For This Useful Post:
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#73
Originally Posted by hopbeat View Post
Take it easy, alt-tab is in planning zone, we will get to it eventually
Hey hopbeat, sorry, I must ask directly.
It's in the planning zone. Mh, okay. But, what are you specific planing? How should it work?

In my opinion there are 2 possibilitys:
  • Press the selected Button, swap from one to the other application in one sweep
  • Press the Button to go to the dashboard, when you're at the dashboard you can reach the second last application with the second press of the Button (our Ctrl+Backspace emulation)

I would prefer the second. It's the way Matan's hack works. It's very fast, its no blocker for other things and we can use the camera button and the proximity sensor for other things. We need only one of the four possibilitys for our "Task management". ;-)

Last edited by Helmuth; 2010-01-26 at 16:58.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Helmuth For This Useful Post:
Posts: 344 | Thanked: 73 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Los Angeles
#74
Thanks for this great system "upgrade."

"Use the camera button" works perfectly. I see no issues with any configurations.

"Use the proximity sensor" seems to have two bugs, AFAIK.

1. It sometimes fails to work, in which case going back to settings/shortcutd/Shortcutd configuration, and saving the current configuration always appears to correct it and getting it going again. No idea what makes it fail. The configurations that fail for me are both "backspace (browser:back)" in browser, and "menu" invoking.

2. This one is a bit hard to describe. With the above configurations, browser text is corrupted in the following way: Finger scrolling on the right-hand side of the screen causes the the screen to "break" slightly into two vertical columns of text (again, only slightly), which results in two wobbly/weird text columns that are out of alignment with each other as I finger scroll. Disabling "use the proximity sensor" and restarting the browser corrects this. I can reproduce this consistently. (I am not certain if this also occurs with keyboard scrolling.)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sorodoros For This Useful Post:
hopbeat's Avatar
Posts: 516 | Thanked: 643 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Denmark/Poland
#75
A lot is going on in this thread

@nadavwr, will do, probably we will just a generic possibility to send key (or maybe a combination of keys).

@Matan, thanks, as opening the lenses cover also launches the application, I think we should be able to use the full press for something more interesting

@Helmuth, I agree that the second option sounds well (or maybe half press for dashboard, full press for alt-tab?) We definitely need to figure out the actual mechanism of checking/bringing to top given application first. If anyone has some tips about this, we would love to hear them.

@sorodoros:

Ad.1 when it fails, does it still give you the vibration feedback when touch proximity sensor? Or is it totally dead there?

Ad.2 I'm stunned. Anyone can confirm this, I'm not able to reproduce :/

Also, could you comment on the issue raised by @Martin Grimme here?
Anyone experience the same/similar problem?
__________________
Hi! I'm a Maemo Greeter!
Witaj na talk.maemo.org!

Useful links for newcomers:
Użyteczne linki:
Nowi użyktownicy mówią cześć | New members say hello , Tu zaczynają nowi użytkownicy | New users start here, Podforum społeczności | Community subforum, Wiki dla początkujących | Beginners' wiki page, Maemo5 101, Często zadawane pytania | Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ), Google

Jeżeli mogę w czymś pomóc, pytaj!
If I can help with anything else, just ask!

Bored? Follow me
 
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#76
About bringing windows to front, see here: http://wiki.maemo.org/Modified_Hildon_Desktop .
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Matan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 344 | Thanked: 73 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Los Angeles
#77
Originally Posted by hopbeat View Post
A lot is going on in this thread
...@sorodoros:

Ad.1 when it fails, does it still give you the vibration feedback when touch proximity sensor? Or is it totally dead there?

Ad.2 I'm stunned. Anyone can confirm this, I'm not able to reproduce :/
1. I still get the vibration feedback. It just doesn't respond to it.
2. Sorry, didn't mean to upset. I know, it is strange. Put perhaps it is some conflict with another app or util.
 
Helmuth's Avatar
Posts: 1,259 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#78
Originally Posted by hopbeat View Post
Also, could you comment on the issue raised by @Martin Grimme here?
Anyone experience the same/similar problem?
Mmmh... I have only the old 0.1-1 installed. I deactivated the proximity sensor very early. It worked like a charm with the camera button and I'm lefthanded. So tapped the proximity to often by accident.

Just for testing I gone to the settings menu, activated the proximity sensor. The daemon restatring message appeared.

But no reaction on the proximity. Also no vibration feedback.

I played around with the settings. After some testing I lost also my beloved camera button and then I got only a "Failed to restart shortcutd!" message every time I closed the settings menu.

Restarted the Device with the Default settings (booth sensors activated, short press Dashboard, long press phone) and everything worked. Hmm...
Okay, I should install the latest version first before giving feedback.

Edit:
UPDATED to Version 0.1-2 and no problems with changing settings, restarting device, activate, deactivate. Everything works perfekt!
Can't confirm the problems by Martin Grimme.

Last edited by Helmuth; 2010-01-26 at 22:44.
 
hopbeat's Avatar
Posts: 516 | Thanked: 643 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Denmark/Poland
#79
@sorodoros,

Ad. 1 maybe this is the case?

It took a while to figure it out but the shortcuts work as advertised. However, the instructions should be made clearer. Especially with respect to 'proximityHold' which toggles the proximity sensor on/off. This is probably caused @Martin to inadvertently turn the prox sensor off.
- In case others are wondering how the prox sensor works, - Short press: 2 short vibration feedbacks - Long press: 3 short vibration feedbacks - Hold: Long vibration. (This turns the sensor polling on and off)
Ad. 2 No one gets upset Is the problem present when you enable proximity sensor but set both functions (short and long press) to disabled?
__________________
Hi! I'm a Maemo Greeter!
Witaj na talk.maemo.org!

Useful links for newcomers:
Użyteczne linki:
Nowi użyktownicy mówią cześć | New members say hello , Tu zaczynają nowi użytkownicy | New users start here, Podforum społeczności | Community subforum, Wiki dla początkujących | Beginners' wiki page, Maemo5 101, Często zadawane pytania | Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ), Google

Jeżeli mogę w czymś pomóc, pytaj!
If I can help with anything else, just ask!

Bored? Follow me
 
Posts: 344 | Thanked: 73 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Los Angeles
#80
Originally Posted by hopbeat View Post
@sorodoros,

Ad. 1 maybe this is the case?

It took a while to figure it out but the shortcuts work as advertised. However, the instructions should be made clearer. Especially with respect to 'proximityHold' which toggles the proximity sensor on/off. This is probably caused @Martin to inadvertently turn the prox sensor off.
- In case others are wondering how the prox sensor works, - Short press: 2 short vibration feedbacks - Long press: 3 short vibration feedbacks - Hold: Long vibration. (This turns the sensor polling on and off)


Ad. 2 No one gets upset Is the problem present when you enable proximity sensor but set both functions (short and long press) to disabled?
Ad. 1 This is certainly the case. I didn't realize that the long hold (past the 3 vibrations to the long vibration) was a toggle. Thanks for pointing it out.

Ad. 2 The problem does not occur when both functions are disabled.
 
Reply

Tags
feedback thread, shortcutd


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43.