Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#71
The upgrade didn't go well, the N900 turns on, the blue LED stays on then it shuts down, reflashing the stock kernel using flasher-3.5, is there a way to disable the boot logo so that I can see what's causing the problem?
 
Posts: 455 | Thanked: 278 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Oregon, USA
#72
Originally Posted by titan View Post
I've uploaded a new kernel with the PPP module enabled
FYI, Just installed this,rebooted and it appears my phone is now bricked
 
Posts: 946 | Thanked: 1,650 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#73
ok, sorry. please don't install for now until I have find out what's wrong with it.

don't worry if it's is bricked. you can reflash the kernel alone with:
Code:
flasher-3.5 -u -F RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin
flasher-3.5 -f -k zImage -R
EDIT: I found the problem: the new build process installed the modules in /lib/modules and not in its subdirectory.
I'm rebuilding a fixed version now...

Last edited by titan; 2010-02-28 at 19:21. Reason: bug found
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to titan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,224 | Thanked: 1,763 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#74
Originally Posted by titan View Post
I've uploaded a new kernel with the PPP module enabled
ppp can work as module, so why compile it into kernel?

Did you include my patch for ppp_async?

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=434772&postcount=4
__________________
My repository

"N900 community support for the MeeGo-Harmattan" Is the new "Mer is Fremantle for N810".

No more Nokia devices for me.
 
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 25 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Hong Kong, CHINA
#75
A patch which I found quite useful in the past has been compcache / ramzswap: http://code.google.com/p/compcache/ . It basically trades cpu for memory.
 
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#76
Originally Posted by titan View Post
EDIT: I found the problem: the new build process installed the modules in /lib/modules and not in its subdirectory.
I'm rebuilding a fixed version now...
Glad you found the problem
Again is there any way to disable the boot screen (not hildon-welcome), the one from when it says NOKIA till it gets to the desktop?
 
Posts: 455 | Thanked: 278 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Oregon, USA
#77
Originally Posted by titan View Post
ok, sorry. please don't install for now until I have find out what's wrong with it.

don't worry if it's is bricked. you can reflash the kernel alone with:
Code:
flasher-3.5 -u -F RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin
flasher-3.5 -f -k zImage -R
EDIT: I found the problem: the new build process installed the modules in /lib/modules and not in its subdirectory.
I'm rebuilding a fixed version now...
This did not resolve it (notification light remains solid white, and never fully boots). Going to reflash, good thing I always make a backup beforehand
 
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#78
A full reflash isn't necessary, there's no need to waste your time restoring apps
On windows:
flasher-3.5.exe -F RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin -u
Linux:
sudo flasher-3.5 -F RX-51_2009SE_3.2010.02-8_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin -u
After it finishes unpacking the image type
flasher-3.5 -k zImage -f -R
Easiest way is to place the image in the same dir of the flasher and use the command as it is. Remember to change the filename of the image to whatever file you're using
 
Posts: 946 | Thanked: 1,650 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#79
as I wrote: it's enabled as module.
thanks for the patch. it's now included.
Originally Posted by Matan View Post
ppp can work as module, so why compile it into kernel?
Did you include my patch for ppp_async?
 
Posts: 946 | Thanked: 1,650 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germany
#80
Originally Posted by mdengler View Post
A patch which I found quite useful in the past has been compcache / ramzswap: http://code.google.com/p/compcache/ . It basically trades cpu for memory.
it is on my todo list, but unfortunately there is no patch 2.6.28 - only for .25 and .33
 

The Following User Says Thank You to titan For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:24.