Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#71
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
How do you change the configuration from another application? An error in my next clock plugin that I'm working on causes it to crash on startup, with the result that I can't change it to another clock.
You could, e.g., use gconftool-2 as follows:
Code:
gconftool-2 --set --type string /apps/Maemo/advanced_clock_plugin/clock_name "DecimalClock"
(in one line)

See also:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Documentation/...ferences-Gconf

Edit: Mentalist Traceur was a bit faster.

Edit2: With respect to upgrading:
I am currently experiencing that the application manager is not syncing with extras-devel etc.
This might be the reason why you don't get the most recent version.
__________________

Last edited by Wonko; 2010-12-29 at 09:02.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 482 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#72
I now have my third clock plugin done! Inspired by Mentalist Traceur, it is based on my first clock but has three more binary indicators showing internet connection speed, cpu usage and wifi signal level. I am working on uploading to extras-devel. Unfortunately the wifi strength is provided by python-wifi which, although present in the repository, does not show up in either Application Manager or Faster Application Manager (I installed it with apt-get). I hope someone can test this and tell me whether the application manager will install that automatically as a dependency.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to skykooler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,225 | Thanked: 3,822 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#73
Lol, at this rate, mine won't be useful, since your will soon probably show everything I was intending to display. (Which is just fine. I lack the skills to implement most of my ideas, but other people seem to like them and do them, so it works out.) And I've been spending today on gconf as of the last few bits of time, and lxp's injection driver patches + kernel including them for most of the other parts of the day.

Oh, and yes, I think it should install python-wifi just fine. Stuff that's 'hidden' from normal users in the two app managers DOES get installed if it's a dependency. They're just hidden on Maemo so that end-users don't go downloading stuff because it sounds cool, without knowing that it does nothing that they could use.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#74
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
I now have my third clock plugin done! Inspired by Mentalist Traceur, it is based on my first clock but has three more binary indicators showing internet connection speed, cpu usage and wifi signal level. I am working on uploading to extras-devel. Unfortunately the wifi strength is provided by python-wifi which, although present in the repository, does not show up in either Application Manager or Faster Application Manager (I installed it with apt-get). I hope someone can test this and tell me whether the application manager will install that automatically as a dependency.
Nice

You can, e.g., use py2deb for packaging:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Py2deb
Do not forget to edit the installed py2deb in order to fix the bugtracker bug as mentioned in the wiki.

The reason why you don't see python-wifi in the application manager is simply that it's a library and not an "application" intended for use by the end-user.
This is perfectly ok.
You simply need to specify it as a dependency of your package (see the py2deb howto).
Also you would (obviously) need advanced-clock-plugin as dependency.

To get started with py2deb you can also have a look at the advanced-clock-plugin subversion repository on garage.maemo.org:
https://garage.maemo.org/scm/?group_id=2016
Particularly "make.py" and the directory structure.
For a start I would then suggest to put your clocks in the same directory as the "stock" clocks: /usr/lib/advanced-clock-plugin/clocks
For the future we need to think about a mechanism to avoid name collisions between the clock files of different add-ons.
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 482 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#75
Originally Posted by Wonko View Post
Nice

You can, e.g., use py2deb for packaging:
http://wiki.maemo.org/Py2deb
Do not forget to edit the installed py2deb in order to fix the bugtracker bug as mentioned in the wiki.

. . .

For a start I would then suggest to put your clocks in the same directory as the "stock" clocks: /usr/lib/advanced-clock-plugin/clocks
For the future we need to think about a mechanism to avoid name collisions between the clock files of different add-ons.
LOL. That's exactly what I was doing the past 45 minutes! Currently my add-on clocks are named BinaryClockColor.py, BcdClockColor.py, and binclockspeed.py.

As a side note, does anyone know what the maximum signal strength python-wifi will report for the n900s wifi card?
 
Posts: 130 | Thanked: 48 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Hampshire, UK
#76
Installed 0.5 which worked fine.
updated to latest version 0.6 and the clock dissapeared from status bar. rebooted but still nothing.
Uninstalled and then reinstalled 0.6 but still nothing appears in status bar.
 
Posts: 482 | Thanked: 550 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#77
Originally Posted by DJRedline View Post
Installed 0.5 which worked fine.
updated to latest version 0.6 and the clock dissapeared from status bar. rebooted but still nothing.
Uninstalled and then reinstalled 0.6 but still nothing appears in status bar.
Try editing the default clock in gconf. See a few posts back for instructions.
 
CasTTeLLo's Avatar
Posts: 335 | Thanked: 51 times | Joined on May 2010
#78
i have one suggestion...why dont u put the plugin to setting like theme customizer?? just my 2 cent..
__________________
Best Regard,

CasTTeLLo
 
Posts: 130 | Thanked: 48 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Hampshire, UK
#79
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
Try editing the default clock in gconf. See a few posts back for instructions.
Still nothing unfortunately
 
Posts: 456 | Thanked: 1,580 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#80
Alright,
I created a settings UI which is also accessible via the control panel.
It is called Advanced Plugin Desktop Settings UI (names getting longer and longer).

I just uploaded version 0.7.0 of Advanced Clock Plugin to extras-devel.
This version installs the new settings UI as dependency and disables the status menu settings button.
__________________
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Wonko For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52.