![]() |
2011-07-11
, 16:13
|
|
Posts: 472 |
Thanked: 195 times |
Joined on Jun 2010
@ India, Mumbai
|
#72
|
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 16:31
|
|
Posts: 92 |
Thanked: 92 times |
Joined on May 2011
@ Stellenbosch, South Africa
|
#73
|
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 16:48
|
Posts: 96 |
Thanked: 51 times |
Joined on Jul 2010
@ India
|
#74
|
Warhawk, could you try running the daemon as admin and tell me if it gives the same problems? It may be that your settings.db file is not writable, or readable, by user-level apps...
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 16:51
|
|
Posts: 92 |
Thanked: 92 times |
Joined on May 2011
@ Stellenbosch, South Africa
|
#75
|
sudo gainroot killall AppLock ps | grep AppLock #Should give no entries, maybe a "grep AppLock" entry applock -d
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 17:19
|
Posts: 96 |
Thanked: 51 times |
Joined on Jul 2010
@ India
|
#76
|
Okay, try this:
Should work, that is what I have been doing most of the time for debugging purposes. I will look into the Upstart script to see whether or not that is the cause of the problem but it shouldn't be...Code:sudo gainroot killall AppLock ps | grep AppLock #Should give no entries, maybe a "grep AppLock" entry applock -d
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 18:16
|
Posts: 96 |
Thanked: 51 times |
Joined on Jul 2010
@ India
|
#77
|
The Following User Says Thank You to warhawk007 For This Useful Post: | ||
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 18:33
|
|
Posts: 92 |
Thanked: 92 times |
Joined on May 2011
@ Stellenbosch, South Africa
|
#78
|
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 18:49
|
Posts: 96 |
Thanked: 51 times |
Joined on Jul 2010
@ India
|
#79
|
Wow, thanks
Finally a useful report that I can use
Okay, lets see what I can make of it so far, and lets see if I can elaborate on what the causes are for some of the bugs.
1. Hmm, I will add an animation or notification on the UI to try and show some info there while I am doing stuff. I am actually seriously considering multithreading the entire thing, even though that is a pain in Qt (I love C#'s multithreading implementations). Anyway, I am not entirely sure what is causing the lock not to be removed. The problem may be that the DBus calls I am making do not block the thread they are called from, and since lock statuses are cached (to prevent a ton of calls to the daemon when you are scrolling the app list, read up on QML's way of creating list views for more info on why this is necessary) the lock status may be being updated before it has been changed. Will look into this ASAP
2. Now this is weird, I just ran it again on my phone and it didn't remove any apps. Thing is, it was doing so previously so I am not sure what is up, am almost certain this is a permissions problem with the settings.db file. In v0.3.1 I have changed the Upstart script to start the daemon as user rather than root. With any luck this will mean that the settings.db file gets created, and owned, by the user and this will avoid the problems we've been having. As for the UI "crashing" when you remove an app with DBus events. It doesn't actually crash, if you leave it for about 30 seconds it starts responding again. I have no idea why it takes this time, have fiddled around with all my DBus code and haven't made any difference to it. Gonna test out restarting the daemon to apply the changes in v0.3.1. I seriously think that restarting the daemon is going to be faster than the current method. That being said, Binary apps (one's where the app's path is monitored) all seem to lock and unlock immediately (when it works)
3. WOW, okay that shouldn't be the case with some apps (maybe just Contacts and Phone). Basically the override files add their own custom entries into the database. So when you add contacts to the list of locked apps it actually adds 2 entries to the database, neither one called "Contacts". So that won't appear as a locked app but it will lock when you attempt to use the shortcut. As for the keypress one not working, I got it working here so maybe you typed it in wrong? Not sure, anyway with any luck v0.3.1 will work and then you won't need to worry about manually adding them
4. Hmm, what you may find is that you added them using the CLI with the Daemon not running? If that was the case then that would definitely help me pinpoint the problem. Since the CLI falls back on its own code should the daemon not be running. What this means though, is if I am going to just restart the daemon to apply changes I can directly interact with the Settings files from the UI, making it a bit faster for one and probably increasing stability a bit. Will look into this.
Thank you SO much for sending me a decent report to work with, would be interested to know if your success with the CLI was A) as root user and B) with the daemon running
Also, if you could run an "ls -l" in /opt/applock and tell me what the owner and permissions on your settings.db file are it could be useful (I have probably messed with mine so I don't trust it)
![]() |
2011-07-11
, 18:56
|
|
Posts: 92 |
Thanked: 92 times |
Joined on May 2011
@ Stellenbosch, South Africa
|
#80
|
sudo gainroot initctl emit AppLockStopDaemon ps | grep AppLock kill <applock process ids> cd /opt/applock chown users:user settings.db chmod 777 settings.db exit applock -d
Sierra Softworks