Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#881
Originally Posted by ivgalvez View Post
I don't want to start a discussion but your messages seem a bit rude to me.
I were not rude, it is just for development, we are discussing whether the alpha channel is needed or not.
Originally Posted by ivgalvez View Post
Javispedro is doing it for free in his spare time.
Me too.I am also trying to help him in my spare time.

Last edited by aligoodidea; 2010-12-16 at 09:23.
 
Posts: 1,397 | Thanked: 2,126 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Dublin, Ireland
#882
Excuse me so, I might have misunderstood your words.
 
Andy1210's Avatar
Posts: 233 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Hungary
#883
Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
How did you managed to run it? because I am facing the application crash after the first message.
i started remotely with ssh as 'user'.
but if you start with icon from menu, that works too!

if i started from xterm, crashed after the first message too...
__________________
Nokia N950 - PR1.3
OpenSUSE 12.2 / Windows 8
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#884
Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
Well, I don't have the sdk so somebody else should do it.
But as it stands it resembles a text book example of a GL application more than anything.

Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
Then we should poll a voting for this! the subject is:
How many times do you see the message "ignoring colorbuffer size" in the corrupted/black graphics game (in a row)
a)3
b)4
So what. You don't even know if it's just setting 0,0,0,0 which wouldn't work on the N900 but would on a Pre.

Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
Try it.As only one game actually uses it, it won't cause much damage to the others,but don't skip it.
There's a reason I didn't implement it: it will cost me time, and I'm yet to see a valid reasoning for it. It will not fix crashes.

Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
And opengles 1.0 limited(minor)
No, 1.1 only.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 58 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#885
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
But as it stands it resembles a text book example of a GL application more than anything.
I was just curious what would happen if we force GL initialization instead of letting the game to do it.Remember,I only had written the codes like this for easier understanding for the users that are new to programming(not for you,or else I would just uploaded it to your email instead of publishing the codes here)
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
So what. You don't even know if it's just setting 0,0,0,0 which wouldn't work on the N900 but would on a Pre.
I don't know what you mean.First time you told me rgb565 is way better than rgba5551,Second time you tell me that rgba5551 is impossible on N900?(I long as I know N900 is alpha channel native)
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
There's a reason I didn't implement it: it will cost me time, and I'm yet to see a valid reasoning for it. It will not fix crashes.
.
Then copy and paste my code.It may save your time somehow.
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
No, 1.1 only!
Yes. In N900,there is no 1.0,so you have done it correctly(Initializing the whole opengl es version upon the major request and ignoring the minor version).
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
Code:
int SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GLattr attr, int value)
{
	gles_init();
	switch (attr) {
		case SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MAJOR_VERSION:
			TRACE("Requested GL major version %d", value);
			switch (value) {
				case 1:
					desired_version = SDL_GLES_VERSION_1_1;
					return 0;
				case 2:
					desired_version = SDL_GLES_VERSION_2_0;
					return 0;
				default:
					SDL_SetError("Invalid GLES major version: %d", value);
					return -1;
			}
			break;
		case SDL_GL_CONTEXT_MINOR_VERSION:
			TRACE("Requested GL minor version %d (ignored)", value);
			return 0;
		case SDL_GL_RED_SIZE:
		case SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE:
		case SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE:
		case SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE:
			TRACE("Ignoring color buffer size");
			/* It does not work on the N900 either way. */
			/* TODO: But we need support for 24bpp surfaces. */
			return 0;
		case SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER:
			TRACE("Ignoring doublebuffer preference");
			/* I wouldn't know how to handle it either way. */
			return 0;
		case SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE:
			TRACE("Requested depth buffer size %d", value);
			SDL_GLES_SetAttribute(SDL_GLES_DEPTH_SIZE, value);
			return 0;
		default:
			WARN("Application asks for unknown GL attribute %u, value %d", attr, value);
			return 0;
	}
}
First I thought that N900 supports double buffering in the X11 package:http://maemo.org/packages/package_in...emo20081209.0/

Second: I don't think there are any games with 24bpp, 99% of the games are 8bit,16bit and 16bit alpha(If you think you are in a bad need of 24bpp you should do the trick I have mentioned before,If a device does not support a surface,then the conversion is the only way). also I found this quotation from the OpenGLES developer site:
The OpenGL attributes you can set generally involve the size of OpenGL’s frame, depth, stencil, and accumulation buffers. One attribute virtually every game needs is double buffering. When you use double buffering, drawing is done in an offscreen buffer and the image is moved from the offscreen buffer to the screen. Use the following call to use double buffering in OpenGL:

SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER, 1);
On Mac OS X you don’t need to set the size of the frame buffer’s red, green, blue, and alpha components. If you create a draw context with 32 bit color, Mac OS X uses 8 bits for each of the four components. On other operating systems, you may need to set the size of the frame buffer’s components. The following code sets 8 bits of red, green, blue, and alpha:
... (continued):In Maemo 5, The hildon-desktop process acts as a compositing window manager for all applications. All screen painting, including painting of X windows, is done through the Clutter canvas library and OpenGL ES v2.0 API. Compositing means that hildon-desktop tells the X server (through the X Composite extension) to draw all windows to an off-screen buffer, instead of drawing them directly to the framebuffer. This allows hildon-desktop to modify window contents before drawing them onto the screen.

In Fremantle, compositing is used to implement window transitions and blurring of the screen. hildon-desktop handles all mapped windows as Clutter actors, which are objects usually containing an OpenGL texture. As the window manager hildon-desktop will reparent application windows to decorate them with the application title bar and close button. Windows on the screen will normally be oriented in landscape, but the window manager will have a limited support for portrait mode, using the Xrandr extension.

Task launcher and Task switcher (aka. Dashboard, Task navigator) is implemented by the hildon-desktop process. Task launcher is a menu the user can access to start new applications or bring running applications on top. Task switcher is a view to switch between running applications, some of which might be ’background killed’, which means that they appear running to the user but really have saved their UI state and are started by hildon-desktop on demand. Task launcher and switcher UI transitions could be challenging to implement with traditional toolkits, but hildon-desktop can use Clutter and hildon-desktop’s internal data about application windows to give a good performance.

I know you may know,this.It was just for completing the quotation.(Not for teaching.)
Oh,no. XSP scaling has been droped since the PR1.3 released use the hildon animation actor instead(It assumes that the original size of main is 320×240, and that you want to scale the window to 800×424.
)It will win FPS too.
:
Code:
actor = HILDON_ANIMATION_ACTOR (hildon_animation_actor_new());
gtk_container_add (GTK_CONTAINER (actor), main);
gtk_window_resize (GTK_WINDOW (actor), 320, 240);
hildon_animation_actor_set_position (actor, 0, 56);
hildon_animation_actor_set_parent (actor, window);
hildon_animation_actor_set_scale (actor, 2.5, 1.77);
gtk_widget_show_all (GTK_WIDGET (actor));
Anyway, I am going to hang back until I actually have the SDK(Because I need your application source to code and test it from time to time to get understanding of the real problems),thanks for your time,Javier S.Pedro.

Last edited by aligoodidea; 2010-12-18 at 10:57.
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#886
Originally Posted by aligoodidea View Post
do the trick mentioned on Preenv FAQ but just write /home/opt/ (or /home/opt/preenv/) instead of /home/user/
When i type in the 9. bit i get /bin/sh: -s: not found

Can you post the commands so i can get asphalt5 to save please.
 
Posts: 327 | Thanked: 383 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ alex , egypt
#887
Originally Posted by vir3us View Post
When i type in the 9. bit i get /bin/sh: -s: not found

Can you post the commands so i can get asphalt5 to save please.
what's the directory of ur game ???????
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#888
Im not sure, i installed the .deb version with the 5gb emmc.
 
luiscesjr's Avatar
Posts: 292 | Thanked: 348 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Rio de Janeiro
#889
Originally Posted by vir3us View Post
Im not sure, i installed the .deb version with the 5gb emmc.
Code:
chown -R user:users /opt/preenv/usr/palm/applications/com.gameloft.app.asphalt5/Asphalt5
See if it works.
__________________
" Embora ninguém possa voltar atrás e fazer um novo começo, qualquer um pode começar agora e fazer um novo fim. " Chico Xavier
Try out the Maemo port of gpSP, give feedback, help us develop it more!
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#890
Originally Posted by luiscesjr View Post
Code:
chown -R user:users /opt/preenv/usr/palm/applications/com.gameloft.app.asphalt5/Asphalt5
See if it works.
Do sudo gainroot and just that? ill try it now. Thanks

Says no such file or directory

Last edited by vir3us; 2010-12-17 at 12:52.
 
Reply

Tags
games, multi touch, palm pre, preenv, profile, reach page 250?, speed, yesssss


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:40.