Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#81
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Using "ssh seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu:522" results in the following:

"ssh: Could not resolve hostname seriouser.mine.nu:522: Name or service not known"
Sorry, that should be:
Code:
ssh -p 522 seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#82
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Sorry, that should be:
Code:
ssh -p 522 seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu
Progress. I got the prompt about authentication not being established. But now I've suddenly lost the ability to ping "seriouser.mine.nu"


I can ping if I'm connected on WIFI but not 3g.

Last edited by seriouser; 2010-02-24 at 15:18.
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#83
Okay now I can connect and it's asking for "root@seriouser.mine.nu's password" which isn't the one I set up while creating the RSA keys.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#84
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Progress. I got the prompt about authentication not being established. But now I've suddenly lost the ability to ping "seriouser.mine.nu"


I can ping if I'm connected on WIFI but not 3g.
I can't ping it either - was this working earlier over 3g?

And the authentication prompt you're getting - is this the "host not recognised, do you want to save the key" prompt, or something else?
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#85
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
I can't ping it either - was this working earlier over 3g?

And the authentication prompt you're getting - is this the "host not recognised, do you want to save the key" prompt, or something else?
I don' think it was working over 3g, I could've been on WIFI and just not noticed at the moment.

Yep that was the one. I answered yes and all's fine now except that I don't know the root password for seriouser.mine.nu. It's not empty or 1234 or root or anything. Bloody hell!

I even tried "ssh seriouser@seriouser.mine.nu" but it's still asking for a nonexistant password.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#86
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Okay now I can connect and it's asking for "root@seriouser.mine.nu's password" which isn't the one I set up while creating the RSA keys.
If it's asking for a password then there's a problem with the key files - it should be asking for a pass phrase. This could be a permissions problem - can you post the output of:
Code:
ls -al /home/user/.ssh
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#87
Here it is
Attached Images
 
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#88
Should I try making new key files then?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#89
Originally Posted by seriouser View Post
Should I try making new key files then?
No, the reason things aren't working is that all the files are owned by root, not user. To fix this, run:
Code:
sudo gainroot
chown user: /home/user/.ssh/*
chmod 600 /home/user/.ssh/*
ls -al /home/user/.ssh
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#90
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
No, the reason things aren't working is that all the files are owned by root, not user. To fix this, run:
Code:
sudo gainroot
chown user: /home/user/.ssh/*
chmod 600 /home/user/.ssh/*
ls -al /home/user/.ssh
That changed all the things to "users". But..


now ssh doesn't work for some reason
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06.