Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#921
Originally Posted by bibek View Post
Any idea why this custom action has no effect at all? Am I doing something wrong?

rm home/user/.cache/data/twitter/twcache*
Two things:
- You're missing a slash from the beginning.
- You're using "*" for matching several files. This needs shell expansion, so it must be run in shell.

Do it like this:

Code:
sh -c "rm /home/user/.cache/data/twitter/twcache*"
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#922
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Frankly I wouldn't set it up if I wasn't getting it. It's just an unnecessary rule then.

And when battery level goes that down, you wouldn't want to put extra strain to battery - which I'd imagine running a shell script and especially restarting a system level service will inevitably do.
So what do you reckon would be the best way to confirm whether I'm getting this issue?
I've tried some of the things that other users say trigger it, but so far nothing...
My battery's still going strong since my last full charge, now at 63%, I'm worried I'm going to miss it, yet again.
I'm almost 100% certain that "no internet connection" condition isn't needed for any rule(s), but this one's another matter.

Last edited by jalyst; 2012-11-29 at 22:27. Reason: typo
 
bibek's Avatar
Posts: 368 | Thanked: 826 times | Joined on May 2012 @ India
#923
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Two things:
- You're missing a slash from the beginning.
- You're using "*" for matching several files. This needs shell expansion, so it must be run in shell.

Do it like this:

Code:
sh -c "rm /home/user/.cache/data/twitter/twcache*"
thanks a lot. Missing the slash is really a dumb mistake
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#924
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post
So what do you reckon would be the best way to confirm whether I'm getting this issue?
I've tried some of the things that other users say trigger it, but so far nothing...
My battery's still going strong since my last full charge, now at 63%, I'm worried I'm going to miss it, yet again.
I'm almost 100% certain that "no internet connection" condition isn't needed for any rule(s), but this one's another matter.
jalyst, why not use billboard to display the battery percentage on the standby screen instead? I mean entering Settings every time to check it is really cumbersome, no?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#925
Originally Posted by jalyst View Post
So what do you reckon would be the best way to confirm whether I'm getting this issue?
I've tried some of the things that other users say trigger it, but so far nothing...
My battery's still going strong since my last full charge, now at 63%, I'm worried I'm going to miss it, yet again.
I'm almost 100% certain that "no internet connection" condition isn't needed for any rule(s), but this one's another matter.
If you see a sudden drop in battery level from around 10-20% to 4%, then you have the bug. To me it usually happens when you're using the phone, and for example mobile connection.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#926
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Today when phone reached 4%, restarting BME did not restore the battery level. I had to manually launch the custom once more and it was restored to 10%.
Same thing today. Sudden drop from 23% to 4%. ProfileMatic kicked in and restarted BME. But battery level was not fixed. I had to manually start it again and then battery level was 10%.

Perhaps stopping BME does not work well if it's done immediately after the battery drop. Right now I stop BME immediately and wait 10 secs before starting it again.

I'll try to modify the script, and put a 5 second pause before stopping BME. Then 5 second pause before starting it again.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
rooster13's Avatar
Posts: 319 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Finland
#927
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Same thing today. Sudden drop from 23% to 4%. ProfileMatic kicked in and restarted BME. But battery level was not fixed. I had to manually start it again and then battery level was 10%.

Perhaps stopping BME does not work well if it's done immediately after the battery drop. Right now I stop BME immediately and wait 10 secs before starting it again.

I'll try to modify the script, and put a 5 second pause before stopping BME. Then 5 second pause before starting it again.
You did not have any sleep in between stop bme and starting it?

I have a sleep of 5 seconds and mine seems to work pretty good, not perfect though .

Maybe even 10 seconds might help dunno, have to test...
__________________
Sail Raid, an old skool shoot'em up for Jolla
KillDroid, Android service killer for Jolla
goViihde, an Elisa Viihde client for Jolla
goViihde, an Elisa Viihde client for N9
Shortcut Stash Home Screen Widget
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#928
In my tests sleep 10, stop bme, sleep 10, start bme seems to do the trick but then maybe mine is a too cautious set-up
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,313 | Thanked: 2,977 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#929
Originally Posted by rooster13 View Post
You did not have any sleep in between stop bme and starting it?
I do. But I did not have any sleep before stop bme. So only sleep between stop and start. And I think a sleep is needed before stop too. I'll test during next week.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#930
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
jalyst, why not use billboard to display the battery percentage on the standby screen instead? I mean entering Settings every time to check it is really cumbersome, no?
I guess you're right, maybe I'll fork-out some $ for Billboard*, I don't have my N9 for about 1mth, so I won't be able to confirm this "once & for all" until then :-/
It's just that you seemed so confident that everyone gets this issue, so I figured I may as well set-up the workaround, irrespective of observing it for myself.

*whatever happened to admiral0's prior competing app?

Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
If you see a sudden drop in battery level from around 10-20% to 4%, then you have the bug. To me it usually happens when you're using the phone, and for example mobile connection.
That's just the problem, I wasn't seeing it, but I loaned my N9 to someone else just before it got below 30% (IIRC), so maybe I missed the point where it plays up.
I never use "mobile connection" (3G), because I still tend to get that bug where it loses connectivity completely, & is subsequently useless (gets hot too).*
For connection onto the net I always use WiFi....

*there's some workarounds I STILL haven't tried yet (reset to 2g & then back to 3g using profilematic isn't an option), I doubt they'll work, beyond that I'm screwed.

Last edited by jalyst; 2012-12-02 at 15:18.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45.