|
2008-10-24
, 11:54
|
|
Posts: 2,142 |
Thanked: 2,054 times |
Joined on Dec 2006
@ Sicily
|
#2
|
The Following User Says Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2008-10-24
, 12:22
|
Posts: 127 |
Thanked: 17 times |
Joined on Aug 2007
@ Montreal, Canada
|
#3
|
Otherwise, do as Qole writes in http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=22353
If you're willing to (perhaps) drain your battery a bit more, you might gain some speed by setting your processor to "performance" mode.
Make two little scripts, one called "cpu-perform" and one called "cpu-ondemand" (or whatever you want) and then run them as root (eg, sudo cpu-perform)
cpu-perform
cpu-ondemandCode:echo performance >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
(don't forget to chmod +x cpu-perform)Code:echo ondemand >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
The Following User Says Thank You to smog For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2008-10-24
, 12:48
|
|
Posts: 1,635 |
Thanked: 1,816 times |
Joined on Apr 2008
@ Manchester, England
|
#4
|
|
2008-10-24
, 13:27
|
Posts: 127 |
Thanked: 17 times |
Joined on Aug 2007
@ Montreal, Canada
|
#5
|
|
2008-10-24
, 13:35
|
|
Posts: 291 |
Thanked: 124 times |
Joined on Feb 2006
@ Trier, Germany
|
#6
|
|
2008-10-24
, 13:35
|
|
Posts: 1,635 |
Thanked: 1,816 times |
Joined on Apr 2008
@ Manchester, England
|
#7
|
|
2008-10-24
, 13:47
|
Posts: 127 |
Thanked: 17 times |
Joined on Aug 2007
@ Montreal, Canada
|
#8
|
heh, chill - was only pullin your leg.
Its quite simple to get the cpu throttling adjustments.
liqbase does it by calling a small script when you change.
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-powersave"
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-ondemand"
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-performance"
(scripts were added into sudoers list as part of installation)
Theres nothing stopping you calling those scripts yourself or writing variations thereof.
|
2008-10-24
, 18:56
|
Posts: 109 |
Thanked: 91 times |
Joined on Dec 2007
|
#9
|
heh, chill - was only pullin your leg.
Its quite simple to get the cpu throttling adjustments.
liqbase does it by calling a small script when you change.
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-powersave"
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-ondemand"
"sudo /usr/bin/liqbase-cpu-performance"
(scripts were added into sudoers list as part of installation)
Theres nothing stopping you calling those scripts yourself or writing variations thereof.
run at highest CPU speed
run at normal (on-demand) CPU speed
the value of "sufficient" would be set by the user...probably 75% as a default
run at a lower (power-saving) CPU speed
|
2008-10-24
, 19:00
|
|
Posts: 1,635 |
Thanked: 1,816 times |
Joined on Apr 2008
@ Manchester, England
|
#10
|
Tags |
canada, liqbase, os2008, pipe wrench, snowblower |
|
thank you
Proud user of KDE, ICEWM, Conky, USBMouse, xkbd.