|
2012-02-21
, 16:23
|
|
Posts: 2,448 |
Thanked: 9,523 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Wigan, UK
|
#2
|
The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2012-02-21
, 16:59
|
|
Posts: 543 |
Thanked: 802 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Germany
|
#3
|
I will buy this as soon as the update arrives with support for my crappy old DM500S (Enigma 1).
|
2012-02-22
, 21:45
|
|
Posts: 543 |
Thanked: 802 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Germany
|
#4
|
|
2012-02-22
, 23:02
|
|
Posts: 2,448 |
Thanked: 9,523 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Wigan, UK
|
#5
|
import QtQuick 1.1 import com.nokia.meego 1.0 QueryDialog { id: dialog function deleteRemote() { // do stuff console.log("Remote deleted"); } titleText: qsTr("Delete remote?") acceptButtonText: qsTr("Yes") rejectButtonText: qsTr("No") message: <remote_name> onAccepted: deleteRemote() }
The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2012-02-23
, 00:18
|
|
Posts: 543 |
Thanked: 802 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Germany
|
#6
|
Just downloaded and tested the demo. It works on my DM500, and I'll buy the full version soon.
1. You may already be aware of this, but the DM500 (and possibly 600) has slightly different button mappings than the other Dreamboxes with the larger remotes. In particular, the DM500 doesn't recognise the command issued by the Info key. It's the same with the remote on the web interface (I guess that's where you get the commands from), so it's not your fault and it's no big deal for me.
2. There are a couple of small UI aspects that you could tweak. For example, the menu item with label 'search for help and support' is all lower-case, which is out of step with the other menu items. Also, I would probably use the placeholderText property for the remote title when none is set. That way, when the user taps on the TextEdit component, they don't have to delete the 'Remote Name' string before adding their own. It might also be a good idea to do the same thing for the IP address, so you don't have to delete the zeros.
I do also notice that there are some cases where you don't appear to use the 'standard' components. For example, the dialog that is raised when you want to delete a remote does not use the standard QueryDialog component (see screenshots below). I think it would help give the UI a more consistent look and feel if you used the standard components where possible.
|
2012-02-23
, 00:28
|
|
Posts: 543 |
Thanked: 802 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Germany
|
#7
|
Just downloaded and tested the demo. It works on my DM500, and I'll buy the full version soon.
|
2012-02-23
, 01:08
|
|
Posts: 2,448 |
Thanked: 9,523 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Wigan, UK
|
#8
|
Thanks! Sounds great.
Hm, yes, I got it from the source of the web interface. What is your advice?
Should I remove this button (hence, it doesn't work at not a single Enigma 1 dreambox) or should I create a setting and hide it especially for the DM500?
The question is: Why is there this button at the source of the Enigma 1 web remote if it doesn't work at Enigma 1?
There must be a reason for it... or am I wrong?
I hope the Demo version won't get too comfortable with this tweaks.
The storage of the settings and the splash screen is the only difference...
I have Friday a day off. I will look into it why I have implemented it this way. The most qml elements are made myself because of the user interface. I was at example unable to use the standard Toolbar. And also the buttons have some additional properties. I remember I changed this QueryDialog several times during the development, but I can't remember the reasoning at the moment.
I had a lot of problems to create a endless scaleable ui to switch between remotes with a single swipe. So I'm personally very proud to get this even working.
But this query should work independent from this... I will look into it.
I observed yesterday the rating at the ovi store. The first rating was 4 stars, even before I created this thread. Later the average rating sagged to 3 stars and in the end 2 stars.
So at minimum 3 ratings without a comment or feedback why. Not very well.
Because of some reasons it seems to have not worked as expected for some guys... thats sad.
But the biggest surprise was someone who has bought it even without dbox2 support and wrote he is waiting for the support for his receiver. And despite he was unable to check if it works or not he gave a good 4 star rating. Hurray! But this rating was unable to change the average result...
So I went yesterday very depressed to bed... But the biggest surprise was today the ovi store statistics. Quite a lot purchases, and all from china!
I can't believe dream multimedia sold 99% of their dreambox receiver to china. Very strange. Either the download statistics from nokia are broken or something is very fishy. At least it feels like this to myself.
Oh, and by the way, does the screenshot feature work at your DM500? (pull the remote to the bottom)
The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2012-02-23
, 15:50
|
|
Posts: 2,448 |
Thanked: 9,523 times |
Joined on Aug 2010
@ Wigan, UK
|
#9
|
The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2012-02-23
, 19:28
|
|
Posts: 543 |
Thanked: 802 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ Germany
|
#10
|
I wrote a review in the store for the demo version. After writing the review, I visited the page for the paid version, and noticed that the store client acted as if I had the paid version installed. There was no 'Buy' button, but instead it presented the 'Launch' and 'Review' buttons. I don't know if this affects all applications with demo versions, but it's definitely something to take up with Nokia Store, as it could be losing you money.
Tags |
dreambox, network, neutrino, remote, remote control |
|
DreamRemote 2.0
It's a WiFi Multi Remote Control for the Dreambox (the Linux-based set-top boxes) from Dream multimedia.
It supports all Enigma 1 and Enigma 2 based Dreambox receiver, VDR Project with installed vdr-live plugin and the dbox2 with installed neutrino image.
Support for the AZBox (HD Elite, Premium HD and HD+) will need some more time. Sorry guys, if there is demand please post. I will look if I could speed the needed work up.
Note: It doesn't support connections to receiver with password protected webinterface. But hence it is anyway only advisable to use webremote within your own w-lan behind a firewall it should work for the most people. By default the webinterface is anyway not password protected.
The screenshots are currently only at Dreambox Receiver with Enigma 2 aviable. I was not able to develop and test this feature without the needed hardware. Sorry.
(a zoom function for the screenshots is in the work, so stay tuned for updates)
DreamRemote supports control of more than a single receiver.
You just need to swipe from one receiver to the other to control your DreamBox in the living room, your VDR archive in the cellar and your old dbox2 at the kitchen.
Have a look how it works: Video Because of my still persistent financial nightmare I would like to sell this small application for a small amount of money at the ovi store. I hope you can understand my situation.
Please get it from here: Ovi Store
I also created a small Demo to make testing possible without buying DreamRemote. This way you are able to check what you get for your money!
If you wan't to try DreamRemote before purchasing you can download and install the demo from here: Demo
Please give here feedback if you have any kind of problems using DreamRemote. If something doesn't work as expected I'm sure we are able to find together a solution or a good reason for the problems.
Enjoy!
Please DONATE if you like my work!
Last edited by helex; 2012-02-23 at 18:01. Reason: now support for dbox2 and VDR aviable