Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#1
My goal is to simply use PUTTY running on a Windows PC to access, via SSH, my N810 over my home network. I've installed PUTTY on the PC, installed OpenSSH on the N810 from the repository (and given it a root password), and also installed the becomeroot package so I can "sudo gainroot".

I thought all I needed to do was, as root, this:

Code:
/sbin/service sshd start
And then fire up PUTTY, enter the IP address of the N810, and then, zap - I'm in business. But that command doesn't seem to work. When I try to start the daemon I get this:

Code:
/bin/sh: /sbin/service: not found
What am I doing wrong? I'm guessing I need to configue something (keys?) first, but I'm hoping that there's an easier way, since I think that means I'm going to have to learn vi, which is on my 'to-do' list, but right now vi doesn't seem like a lot of fun since I come from the world where Visual Notepad is the answer to life's most basic text-editing questions.

Help a newbie brother out?

FF
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#2
I think sshd starts automatically.

But it'd be
Code:
/etc/init.d/sshd start
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#3
I still get the 'not found' even with the /etc/init.d/sshd start.

When I look in init.d I don't see sshd. I do see ssh.

So I went back and checked to make sure I had it installed, and yes, from the application manager I'm seeing openssh-server 1:4-7p1-2.maemo2 (and openssh and openssh-client).

Any ideas? It looks like it isn't installed (or at least running), even though the package is there. And when I tried PUTTY it didn't appear to connect.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#4
Ah, guess it's ssh, not sshd, sorry. But I still don't think you need to manually start it. Check if it's running:
Code:
ps | grep ssh
If it's not running, then /etc/init.d/ssh start should do it, or give an instructive error as to why it's not starting.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#5
Ah yes. It does seem to be running, thank you. (Although entering the 'pipe' character on the N810 sent me running to Google.)

I'm not in front of my PC right now, but later I will try the second half of the exercise, simply connecting via Putty. I found another helpful ITT post on doing this on a 770, hopefully this applies.

Thanks.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#6
I have my keyboard (I assume you know you can have two languages, and switch handily?) set to En_US and En_GB; the US layout is what I normally use, but the UK layout has a lot of unixy punctuation handier... at least for the on-screen keyboard, I've got a N800.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11.