Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 427 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#1
so i downloaded tablet-encode 2.30, strawberry perl for windows, and mplayer

used these instructions:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...6&postcount=43

dropped files from tablet-encode and mplayer/mencoder into a location in my path and installed strawberry perl using the .msi.

i can run tablet-encode via command prompt to try to get to the gui, but gui switch does nothing. in all cases of running it under command prompt, it return the following error


Code:
C:\tabenc>perl tablet-encode -g
Use of uninitialized value $ENV{"HOME"} in concatenation (.) or string at tablet
-encode line 34.
tablet-encode                              (c) Andrew Flegg 2006, 2008
~~~~~~~~~~~~~                              Released under the Artistic Licence.
Syntax:
    tablet-encode [options] <input> <destination>
    tablet-encode [options] <input1> [<input2>...] <directory>
    tablet-encode [options] --list <input1> [<input2> ...]

Options:
    -h, --help              This message
    -g, --gui               Open a graphical interface to tablet-encode
    -q, --quiet             Be vewwy vewwy quiet
    -p, --preset=PRESET     Preset to use. Use --preset=list to see them all.
        --hq                High quality encoding (takes longer).
    -s, --sample[=SECS]     Produce a SECS second sample encoding. Default: 30.
    -i, --index             Generate avi file index
    -7, --770               Use a different FOURCC for better 770 compatibility.

    -o, --original-aspect   Disable cropping image to better fit screen
    -c, --copy-audio        Copy the existing audio track
    -2, --two-pass          Encode in two passes for better quality
    -m, --mencoder=ARGn     Pass ARGn to mencoder. Can occur multiple times.
    -t, --subtitle[=FILE]   Embed subtitles in the converted video, from the
                            specified file, or <file>.srt.
    -e, --episodes          When auto-detecting DVD track, rip all episodes.
    -l, --list              Specify that the arguments are a list of files to
                            encode. Output file is input suffixed with preset.
other switches seem to work ok, but still return error:

Code:
C:\tabenc>perl tablet-encode --preset=list
Use of uninitialized value $ENV{"HOME"} in concatenation (.) or string at tablet
-encode line 34.
Available presets:
  smallest         - 240x144 @ 80kbps video, 32kbps audio (15 fps)
  small            - 240x144 @ 150kbps video, 96kbps audio (15 fps)
  average          - 320x192 @ 350kbps video, 128kbps audio (30 fps)
  good             - 352x211 @ 600kbps video, 160kbps audio (30 fps)
  best             - 400x240 @ 768kbps video, 192kbps audio (30 fps)
  mplayer          - 400x240 @ 1200kbps video, 192kbps audio (30 fps)
  n900             - 800x480 @ 2000kbps video, 192kbps audio (30 fps)
__________________
Please vote for the following bug:
Media player should play audio tracks continuously (gapless playback)

Last edited by jerryfreak; 2010-02-15 at 02:08.
 
Posts: 427 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#2
do i need to install gtk2-perl for the gui to work? theres a binary for activestate perl at:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/wayne.keenan/gtk/

but installation of GTK and GTK-perl seems pretty involved

http://live.gnome.org/GTK2-Perl/Freq...ling_Gtk2-Perl

this is insanely over-complex
__________________
Please vote for the following bug:
Media player should play audio tracks continuously (gapless playback)

Last edited by jerryfreak; 2010-02-15 at 02:39.
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#3
I have no idea what you are trying to achieve or what tablet-encode is but from the output it seem pretty clear that if you run it with "-g" you are trying to start a GUI, so yes in that case you probably would need GTK-bindings installed (however you should be able to run it without a GUI otherwise -g would not make sense).

The part about " uninitialized value $ENV{"HOME"}" is just a warning - you should set an enviroment-variable "HOME" to some sensible value (under *nix it probably would already be set, otherwise you could do a "export HOME=<some directory>",I think in Windows you use "set HOME=<whatever>".

I would try to run it as "tablet-encode --preset=n900", but as I said I have no idea about this application...

Try this (in a cmd-prompt):

set HOME=C:\
perl tablet-encode --preset=n900

hth
 
Posts: 427 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#4
well im trying to set up gtk now.

i uninstalled strawberry perl and installed activestate perl.

following the instructions here for a gtk2 that works under activestate, when i try to install the ppd files i get the following

Code:
C:\tabenc\gtk2-ins>ppm install ExtUtils-Depends.ppd
ppm install failed: The PPD does not provide code to install for this platform
seems like ppm is somewhat working,as i can get the following:


Code:
C:\tabenc\gtk2-ins>ppm -h
Unrecognized ppm command '-h'; try one of area, config, describe, files,
  gui, help, info, install, list, log, profile, query, remove, repo,
  search, tree, uninstall, update, upgrade, verify, or version
Usage:  ppm <cmd> <arg>...
        Run 'ppm help' to learn more.
and yes im not using the repositories as this machine is not on the web
__________________
Please vote for the following bug:
Media player should play audio tracks continuously (gapless playback)

Last edited by jerryfreak; 2010-02-15 at 03:50.
 
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#5
I just got tablet-encode running on my CentOS box and I love it.

But there's one thing I'm curious about.

I'm running this with a DVD in the drive:

tablet-encode -p n900 dvd: <output dir>

And I get a beautiful avi file from my DVD.... but only the first 15 minutes of the movie.

Should I use different options to capture all of the video files on the DVD <i.e: the entire movie>
 
Posts: 427 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#6
bump?

thanks
__________________
Please vote for the following bug:
Media player should play audio tracks continuously (gapless playback)
 
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#7
Funny thing about tablet-encode:

Since I encoded my first DVD and only got the first 15 minutes, I tired a different one, and it crashed somewhere on the second pass leaving the file corrupted.

So third time was a charm since I tried again and this time the encoding ran for a few hours and I actually got the entire movie!!

All with the same command I originally ran. So I guess to encode an entire DVD you just have to keep trying since random system resource situations can interrupt the trans coding process.
 
Posts: 427 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#8
cmon guys, i know youre all meego'd out from last week, but i really would like to crack this nut
__________________
Please vote for the following bug:
Media player should play audio tracks continuously (gapless playback)
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:08.