Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Leeds, UK
#1
At some point I installed some extras-devel and am having second thoughts about it now. Is there any way of showing which are devel and testing from the others that are installed?
Thanks
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#2
I've written a script to do that - http://www.robinhill.me.uk/maemo/package_sources.html
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Leeds, UK
#3
thanks, but I have absolutely no idea how to use that! Any pointers? What are the risks?
I'm removing the extras devels cos I want to make my phone safer! So dont wanna risk bricking it with somethign else!
thanks
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#4
Originally Posted by Janniman View Post
thanks, but I have absolutely no idea how to use that! Any pointers? What are the risks?
I'm removing the extras devels cos I want to make my phone safer! So dont wanna risk bricking it with somethign else!
thanks
There's no risk - the script doesn't change anything at all (it's only reading files). You'll need to download the script from the site and save it to your N900. Then open X Terminal and type in the following:
Code:
cd MyDocs
perl package_sources.pl > sources.txt
The sources.txt file will then contain information on which packages you've installed and which repository they're currently found in. You can then either copy the file to your PC to look though, or directly get a list of which packages are from extras-devel by running:
Code:
grep -i extras-devel sources.txt
If the repository is not named "extras-devel" on your phone then you'll need to change that bit. You can do similar for extras-testing.

Oh, and you'll need to make sure the repositories are still enabled before running this - if they're not enabled then the script can't find which packages the repository contains.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Leeds, UK
#5
Sorry for being a Noob, but how do I save it from the site, where do I save it and what do I save it as? I tried jus saving the page, but it didnt work.
thanks
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#6
Originally Posted by Janniman View Post
Sorry for being a Noob, but how do I save it from the site, where do I save it and what do I save it as? I tried jus saving the page, but it didnt work.
thanks
If you're using the N900, then open the site and tap (and hold) on the "script itself" link. It should pop up a menu including "Save link as". Then just select the location - tap on the up arrow until you reach the very top level, then tap on the line with the icon of an N900 to open that directory, then tap on it again (next to the up arrow) to select it.
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Leeds, UK
#7
managed to get the script loaded ok now, and first command goes through all apps, however, second command for extras devel doesnt do anything. does that mean Ive removed all the devel and testing?
also how do i save the output to the computer?
thanks for all your help.
Janni
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#8
Originally Posted by Janniman View Post
managed to get the script loaded ok now, and first command goes through all apps, however, second command for extras devel doesnt do anything. does that mean Ive removed all the devel and testing?
also how do i save the output to the computer?
The first command shouldn't print anything out at all, it should just create the sources.txt file. If not, you've probably typed in something wrong - don't forget the '>' character.

If it did work correctly and has created the sources.txt file (you can use "ls" to get a listing of the files in the directory), then you can double check the list of repositories you have software installed from by running:
Code:
cut -f1 sources.txt | sort | uniq
If you connect to your PC in mass storage mode, the sources.txt file will be in the root directory of the mapped drive. If you use PC Suite mode, it'll be in the Data subdirectory.
 
Posts: 84 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Leeds, UK
#9
when I typed
cd MyDocs
perl package_sources.pl > sources.txt

it went through a load of files. does that mean I did something wrong?
thanks
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#10
Originally Posted by Janniman View Post
when I typed
cd MyDocs
perl package_sources.pl > sources.txt

it went through a load of files. does that mean I did something wrong?
thanks
The '>' character tells it to redirect the output to the file, so it shouldn't be printing anything out to the screen. Make sure you put spaces in around the '>'. If you're still having problems, can you post screenshots of the command line (before you run it) and a sample of the output you get.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:09.