LinuxStation
|
2010-11-06
, 08:22
|
Posts: 36 |
Thanked: 2 times |
Joined on Jan 2008
|
#1
|
|
2011-03-15
, 00:44
|
Posts: 154 |
Thanked: 73 times |
Joined on Jan 2009
@ Toronto
|
#3
|
See this thread, particularly post #15.
|
2011-03-15
, 11:17
|
Posts: 2,802 |
Thanked: 4,491 times |
Joined on Nov 2007
|
#4
|
echo 0x30 > /sys/devices/platform/wlan-omap/default_country
Now when I cat that file I get this output:
Regulatory domain: 0x30
It does appear to show the required change (previous setting was 0x10).
However, in the thread you have linked, some posts ( > #15) suggest that changes to the /sys/..../default_country file will not make the desired change in the kernel.
The Following User Says Thank You to lma For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2011-03-15
, 11:23
|
Posts: 1,680 |
Thanked: 3,685 times |
Joined on Jan 2011
|
#5
|
|
2011-03-15
, 19:21
|
Posts: 154 |
Thanked: 73 times |
Joined on Jan 2009
@ Toronto
|
#6
|
It does, but not in a permanent way and the userland bits may not be automatically updated. You may have to restart wlancond, and you may have to give it a different $OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL in the environment (the default value comes from the cal partition via /usr/bin/osso-product-info).
...not in a permanent way ...
You may have to restart wlancond
/etc/init.d/wlancond restart
... give it a different $OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL in the environment
OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL=12
|
2011-03-15
, 19:36
|
Posts: 154 |
Thanked: 73 times |
Joined on Jan 2009
@ Toronto
|
#7
|
|
2011-03-15
, 20:42
|
Posts: 36 |
Thanked: 2 times |
Joined on Jan 2008
|
#8
|
It would be really nice to hear back from LinuxStation and anyone else who has faced this problem, to learn what they tried and what success they had.
|
2011-03-16
, 08:23
|
Posts: 2,802 |
Thanked: 4,491 times |
Joined on Nov 2007
|
#9
|
When I code
echo $OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL
I get an empty line in reply.
So, when I'm next in Europe (June 2011), if N800 won't connect to wifi after the default_country has been reset and wlancond restarted, I'll try the effect of
or 13 if that still doesn't work.Code:OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL=12
|
2011-03-16
, 19:52
|
Posts: 154 |
Thanked: 73 times |
Joined on Jan 2009
@ Toronto
|
#10
|
What does /usr/bin/osso-product-info say?
OSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL='FCC/US'
you must be root to access CALOSSO_PRODUCT_WLAN_CHANNEL='<unknown>'
/etc/init.d/wlancond restart