Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#1
When i'm not at home and there is no wifi i connect to the internet via my supporter (vodafone) and app manager automatically start to update in the background consuming large amount of credit, so wherever i'm outdoor and i wanted to connect i manually disable all catalogues one by one and then connect and when i'm home i check them back.
Is there a command that i can type to disable all catalogues at once and then return them back when i'm offline ?
i'm aware of
Code:
gconftool -s --type int /apps/hildon/update-notifier/check_interval NEW_VALUE
but it only sets the intervals between the updates and its not what i'm looking for.
 
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#2
so, any1 ?
 
jedi's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 1,330 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Tatooine
#3
Set the check interval to a stupidly high number so it's effectively disabled.

Then occasionally do a 'apt-get update' at the command line, and 'apt-get upgrade' if you want to run a upgrade.


Edit - reason: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=119 - sorry I forgot you don't like my posts.
__________________
May the source be with you.

Last edited by jedi; 2011-04-05 at 12:47.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jedi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#4
The catalogues are stored in /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues, so you could probably do (as root):

Disable all:
Code:
sed -i -e "s/<enabled\/>/<disabled\/>/" /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues
Enable all:
Code:
sed -i -e "s/<disabled\/>/<enabled\/>/" /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues
I've not tested this myself though, so make sure you take a backup of the files beforehand!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#5
Originally Posted by jedi View Post
Set the check interval to a stupidly high number so it's effectively disabled.

Then occasionally do a 'apt-get update' at the command line, and 'apt-get upgrade' if you want to run a upgrade.

Edit - reason: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=119 - sorry I forgot you don't like my posts.
nice memory you have, but lets take a look at what i said

Originally Posted by AgogData View Post
but it only sets the intervals between the updates and its not what i'm looking for.
oh, i said i'm not looking for changing the intervals..so you are right when you said :

Originally Posted by jedi View Post
I forgot you don't like my posts.
---------------------------------------------

Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
The catalogues are stored in /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues, so you could probably do (as root):

Disable all:
Code:
sed -i -e "s/<enabled\/>/<disabled\/>/" /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues
Enable all:
Code:
sed -i -e "s/<disabled\/>/<enabled\/>/" /etc/hildon-application-manager/catalogues
I've not tested this myself though, so make sure you take a backup of the files beforehand!
i tried it but didn't work, i suppose its a command to replace all the enables words with disables..if thats so i opened catalogues file and there were no "enable" word there, only disable for a couple of catalogues i disabled before.
 
jedi's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 1,330 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Tatooine
#6
Originally Posted by AgogData View Post
nice memory you have, but lets take a look at what i said



oh, i said i'm not looking for changing the intervals..so you are right when you said :
My point was that changing the intervals might actually be the right thing to do to achieve what you want. Just because you've decreed that it shouldn't be part of the solution does not mean it's not valid. Also, didn't you notice the strikeout line right though my 'solution'?

But why am I even bothering to waste my time when you've made it clear that you "don't like my posts".
__________________
May the source be with you.
 
Posts: 560 | Thanked: 422 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#7
One way to prevent unwanted automatic updates is to disable all repositories in HAM and use Faster Application Manager (FAM) as your main application manager. Is that an option?

Manually updating software is possible with FAM so long as you have the appropriate repositories set up and enabled but you won't get that little yellow symbol in the status area.

Last edited by demolition; 2011-04-05 at 15:39.
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#8
1. Use ifup/ifdown scripts to enable/disable the the checking depending on the network connection.

2. Use rob1n's method, except use sed to put a '#' infront of everyline.

3. Jedi's solution.


Personally I would opt for Jedi's solution, it is the easiest/most foolproof to implement.

Just accept that maybe once a month you should check for updates with HAM, hell even put a reminder in the calender if it matters that much. Frankly, updates are pretty rare and people useually talk on the forum if there are any. Further more this mitigates the daily PITA that is that stupid update check.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#9
@demolition : thanks for the advice but i still want to use HAM as my 1ry application manager and i'm sure therer is a command that can edit catalogues file as Rob1n said
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#10
yes there is:

Code:
vi
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46.