Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
breakd0wn's Avatar
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on May 2010
#1
Hi,

Just picked up an n9 a couple of weeks ago. Very nice phone.

What I have noticed with WIFI is that if I am on 3G and go somewhere there is a known WIFI, it does not switch to it by itself. I have to manually switch to WIFI which is only a few taps, but I would think this is supposed to do it automatically.

I have background data on. So the 3G connection never disables. And it stays connected until a reboot, or switch to WIFI by hand.

The WIFI connection is set to use automatically, and priority is working fine. For example if I reboot and try to access something, it will pick up the WIFI 1st.

I really don't think this is normal behavior. Any ideas?

Reflashed completely since I got the phone. Its a malaysian market n9. And using the "no maps" user data.

Thanks!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to breakd0wn For This Useful Post:
breakd0wn's Avatar
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on May 2010
#2
gconftool-2 --get /schemas/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/search_i
nterval

If I check that key value, it is set to the default of 300 If you are already on 3G, does WLAN scanning get disabled? This is the description for that key, make it sound like when a connection is already active, scanning is completely disabled.

Long Desc: Search interval in seconds while not connected. When no connection ar e active avaiable connections are searched and autoconnected regularly. This spe cifies the interval between scans and measured in seconds. Zero disables the fea ture.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to breakd0wn For This Useful Post:
Posts: 335 | Thanked: 285 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ Trento, Italy
#3
I got exactly the same behavior when i restored an old backup that i did while having toggle wlan scan by ajalkane installed and activated. I had a 2 days long brainstorm, then i remember about it, installed it and restored wlan scanning

Last edited by Lucazz990; 2013-05-27 at 23:40.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lucazz990 For This Useful Post:
breakd0wn's Avatar
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on May 2010
#4
That program seems to change this key also.

/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/search_interval

Have tried unset, which I think just uses the default value of 300. Also set it to 300. Neither seems to work.

I have also been using the wifi sharing. I wonder if joikuspot does something to disable wlan scanning. The only thing I did regarding this to the phone was set adhoc to 1. It only lasts until I reboot. It is set to 0 now.

Don't have any hacks or intrusive 3rd party apps. Basically a fresh install.

Lastly, nothing is being outputted to syslog regarding any kind of WIFI scan. When I go into internet connections. It takes a second or two for all the wifi points to show up. The scanner isn't broken, just not running automatically for some reason.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by breakd0wn; 2013-05-27 at 22:54.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to breakd0wn For This Useful Post:
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#5
breakd0wn, I found how to fix it
Because of this thread and my curiosity I wanted to check it and see what the problem...
After applying this command:
Code:
gconftool-2 -s -t int /schemas/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/search_interval 300
and restoring:
Code:
gconftool-2 --unset /schemas/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/search_interval
My phone stopped to connect automatically to available/saved networks...

Create backup of this files before you start to change it !!!

1.
My method to fix it:
1. go to this file:
Code:
/etc/osso-af-init/gconf-dir/schemas/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/%gconf.xml
And check if it looks like this one:
http://pastie.org/7996721 (to see it better, press on the "full screen/enlarge" icon)
If it looks different, edit it like my one and if mtime number of "search_interval" different from the other numbers, change it like all other numbers in YOUR file.

2. go to this file:
Code:
/etc/osso-af-init/gconf-dir/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/%gconf.xml
And check if it looks like this one:
http://pastie.org/7996748 (to see it better, press on the "full screen/enlarge" icon)
If it looks different, edit it like my one and also here, if mtime number of "search_interval" different from the other numbers (except "restricted_mode") , change it like all other numbers in YOUR file (except "restricted_mode" line).

After changes, reboot your phone and walla it work like expected...
This method worked for me perfectly...
------------------------------------------

2. Method #2 (thanks to Coderus)
I'm not tried this because method #1 fixed this problem, but if you want to try, run this 3 commands as ROOT:
Code:
gconftool -s -t i /system/osso/connectivity/network_type/search_interval 300
gconftool -s -t b /system/osso/connectivity/network_type/change_while_connected true
gconftool -s -t str /system/osso/connectivity/network_type/auto_connect "[*]"
Good luck
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Schturman For This Useful Post:
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,701 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#6
@Schturman. Just never touch schemas by hands. Never!
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to coderus For This Useful Post:
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#7
Yep, but before I edited this 2 files manually I tried the first 2 commands and it not worked this is a reason that I edited this manually...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Schturman For This Useful Post:
breakd0wn's Avatar
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on May 2010
#8
@Schturman

Thanks for posting. I was able to resolve it.

The files on my n9 are actually much different than yours though. This directory does not exist..

/etc/osso-af-init/gconf-dir/schemas/

/etc/osso-af-init/gconf-dir/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/%gconf.xml

This file does exist though, and change_while_connected was set to false. Changing it to true resolved the issue.

Thanks!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to breakd0wn For This Useful Post:
breakd0wn's Avatar
Posts: 96 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on May 2010
#9
So the interesting part about this that I forgot to mention was that wifi scanning WAS working in power saver mode.

/etc/osso-af-init/gconf-dir/system/osso/connectivity/network_type/%gconf.xml

This file on my device contains only 3 entries, this is how they were set.

restricted_mode - false
change_while_connected - false
change_while_connected_saved - true

They are now set to

restricted_mode - false
change_while_connected - true
change_while_connected_saved - false

And everything is working as it should. Wifi scanning is OFF in power saver mode, and works normally outside power saver mode. So I guess those 2 values became swapped somehow.

Hopefully that helps anyone that comes across this.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to breakd0wn For This Useful Post:
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 5,339 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#10
you was able to fix it without editing this file, by running only one command:
Code:
gconftool -s -t b /system/osso/connectivity/network_type/change_while_connected true
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Schturman For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
gconf, nokia n9


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:14.