|
2014-08-05
, 15:46
|
|
Posts: 868 |
Thanked: 2,516 times |
Joined on Feb 2012
@ Germany
|
#2
|
To overcome a DNS server bug in my workplace WLAN I need manually set DNS servers on N900 while leaving everything else DHCP. In WLAN configuration you have the option to set the DNS manually, but that is not working as descrbed in detail here:
https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10816
It has been quite some time the bug has been opened... I guess no-one is actively working on fixing this for N900 (and likely for upcoming Neo900)?
Seems like the 50_ipv4_network_setup script needs some tweaking but I haven't got that far yet... If someone has already figured this out please let me know...
The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-08-05
, 16:36
|
|
Posts: 1,310 |
Thanked: 820 times |
Joined on Mar 2006
@ Irving, TX
|
#3
|
So you mean your DHCP server is bugged and therefore you need to set manually a DNS server in N900 and this is also bugged?
And you are sure that your /etc/resolv.conf contains 127.0.0.1?
So you need to add manually for every client a DNS server? That is annoying.
Did you tried to remove the bug from the DHCP server?
I will look into it.
If this is true I will see what I can do .
|
2014-08-05
, 17:02
|
Posts: 2,290 |
Thanked: 4,134 times |
Joined on Apr 2010
@ UK
|
#4
|
The Following User Says Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post: | ||
|
2014-08-05
, 17:06
|
|
Posts: 1,310 |
Thanked: 820 times |
Joined on Mar 2006
@ Irving, TX
|
#5
|
|
2014-08-05
, 17:58
|
|
Posts: 868 |
Thanked: 2,516 times |
Joined on Feb 2012
@ Germany
|
#6
|
mv $RESOLV_CONF.tmp $RESOLV_CONF
if [ ! -f $RESOLV_CONF ] then mv $RESOLV_CONF.tmp $RESOLV_CONF fi
|
2014-08-05
, 18:19
|
|
Posts: 868 |
Thanked: 2,516 times |
Joined on Feb 2012
@ Germany
|
#7
|
else echo -n > $RESOLV_CONF.tmp [ -n "$domain" ] && echo domain $domain >> $RESOLV_CONF.tmp for i in $dns do echo nameserver $i >> $RESOLV_CONF.tmp done mv $RESOLV_CONF.tmp $RESOLV_CONF # Clear dnsmasq cache after getting new nameservers kill -SIGHUP `pidof dnsmasq` break fi
else if [ ! -f $RESOLV_CONF ] then echo -n > $RESOLV_CONF.tmp [ -n "$domain" ] && echo domain $domain >> $RESOLV_CONF.tmp for i in $dns do echo nameserver $i >> $RESOLV_CONF.tmp done mv $RESOLV_CONF.tmp $RESOLV_CONF fi # Clear dnsmasq cache after getting new nameservers kill -SIGHUP `pidof dnsmasq` break fi
|
2014-08-05
, 21:32
|
|
Posts: 1,310 |
Thanked: 820 times |
Joined on Mar 2006
@ Irving, TX
|
#8
|
|
2014-08-05
, 22:14
|
|
Posts: 868 |
Thanked: 2,516 times |
Joined on Feb 2012
@ Germany
|
#9
|
|
2014-08-06
, 07:15
|
|
Posts: 868 |
Thanked: 2,516 times |
Joined on Feb 2012
@ Germany
|
#10
|
[1] Put the changed script to extras.
[2] Add this to CSSU.
[3] Or everybody who like can edit the file by themselves.
https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=10816
It has been quite some time the bug has been opened... I guess no-one is actively working on fixing this for N900 (and likely for upcoming Neo900)?
Seems like the 50_ipv4_network_setup script needs some tweaking but I haven't got that far yet... If someone has already figured this out please let me know...