maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Mame Download with caveat (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=1383)

geekdoc 2006-02-15 03:15

Mame Download with caveat
 
I have placed the code I have been playing with on
http://mame770.mysticserver.com/

IT IS NOT COMPLETE!!! but, you can play pacman.... read the README.

Thanks to Chainsaw76 (Jason), who donated the space.

--------------------README-----------------------
xmame.SDL is compiled from xmame-0.103
Makefile is the Makefile that I altered (it goes in mame-0.103/)
unix.mak is the Makefile that belongs in src/unix
xmamerc belongs in /Root/home/users/.xmame
default.cfg belongs in .xmame/cfg

The .xmame directory is created the first time you run xmame.SDL
Which you have to run from xterm

/directory where you placed xmame.SDL $ ./xmame.SDL romname

The roms are stored in /Root/home/users/MyDocs/.documents/.games/mame/roms


-------------------------------------------------------------
The escape key ( and also the full screen button) serve to end the game.
arrow keys correspond to directions
home key is button 1
zoom in is the start button
zoom out is the coin in button

--------------------------------------------------------
Now the bad news....
*A different verion of mame needs to be used. This one is huge and slow.
*The sound doesn't quite work right. (I think the sound type needs to be declared in the Makefile.)
*The home key works but the immediately reduces the mame window.... so that doesn't work.
- I am sure there is someway to shut off the default action... but I don't know what it is.

So, currently you can only play pacman, or other games that only use the joystick


If you know how to fix this or want to try anyway, look on
internettablettalk.com in the games forum.

-geekdoc

AaronL 2006-02-15 05:13

Geekdoc,

Sorry, but there is no way to turn off the default action of the Home key without modifying one of the osso binaries that ships with the firmware, and you can't do that without having root access (besides needing to change the source code). So basically, the Home key isn't for application use. Perhaps you should use the the zoom in and zoom out buttons for buttons 1 and 2, respectively. The action button (in between the arrow buttons) could be used for both the start and coin buttons. The coin button would correspond to a short button press, and the start button would correspond to a long button press (i.e. the button is held down for longer). Alternatively, add a toolbar that can be enabled/disabled, and the toolbar would have buttons for start and coin. And, don't forget the fullscreen button, which you might want to use if your application is always in fullscreen mode. And there is also the menu button.

Aaron

DaveC 2006-02-15 11:11

It sure does work, but needs a little work still...
 
Great Job on the Mame port GeekDoc!!! It is a little beta (I think it there is a memory leak) but definitely playable on select games. ie. Ones that don't have a fire/jump/action button.

So far, I have gotten the following few games to work (with required roms listed and rough FPS):

Pacman or Puckman - pacman.zip, pucman.zip 16.6 fps
Pacman Plus - pacplus.zip 15.4 fps (probably needs the pacman roms listed above)
Ladybug - ladybug.zip 19.4 fps
Frogger - frogger.zip 11.1 fps
Super Q-Bert - sqbert.zip 13.5 fps

All are very playable and it is frankly amazing that XMame runs at all on such a little machine.

The sound is quite good (a little coarse but workable) on these games actually. I think some games or gaming hardware that uses more sophisticated sound circuitry could bog down the emulator on the 770. Having an option to select lower sound sampling frequencies or ditching sound altogether could help with framerates and memory problems/crashing.

One note, on some games the initial "You must own this machine to play this ROM" warning screen asks you push left/right on the joystick. The graphics have been rotated 90 degrees clockwise, so left/right in this case is down/up. Once the game as started, the joystick controls are rotated appropriately.

I think some games won't work as they're not expecting a portrait screen orientation, but a horizontal one and thus won't run in the current orientation. It'd be nice to be able to specify which orientation you'd like the emulation to run to try to get some of these games. Is the screen orientation set at compile time or is there a command line parameter to set this?

A very promising start as there are many old school games that didn't require anything for controls except a joystick. If we can get some button remapping to get the select, escape or menu buttons to become buttons 1 and 2 then we'll have alot more titles to play. Albeit we're kinda stuck with the awkward D-pad on the 770, it really wasn't designed with heavy gaming in mind. USB Gamepad support anyone? : )

Once again, great work

Dave

rjungmann 2006-02-15 19:09

i will tet this !
 
oh boy !

i'm so excited. i will take a look if i've got old source for mame.
(in fact it is .031) that perhaps will b suffisant.
i will post it here if so !

for the moment i will give this a try.

incredible !

i will not upload the thing because all sources are here :
http://www.mame.net/oldmame.html

if they are not available, i can put it somewhere. just ask.

(i've a wish : to be skilled to port mame to 770 but i'm not)

good luck guys. you're doing wonderfull job to me !

geekdoc 2006-02-15 22:52

Okay, Beta 2 is out.... button 1 and button 2 work
But.... they don't work while the arrow key is pressed.... :P

You only need to download readme.txt, xmamerc, and default.cfg

new key mappings are ---
-------------------------------------------------------------
The escape key serve to end the game.
arrow keys correspond to directions
zoom in is button 1
zoom out is button 2
full-screen is the coin in button/start

--------------------------------------------------------


I am working on a faster xmame... but I am supposed to be studying for a license
exam so ... either don't expect it soon... or expect it later on tonight :)

ciao

-geekdoc

geekdoc 2006-02-18 15:09

I was putzing around and managed to compile a version that literaly flies... the only
problem is that it doesn't play music.

Is anyone interested in this?
It is also much smaller (on the order of 10 Megabytes.)

.... side note... and I am going to post this in the developers section too.
I keep getting a can't open /dev/dsp error.
I generally use the SDL audio option... should I use a different one?

Chainsaw76 2006-02-19 00:33

Does it play sound but no music? I'd be very interested.. No sound at all? but flies? Still sounds worth it.

-Jason

geekdoc 2006-02-19 02:36

Your wish is my command....

http://mame770.mysticserver.com/fastMAME/


I compiled it with sound... but it doesn't work at all... no idea...
but seeing the difference I think you will agree that it is worth it.

You still can't use two keys at once... very very annoying... but you can go diagonally (which I did'nt think was mechanically possible on the nokia)


-geekdoc

penguinbait 2006-02-23 02:10

Works Great!
 
Sound would be nice, but I was able to map the keys however I wanted. Using my BT keyboard and the tab key, I remapped the keyboard however I wanted. I was able to play joust, zaxxon. I have a bunch of roms I am copying over now to test out. You can also remap the 770 keys using the keyboard to tab and enter.

This is awesome, I still want an NES, SNES SEGA. But this is cool!!

Good work man!!

:)

penguinbait 2006-02-23 02:29

even better!!!
 
I use the tab key to get into the key mapping. Then for button one hit enter. Then double tap on the screen. Now your stylus is the fire button.

geekdoc 2006-02-23 06:09

GREAT!

ummm.... how in the world did you hit tab (or did you do it in scratchbox?)

Only thing left now is two keys at once and sound with speed!

Then my friends the world will belong to the 770 mwahhaahahahaa...

Hmmmm.... maybe I have been studying too much, and should take a nap.

-geekdoc

geekdoc 2006-02-23 06:11

I just reread previous messages... never mind about tab key.....


It is time to take a nap....

mlvj 2006-08-02 11:56

Hiya,

Have you done a MAME rebuild for 2006?

I'm considering getting a bluetooth gamepad to try out, and I need an excuse ;)

(or give me the source and instructions and I'll have a stab at building)

mlvj 2006-09-11 11:59

@Tak - top man, well done and thank you for investing the time.

Did you try esd for sound? Is there even an option for that on MAME?

Is the build available for download and testing?

- I'd love to try it with the gamepad.

Have you tried Defender with sound? There's just enough buttons on the gamepad (4 way dpad, 4 "fire" buttons, 2 hard to press shoulder buttons) to assign one button to each function.

Is there by any chance a "show the screen sideways" option in MAME?

Thanks very much,

Martin

mlvj 2006-09-12 11:49

I hope you do put it up for download at some point... I do have a bluetooth gamepad. There are two or three simple games that sometimes I really have an urge to play... pacman, defender, amidar...

Reason I suggest ESD as that seems to be mentioned a lot in maemo as the method. Don't quote me on that though.

mlvj 2006-09-12 18:55

perhaps make a request to maemo garage? they host my csb stuff

mlvj 2006-09-13 21:17

hiya I'm guessing its the new xmame!

I installed it and grabbed some roms from 0.101 I think.

It won't run unless I sudo gainroot, complains about permissions

$ xmame dkong
SDL: Info: SDL initialized
Error creating dir /home/user/.xmame/sta : Permission denied


defender wouldn't get past test screen.

dkong got to attract screen but fullscreen didn't insert coin.

Would it be possible to do the stuff to make appear in menu and task man? for how to check aug maemo dev archive, I asked same q and was told how by frantisek

Looking lovely so far, well done!!

mlvj 2006-09-13 21:28

so close... bedtime for me else i'd try and figure the options. here's the output ;

$ sudo gainroot
Root shell enabled


BusyBox v1.01 (Debian 3:1.01-4.osso10) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/home/user # xmame invaders
SDL: Info: SDL initialized
info: trying to parse: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
error: unknown option artwork_directory, on line 10 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option cheat_file, on line 11 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option hiscore_file, on line 12 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option history_file, on line 13 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option mameinfo_file, on line 14 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option inipath, on line 17 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option ctrlr_directory, on line 18 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option cfg_directory, on line 21 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option nvram_directory, on line 22 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option memcard_directory, on line 23 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option input_directory, on line 24 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option hiscore_directory, on line 25 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option state_directory, on line 26 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option snapshot_directory, on line 27 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option diff_directory, on line 28 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option skip_disclaimer, on line 35 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option skip_gameinfo, on line 36 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
error: unknown option bios, on line 37 of file: /usr/lib/xmame/xmamerc
ignoring line
info: trying to parse: /root/.xmame/xmamerc
info: trying to parse: /usr/lib/xmame/xmame-SDLrc
info: trying to parse: /root/.xmame/xmame-SDLrc
info: trying to parse: /usr/lib/xmame/rc/invadersrc
info: trying to parse: /root/.xmame/rc/invadersrc
Mouse/Trakball selected.
loading rom 0: invaders.h
loading rom 1: invaders.g
loading rom 2: invaders.f
loading rom 3: invaders.e
done
SDL: Info: Video mode set as 800 x 480, depth 16
Using 16bpp video mode
Game uses 32770 colors
SDL: sysdep_display_alloc_palette(32772);
error: /dev/dsp: No such file or directory
info: sysdep_dsp: using esound plugin
info: dsp: using timer based audio
error: /dev/mixer: No such file or directory
error: /dev/dsp: No such file or directory
info: sysdep_dsp: using esound plugin
info: dsp: using timer based audio
/home/user #

mlvj 2006-09-14 18:37

excellent the chmod fixed it so that dkong runs. hey the sound is ok.

however it is running in landscape mode rather than portrait - and it is not zoomed; where are these settings?

also... I'm going to change keymaps to allow gamepad to work. hmm is tab mapped..

this is so good.

mlvj 2006-09-14 19:52

my .101 rom defender still doesn't get past test screen but that must be the rom i guess.

mlvj 2006-09-14 20:30

er... any tips on changing keymappings?

mlvj 2006-09-14 21:12

thanks for those, they work well. I stuck them in the rc file.

so how does one change the keymaps ...

mlvj 2006-09-14 21:45

looks like sdlmapkey would do it. anyone know what SDLK_TAB is?

mlvj 2006-09-15 06:31

got it. here are my additions to xmamerc

ror
fullscreen 1
heightscale 2
widthscale 2
autodouble 1
sdlmapkey 0x0073,0x000f

the last one maps unix keyboard key_s to sdlk_tab. I had previously mapped the start button on the bluetooth gamepad to s.

so if you wanted you could map a hardware key to tab

fab!

mlvj 2006-09-19 11:29

Excellent. I shall try that tonight - it'll be really useful for me, as every time I want to change game, I have to quit xmame, disconnect the bluetooth gamepad, and reconnect.

Hey rtype runs; very very slowly, but it runs.

Bluetooth gamepad works ok - much nicer than keypad, and of course it allows multiple keys to be pressed at once - but it's not the playstation controller, if you know what I mean.

Any plans to put up onto the maemo app catalogue? - when the directory permissions thing is fixed I guess...

Buffi 2006-09-19 15:56

Beginner question regarding installation of xmame
 
As far as I understood you need to install xmame as root but how can I do this? Is it sufficient to call "sudo gainroot" and to install xmame from Application Manager?

mlvj 2006-09-19 17:46

hi buffi. I installed normally then did sudo gainroot and the chmod suggested by Tak and that was it! it is alpha, i.e. not finished, but works fine

mlvj 2006-09-19 17:53

@tak requests on xmaeme!

any chance of remembering the last browsed directory?

hmm maybe... verify those playable... keep in cache.. getting a bit flash. works though, thanks !

gristle 2006-09-20 07:12

Excuse my ignorace but do you have to unzip the roms first? I keep gettng an unable to load rom error.

Thanks in advance

mlvj 2006-09-20 11:11

no don't need to unzip the roms.

ghc 2006-09-22 17:55

Same issue....
 
I am actually having the same issue. I have the Xmame and Xmaeme UI installed, ROMS are loaded in the roms directory on my MMS card, and have tried 5 roms so far, all getting the 'Unable to load ROM' msg. I checked the zipped ROMs, and they all have odd files in there, so don't know if they are the 'right' files.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions - am very anxious to get this working!! Gotta love the 770!!

Thanks in advance for any assistance (btw, my 1st post - just got the unit yesterday! This forum has been a great resource so far...)

ghc 2006-09-24 03:00

Thanks for the input - I actually found a Frogger rom that contained the files you listed, and I am still getting the Unable to Load Rom message. My ROMs are stored on my MMC card in a dir called 'roms', and I installed xmame and xmaeme via the .deb files using the App Manager.

Any other advice?

ghc 2006-09-24 04:55

Thanks for the quick response - I d/l the newest version, and the drop-down does list all of the roms I have on my MMC card in a folder called 'roms' (which I thought was a good sign!). However, I selected each one of them (15 including the Frogger rom mentioned earlier) and I still get the unable to load error on every single one.

Is it possible for me to attach the Frogger version I am using and have you try it as well? Maybe I just have a set of bad roms - I have had these for a little while (used to have a MAME emu on my mac).

Again - I appreciate all of the help!

tts 2006-10-02 03:53

I've downloaded the latest versions of both packages. I am getting the same "unable to load rom" error message that other people are getting. XMaeme 0.2 is detecting my roms, so that seems to be working. I am also able to run the roms just fine in xmame.SDL from an X Terminal. Is there any way to turn on logging in XMaeme to see why it is unable to load the roms?

docgeek 2006-10-02 22:14

Cheers!

You guys rock!

this is formerly geekdoc.

One question, why do you have to run it as root?

mlvj 2006-10-03 11:38

Hi docgeek, you don't have to run it as root; just that the first iteration you needed to install as root.

Tak released a later version that set the correct directory permissions so it's ok now.

mlvj 2006-10-03 20:57

top man!

assuming FCE Ultra, aka NES emulator.

joq100 2006-10-05 21:32

I keep geting this:

¨SDL: Info: SDL initialized
Error creating dir /home/user/.xmame/mem : Permission denied
Child: running xmame.SDL frogger -fullscreen -ror -scale 2 (null) (null)
SDL: Info: SDL initialized
Error creating dir /home/user/.xmame/mem : Permission denied
Child: running xmame.SDL frogger -fullscreen -ror -scale 2 (null) (null)¨

nono matter which rom I try. Looks like a permission issue, do I need root access?
thanks,
edit:
tried mkdir mem on .home/user/.xmame, and told I wasn't allowed, maybe if the .xmame went on MyDocs it would run.

joq100 2006-10-06 09:23

It works!
 
Version 0.3 works now. Thanks, great job.

insert_nick 2006-10-28 21:27

great work!
 
I am amazed, you there have succeded in making some mame roms work smoothly on the 770, I suppose it was not trivial at all! ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by geekdoc
I just reread previous messages... never mind about tab key..... It is time to take a nap....

no, really: how can you hit the tab key, or otherwise: is there any way to change the keymappings for the games??? I can't find it.

And, I want to ask: is it impossible to implement "software buttons"? I mean, render the emulation screen apart from a little margin, say, on the right side of the display for a horizontal view. In that margin, there will be two or more buttons pictured, and pressing them with the stylus sends the corresponding keypressed code to the emulator (e.g xmame). Perhaps this could be possible by making the buttons with the gtk widgets, being the emulated display a continuosly updating canvas in the application window...

That would increase playability of much games, using the pad for directions and the stylus for buttons (or fingers, if we don't care for our display to be shiny clean ;)

Anyway great work, this had to be done ;)


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8