Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 958 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on May 2010
#131
i also have no other dependencies on pyside qtcore other than gngeo-gui. so i went ahead and removed and reinstalled everything. no luck still
 
Posts: 173 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Rio de Janeiro
#132
I haven't update mine yet as I see droll is having problems, anyway what is new in this version? Thanks.
 
Posts: 334 | Thanked: 616 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#133
The new version of GnGeo-Gui works for me. However, my installation might not be comparable to a fresh start (meaning I have several gngeo binaries all around the place).
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#134
Originally Posted by droll View Post
Nokia-N900:~# ldd -r /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener8instanceEv (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide15DestroyListener6listenEP7QObject (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)
undefined symbol: _ZN6PySide7WeakRef6createEP7_objectPFvPvES3_ (/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/PySide/QtCore.so)

guess the problem is on my phone?


running apt-get didn't fix the issue.
This output confirms me for 99.9% your pyside installation is broken in some way. Gngeo-gui only uses it and of course does no modifications to it. The installation of the new gngeo-gui version has no impact on pyside itself.

It's very hard for me to see what is wrong with pyside.
We could try to deinstall all the pyside packages and reinstall them.

First find out what pyside packages you have:
Code:
dpkg --get-selections|grep -i pyside
Then deinstall all the installed packages:
Code:
sudo gainroot
apt-get remove <installed pyside package>
Then reinstall all the just deinstalled packages:
Code:
apt-get install <deinstalled pyside package>
Then reinstall gngeo-gui
 
Posts: 958 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on May 2010
#135
after doing the above, i now get a segmentation fault when i run gngeo-gui.
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#136
Originally Posted by droll View Post
after doing the above, i now get a segmentation fault when i run gngeo-gui.
Gives the "ldd" still the undefined symbol errors?

What if you create and run the following testscript with content:

Code:
import sys
from PySide.QtCore import *
from PySide.QtGui import *
print "test"
Save it as "test.py", and run it with "python test.py"
 
Posts: 958 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on May 2010
#137
ldd = no more undefined errors.
running the above python script = no errors. i see "test" as output.
 
Posts: 958 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on May 2010
#138
i deleted the config file. i see the traceback reaching

line 627, ui = Ui_MainWindow()
line 47, self.gui_opts = parse_config(self,GNGEOGUI_CFG_FILE)
finally, line 19, f = open(filename)

then i see IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

and finally i see Segmentation fault.

so it seems it's segfaulting after the config file loading part??
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#139
Originally Posted by droll View Post
i deleted the config file. i see the traceback reaching

line 627, ui = Ui_MainWindow()
line 47, self.gui_opts = parse_config(self,GNGEOGUI_CFG_FILE)
finally, line 19, f = open(filename)

then i see IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/user/.gngeo-gui/gngeo-gui.cfg

and finally i see Segmentation fault.

so it seems it's segfaulting after the config file loading part??
Good news then, the PySide reinstall seems to have helped to correct your PySide issues!

The error you now getting seems logical. If you start gngeo-gui from the menu (not from the xterminal), it will create the needed initial config file.

So please start gngeo-gui from the menu, and your problems may be gone....
 
Posts: 958 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on May 2010
#140
still crashes when i launch from gui. but thanks for the tip for fixing pyside!

nothing to do with the config file i think because i already had the config file from a previous version of gngeo-gui. i was just testing to see if the config file version was incompatible with this version of gngeo-gui and if that could be the cause of the segfault.

Last edited by droll; 2011-06-10 at 09:13.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:03.