Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jan 2012
#201
ok! I got it to work! but... it asked for my name and I thought it was asking for a contact's name so I wrote HERS... and now that's my name and can't change it ._. wat do?...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to HigeRoman For This Useful Post:
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Aug 2011
#202
its working good but with
with some bugs
1 enter dosent send the msg
2 we have to hold the fun/blu btn to add numbers or symbols
3 Ping from unknown numbers keeps comming

but generally its good
thanks to every one who helped in doing this
 
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Aug 2011
#203
Originally Posted by HigeRoman View Post
ok! I got it to work! but... it asked for my name and I thought it was asking for a contact's name so I wrote HERS... and now that's my name and can't change it ._. wat do?...
delete the contacts value in the prefs.xml file
like this
but keep in mind this will delete all the contacts you have added

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE map SYSTEM "http://java.sun.com/dtd/preferences.dtd">
<map MAP_XML_VERSION="1.0">
<entry key="CC" value="2"/>
<entry key="CONTACTS" value="Delete this value"/>
<entry key="IMEI" value="35*************"/>
<entry key="LOGIN" value="2***********"/>
<entry key="PHONENR" value="***********"/>
<entry key="REGSTEP" value="-1"/>
</map>
 
Posts: 282 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Aug 2011
#204
for people who asked me how it works
here are the steps ( they are on the previous pages )
1- download the files in the 1st post
2- install them by dpkg -i command
3- run whatsapp
4- type any IMIE and your phone number and the small textbox for
the land code
5- activate it by voice
6- you will now get the code
7- now exit the app and open it again it will ask u for the code
8- you will get the unknown error
9- edit the prefs.xml
using vi or midnight or leafpad(i used it )

here is how to edit the prefs.xml
a- open xterm
b- go for root
c- type "cd /home/user/.java/.userPrefs/org/peterbjornx/whatsapp"
d- leafpad prefs.xml
edit it to be like this

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE map SYSTEM "http://java.sun.com/dtd/preferences.dtd">
<map MAP_XML_VERSION="1.0">
<entry key="CC" value="Area code goes here"/>
<entry key="CONTACTS" value="-"/>
<entry key="IMEI" value="35*************"/>
<entry key="LOGIN" value="areacode + phone number"/>
<entry key="PHONENR" value="Your Phone number"/>
<entry key="REGSTEP" value="-1"/>
</map>

and then open the whatsapp again and tadaaaaaa its working :O

Last edited by davdav; 2012-04-25 at 16:55. Reason: keyboard jam
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to davdav For This Useful Post:
Posts: 461 | Thanked: 358 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Bilbao (Basque Country [Spain])
#205
Originally Posted by davdav View Post
4- activate it by voice
5- type any IMIE and your phone number and the small textbox for the land code
6- you will now get the code
I think that the order is 5, then 4 and then 6.

Originally Posted by davdav View Post
c- type "cd /home/user/.java/.userPrefs/org/peterbjornx/whatsapp"
d- leafpad prefs.xml
In my computer and N900 the folder with the relevant prefs.xml is "/home/$USER/.java/.userPrefs/org/peterbjornx/whatsapp/storage"

Originally Posted by davdav View Post
<entry key="CC" value="2"/>
<entry key="CONTACTS" value="-"/>
<entry key="IMEI" value="35*************"/>
In mines, CC value is the same as Country code (34 for me).
As IMEI I used an easy to remember number, so if I use whatsapp in another device, it will be simple to remember it.

When adding contacts must be remembered that must be added with country code but as in all this configuration without zeros or plus symbol. Example for spain international calls +346xxyyyzzz or 00346xxyyyzzz ---> You have to use 346xxyyyzzz.

Last edited by malkavian; 2012-04-25 at 08:47.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to malkavian For This Useful Post:
rayson's Avatar
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Malaysia
#206
Originally Posted by klome View Post
I came to Hong Kong, no one can teach me, I do not English
Difference in this step has been fixed

after you get the code, you need to modify the entry in pref.xml as front page mentioned, don't modify the wrong path, got many pref.xml in many folder, is the one in storage folder

change the CC to your country code
enter your phone number without country code
I didn't change the regstep and remain as 1

restart your phone, cause java won't close the program automatically, a clean startup will be better. start the program, switch to login, and verify, it will ask for your verify code, enter it and it will start.
 
ajack's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 175 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
#207
My suggestion to all here is to open a terminal screen and run the program with:

/opt/whatsapp/launch.sh

That way, when you want to quit whatsapp, just go to the terminal and hit CTRL-C and type:

exit

No more memory issues... I remember having 7 different java sessions and using the kill command is just too much typing... Hope this tip proves useful to all in this thread.

Ohhh! If you run whatsapp with:

/opt/whatsapp/launch.sh~

You will find the output a little different... :P
__________________
Visit my blog at http://lifewithmaemo.blogspot.com or my website at http://www.renegade-uiq.com
 
Posts: 461 | Thanked: 358 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Bilbao (Basque Country [Spain])
#208
Originally Posted by ajack View Post
having 7 different java sessions and using the kill command is just too much typing...
To kill all with one command use killall -9 java

(killall uses names of processes and not pids to kill them)
 
ajack's Avatar
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 175 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
#209
Originally Posted by malkavian View Post
To kill all with one command use killall -9 java

(killall uses names of processes and not pids to kill them)
I know, but CTRL-C is so much faster and having so many sessions at once is a bad thing anyway. No?
__________________
Visit my blog at http://lifewithmaemo.blogspot.com or my website at http://www.renegade-uiq.com
 
Posts: 1,808 | Thanked: 4,272 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Germany
#210
Originally Posted by Mohammed Muid View Post
opened whatsapp. fill in the info. got the msg with the code. close whatsapp. opened whats app again. put the code. got the error. then i opened the prefs.xml file. removed whatever its written there and pasted this :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE map SYSTEM "http://java.sun.com/dtd/preferences.dtd">
<map MAP_XML_VERSION="1.0">
<entry key="CC" value="31"/>
<entry key="CONTACTS" value="-"/>
<entry key="IMEI" value="356938035641084"/>
<entry key="LOGIN" value="88***********"/>
<entry key="PHONENR" value="***********"/>
<entry key="REGSTEP" value="-1"/>
</map>

then opened whatsapp again. i shud get the code verification page rather i got the whole number verifying page where its written login failed. unable to login. i tried to give my number again but again the problem. "too recent"
Please stop posting your IMEI!

Add.: Yes, my quote also included his IMEI. The amount of information added is however zero.

Last edited by reinob; 2012-04-25 at 11:03.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to reinob For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
whatscrapp!


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:16.