Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 60 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#11
DO NOT attempt it at home but this works, sort of. The idea here is that somebody competent will clean it up and post a more kosher version.

-----------------------------

In file /etc/osso-af-init/real-af-startup insert this:

Code:
/usr/bin/browser &
in this section:

Code:
 ....
  else
    if [ -x $AF_INIT_DIR/startup-wizard.sh ]; then
      source $AF_INIT_DIR/startup-wizard.sh start
    fi
    
    /usr/bin/browser &

    # Give Backup a chance to finish restoring task
    if [ -f $HOME/.osso-backup/last-restore.xml ]; then
  ....
I say sort of because a) I have not tested it extensively b) some browser startup parameters are missing and I don't know where they are c) the task is put in the background and I'm not sure this is the proper thing to do. But this works nevertheless, n800 boots and starts the browser automatically.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to directore For This Useful Post:
terrencegf's Avatar
Posts: 221 | Thanked: 182 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ Central Illinois
#12
I think you are definitely on the right track. However, I think the "/usr/bin/browser&" line is in the wrong place. I think a better place is near the bottom just above the "stop)" line. For example, to start the browser with Google, you'd have something like this:
Code:
...  
  rm -f /tmp/im_disable_tools_menu

  /usr/bin/browser --url=http://google.com &

  ;;
stop)
...
I also tried using the "--full-screen" command line option for the browser, but the hildon toolbar icons at the top appear on top of the browser window, so obviously parts of the user interface get executed AFTER real-af-startup. Perhaps some other clever board member knows a better place to launch the browser.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to terrencegf For This Useful Post:
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2008
#13
Wow guys - now we're talkin! I'm going to carve out some time to try this and will post my results - thanks so much for your thoughts!
 
Posts: 60 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#14
It's relatively easy to trace the bootup process but my ssh is acting up again so you are on your own. ----full-screen is a valid option and it works as expected if invoked in xterm.


BTW here is the full list of options for the browser in os2800.
Code:
show-titleShow title for each tab windowenable-hiddenEnable hidden menu optionsfull-screenOpen browser in full screen modeforce-openOpen even without urlforce-showOpen even without initialized enginetime_loadClose browser after loading finishedtime_initClose browser on loading startedbind_onlyBrowser will only load engine library and exitviewSet view type tab/box/winVIEWSet engine name 'myengine' (libmyengine-eal.so.0 should be on filesystem)myengineSet first urlURL
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2008
#15
I think this is a noob question, but when I try to edit the file and save it I get a permission denied write error - I'm accessing the file through the xterm on the device and using vi to edit it - perhaps it remains locked by the OS? should I access it and edit it another way?
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#16
Must needs be root; sudo gainroot. You will need to install becomeroot for this to work.
 
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2008
#17
like he said^

type "sudo gainroot" on the first line when you open xterm... then you are admin...




im going to mess around with this and see what happens... thanks guys...


has anyone else tried it? I am assuming OS 2008 right?
 
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2008
#18
can I do this through xterminal or do I have to get ssh???
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Feb 2008
#19
Originally Posted by architect View Post
like he said^

type "sudo gainroot" on the first line when you open xterm... then you are admin...




im going to mess around with this and see what happens... thanks guys...


has anyone else tried it? I am assuming OS 2008 right?
Yes - this whole discussion thread has been on os2008. After sudo gainroot I see a message "enable RD mode if you want to break your device" - cute...
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#20
Install becomeroot. (Or use the flasher to enable RD, but that's the hard way.)
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:00.