Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,174 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
#151
Qole,

Just enter the cpu-perform code in Xterm, close Xterm and keep going? Or is there more to this? Does it stay tweaked after you restart? And, heck, what does it mean to "peg" the processor? Thanks.

Originally Posted by qole View Post
Just a note; if you want to put a bit of vitality back in your tired old tablet, make a script that pegs the processor:

cpu-perform
Code:
echo performance >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
This makes things a lot more snappy. Battery life will suffer accordingly, but this is the little blue pill for your limp little tablet.

To come down off your high, run this script:

cpu-ondemand
Code:
echo ondemand >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
My tests have shown that this can make even desktop apps like OpenOffice usable on the tablet.

So while most of us have to wait a loooong time for OMAP3, we might as well push our old OMAP2 as hard as they'll go!

(thanks, lcuk, for the tip!)
__________________
.
. .

Help Save This Forum
for N8x0/Diablo Users! Register and Vote for Solution #1 on this Brainstorm. (The Solution will let you see New Posts with any threads you choose -- like the N900 and Maemo5/Fremantle threads -- filtered out.) (To understand the Solution better, see these posts #17, #18, and #19.)
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#152
Well, you can make an item in Personal Menu that does this (make sure you "Run as root"), or you can gain root, make a text file like /sbin/cpu-perform and put the code in, then do "chmod +x /sbin/cpu-perform" to make it executable. Then you can just gain root and run cpu-perform to get the speed boost.

This only sticks until reboot.

As for "pegging" the processor, it seems that the "on demand" mode that our processor is normally in doesn't really use the full speed of the processor very much (if at all -- my processor never shows more than 330 mHz), even when you're running an app (like OOo) that really pushes the CPU hard. The performance mode seems to let the processor "out of the cage" so that it can run at full speed.

(Alternately, you can install liqbase or the next version of my Easy Debian.)

EDIT: Further testing seems to indicate that the processor does spike up to full speed in On-Demand mode, but I guess that lag between "I need the processor" and "here you go" makes for a slower experience.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!

Last edited by qole; 2008-10-09 at 16:42.
 
johnkzin's Avatar
Posts: 1,878 | Thanked: 646 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ San Jose, CA
#153
Originally Posted by eiffel View Post
If you stretch your imagination a bit, you can think of the 5800 as being like an "N800 lite", so next year's high-end touch phone just possibly might be an 800x480 touch phone to "distract people from Android" until the Maemo 5 devices are available.
Sorry, if that's their strategy, that the Tube will distract us from the fact that there's no new Maemo device to compete with the Android, Pandora, and MID devices, then it's a stupid strategy. S60 devices aren't Maemo devices. I'm not going to be distracted away from the hole in the Maemo timeline by an S60 device, nor am I going to be appeased in my looking for a MID type Linux/UNIX device by any S60 device. Just not going to happen.

Maybe I'm a minority in that regard, but for me, that's just a cop-out on Nokia's part. If I want a NIT/Maemo device, then I want a NIT/Maemo device. If I want a Symbian device, then I want a Symbian device. Trying to use one to justify a hole in the lineup of the other is not an acceptable alternative to me. It clearly indicates a failing in the product line.

That said, the Tube does look interesting. Did I notice that it has 2 card slots? That's kinda N800ish It seems like it'd be a great device upon which to run Maemo. If they had a version that is exactly like the 5800 but ran Maemo, and one that had a side-slide qwerty keyboard (5810? ) (and also ran Maemo), then that'd be great.

If they had that, a version of the Tube that ran Maemo, then I'd happily consider it to be the device that fills the gap in the time line. Otherwise, no dice.
__________________
My Personal Blog

Last edited by johnkzin; 2008-10-09 at 16:40.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to johnkzin For This Useful Post:
benny1967's Avatar
Posts: 3,790 | Thanked: 5,718 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Vienna, Austria
#154
Originally Posted by Benson View Post
Maybe I'm just an optimist, but I'm hoping for at least 1024x600 screen, which should help.
Hoping/assuming that the future device will not be bigger than an N8x0 - how would a higher resolution help?
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,525 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#155
Originally Posted by benny1967 View Post
Hoping/assuming that the future device will not be bigger than an N8x0 - how would a higher resolution help?
It makes it much nicer to render webpages, it makes Koffice or other apps display properly.

I want 1024x600 also
__________________
To all my Maemo friends. I will no longer be monitoring any of my threads here on a regular basis. I am no longer supporting anything I did under maemo at maemo.org. If you need some help with something you can reach me at tablethacker.com or www.facebook.com/penguinbait. I have disabled my PM's here, and removed myself from Council email and Community mailing list. There has been some fun times, see you around.
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,525 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#156
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Just a note; if you want to put a bit of vitality back in your tired old tablet, make a script that pegs the processor:

cpu-perform
Code:
echo performance >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
This makes things a lot more snappy. Battery life will suffer accordingly, but this is the little blue pill for your limp little tablet.

To come down off your high, run this script:

cpu-ondemand
Code:
echo ondemand >/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
My tests have shown that this can make even desktop apps like OpenOffice usable on the tablet.

So while most of us have to wait a loooong time for OMAP3, we might as well push our old OMAP2 as hard as they'll go!

(thanks, lcuk, for the tip!)
Am I sensing some Pandora regret in your posts already?
__________________
To all my Maemo friends. I will no longer be monitoring any of my threads here on a regular basis. I am no longer supporting anything I did under maemo at maemo.org. If you need some help with something you can reach me at tablethacker.com or www.facebook.com/penguinbait. I have disabled my PM's here, and removed myself from Council email and Community mailing list. There has been some fun times, see you around.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#157
Originally Posted by penguinbait View Post
I want 1024x600 also
1920x1080 please.

Originally Posted by penguinbait View Post
Am I sensing some Pandora regret in your posts already?
Of course. But I'm strong. I can wait. (I think. I hope.)
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
benny1967's Avatar
Posts: 3,790 | Thanked: 5,718 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Vienna, Austria
#158
You cant make fonts and gui elements any smaller. in reality you'd have the same space to work with, as long as the screen itself doesn't get bigger.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#159
Originally Posted by benny1967 View Post
You cant make fonts and gui elements any smaller.
Sure you can. Just include a pair of glasses with magnifying lenses with every tablet sold!
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#160
Originally Posted by benny1967 View Post
Hoping/assuming that the future device will not be bigger than an N8x0 - how would a higher resolution help?
Almost print resolution is good, print resolution is even better. Picture a display where you can't even see the pixels? Mmm. . . .
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:39.