Reply
Thread Tools
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#11
I'd go for an N800 personally (much less buttons and the dpad on the outside is win - I hate my N810's dpad and love my N800's one despite having scratched it up so much...).

I haven't tried this; but I would, personally, do it like this:

1. Have bootmenu installed so I can always get into rootfs via usb cable if something arises
2. Stop hildon-desktop from loading via init script
3. Load browser from init script making sure to run it using: "su - user -c browser"
4. Get wmctrl to make the window fullscreen
5. Build a custom libhildon that wont close the window when you hold escape:
Code:
--- libhildon-2.0.6.orig/src/hildon-window.c
+++ libhildon-2.0.6/src/hildon-window.c
@@ -1168,6 +1168,7 @@
             if (hildon_window_toggle_menu (HILDON_WINDOW (widget), 0, GDK_CURRENT_TIME))
                 return TRUE;
             break;
+#if 0
         case HILDON_HARDKEY_ESC:
             if (!priv->escape_timeout)
             {
@@ -1176,6 +1177,7 @@
                      hildon_window_escape_timeout, widget);
             }
             break;
+#endif
     }
 
     return GTK_WIDGET_CLASS (hildon_window_parent_class)->key_press_event (widget, event);
6. Rebuild libgtk and make gtk_window_unfullscreen a nop function so one can't unfullscreen the window via the hardware key. It's rather extreme though - one could just remap the F6 key to summat else.

Of course, the transition from theory to reality can be rather different...
 
Bundyo's Avatar
Posts: 4,708 | Thanked: 4,649 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
#12
You can always write a webkit fullscreen only browser in python or vala with the webkit bindings.
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#13
are there not a media center app floating around for the tablets?
 
wazd's Avatar
Posts: 528 | Thanked: 895 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Moscow, Russia
#14
By the way, I want to use my alienware i7 gaming rig + 30" apple cinema as a digital photoframe ONLY. Is there any way to boot it right into specified image? Kthxbye!
__________________
Maemo UI improvements blog.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wazd For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5,335 | Thanked: 8,187 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Pennsylvania, USA
#15
Originally Posted by rom View Post
This is going to be a single purpose tool, just a remote.
Even Elan still allowed access to the rest of the system. They billed the web browser and media streaming as benefits.

Anyway, have fun!
__________________
maemo.org profile
 
jmjanzen's Avatar
Posts: 192 | Thanked: 60 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Wichita, KS
#16
don't listen to these fanboys, rom. you can do what you want with your tablet, as specialized/focused or versatile/broad as it may be.

Originally Posted by rom View Post
i don't know if this would be a huge pain in the *** but...
ya, it would probably be a huge pain in the stars. others have attempted similar setups, though, and if you have some programming experience and you can comprehend qwerty's suggestions, i say go for it. i see 2 problems, though:

1. you'll have to disable menu access to prevent all possibility of exiting full-screen mode and/or exiting the browser entirely, which means you wouldn't be able to use many of the features of the browser (looking at browsing history, for example). again, that's your call.

2. if you successfully prevent the user from exiting the program by any means, then what if the browser freezes or you need to tweak the setup somehow? i guess this is why qwerty suggested setting up a bootmenu. but bootmenus make me really nervous because if you don't know what you're doing, you could break your tablet beyond what a re-flash can repair.

so, how daring and/or tablet-savvy are you? you've got to be one or the other to buy a tablet and attempt this.

Last edited by jmjanzen; 2009-07-02 at 16:00.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jmjanzen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#17
Originally Posted by jmjanzen View Post
don't listen to these fanboys, rom. you can do what you want with your tablet, as specialized/focused or versatile/broad as it may be.



ya, it would probably be a huge pain in the stars. others have attempted similar setups, though, and if you have some programming experience and you can comprehend qwerty's suggestions, i say go for it. i see 2 problems, though:

1. you'll have to disable menu access to prevent all possibility of exiting full-screen mode and/or exiting the browser entirely, which means you wouldn't be able to use many of the features of the browser (looking at browsing history, for example). again, that's your call.

2. if you successfully prevent the user from exiting the program by any means, then what if the browser freezes or you need to tweak the setup somehow? i guess this is why qwerty suggested setting up a bootmenu. but bootmenus make me really nervous because if you don't know what you're doing, you could break your tablet beyond what a re-flash can repair.

so, how daring and/or tablet-savvy are you? you've got to be one or the other to buy a tablet and attempt this.
I fancy that i'm pretty daring and very web savvy so if it doesn't require a tonne of c++ programming i'm pretty much good.. this is my first foray into tablets because i don't like windows media remotes (they are all awful) and i would like to eventually control other stuff with the remote as well..

so i'm just going to replace the interface with a python based webkit browser (it looks like it will be a good amount of work but i think it's a good option). I would eventually like to use the hardware buttons (dpad, so forth) to just send commands to the server but it's not important at first.

and to all the fan boys... i've got an iphone. the nokia doesn't do anything better except have a bigger screen.... so it's gonna be a remote because i think it will do that really well.. also, i don't like hacky things, i don't want it to look like i'm running a remote application on top of something that is meant to do something else, i want it to be a remote, seem like a remote and respond as a remote should...

and if you want.. i'll send you my 810 for free as long as you send me a letter requesting it and the envelope is made out of 3 crispy 100 dollar bills.
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#18
Originally Posted by wazd View Post
By the way, I want to use my alienware i7 gaming rig + 30" apple cinema as a digital photoframe ONLY. Is there any way to boot it right into specified image? Kthxbye!
so you're equating using something that costs like 8 grand as something that costs 125 dollars to using something that costs 300 dollars as something that costs 700 (touch screen universal remote)

it's not like these things are expensive guys. chill the hell out.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:43.