Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#11
Well, I've installed it as per the instructions, but their instruction to start the dtn daemon with "dtnd -c /etc/dtn.conf -l info" is a bit weird, it leaves you at a "dtn%" prompt. Are you supposed to just sit at that prompt? That strikes me as very odd.

The other thing is that I'm not sure what my EID is supposed to be; is it "dtn://millenium-falcon" or "dtn://millenium-falcon.dtn"? The second one is used by the daemon when it says,

Code:
[1248301593.447814 /dtn/bundle/daemon info] REGISTRATION_ADDED 0 dtn://millenium-falcon.dtn
[1248301593.455322 /dtn/bundle/daemon info] REGISTRATION_ADDED 2 dtn://millenium-falcon.dtn/ping
I'll see if I can get things working when I bring my tablets together tonight...
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
fnordianslip's Avatar
Posts: 670 | Thanked: 359 times | Joined on May 2007
#12
You can interact in the dtnd shell. For example:
Code:
% route dump
to show your routing table and links. Try "help" to see a list off commands to get more help on. You can daemonize the dtnd like so:

Code:
# dtnd  -d -o dtnd.log
and then

Code:
# telnet localhost 5050
to get back into the dtnd shell.

A good first test is:

Code:
#dtnping localhost
There is also the other apps like dtntraceroute, dtnping, dtncat, etc. If you are feeling more adventurous, you could try adding a link (in the dtnd shell) or in the dtn.conf file (follwed by a dtnd restart) to my server, as below:

Code:
% link add tcp0 delaytolerant.net ONDEMAND tcp
then to set up a route,

Code:
% route add dtn://*.delaytolerant.net/* tcp0
Whether you ad the link and route in the shell or edit the conf and restart the daemon, you'll need to run

Code:
% link open tcp0
To bring up the link.

My nodes run the Delay Tolerant Link State Router (dtlsr) instead of the Static router, so if you switch to that in the conf file, you should get a whole bunch of new routes added and be able to dtping and dtntraceroute to my nodes.

I'll see if I can get DT-Talkie working later. My N800 is at dtn://n800.delaytolerant.net

Appending .dtn is optional. I'd leave it off if your EID is for a host with a fully resolvable name that will offer an internet routable interface, but add it if its just a host on the local domain. In practice, it doesn't really matter.

Good luck.
__________________
Class .. : Lame hacker & beardy boffin
Humour . : [#######---] Alignment: Apathetic anarchist
Patience : [####------] Weapon(s): My cat, my code.
Agro ... : |#---------] Relic(s) : N900, MacBookPro, NSLU2, N800, SheevaPlug, Eee-901, Core2-Quad, PS3
"In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they're not."
--
Beware of extras-devel.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fnordianslip For This Useful Post:
fnordianslip's Avatar
Posts: 670 | Thanked: 359 times | Joined on May 2007
#13
Uuurgh. I've noticed that DT-Talkie doesn't work with my debs. I think its down to a change to 64-bit timestamps in the XDR for the RPC API in the hg repo. Shame, as all my nodes are using the 64-bit timestamps code, and they don't work well with nodes that aren't.

Best stick with their debs. I've edited my earlier post to note this.
__________________
Class .. : Lame hacker & beardy boffin
Humour . : [#######---] Alignment: Apathetic anarchist
Patience : [####------] Weapon(s): My cat, my code.
Agro ... : |#---------] Relic(s) : N900, MacBookPro, NSLU2, N800, SheevaPlug, Eee-901, Core2-Quad, PS3
"In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they're not."
--
Beware of extras-devel.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#14
Well, I would charitably call DT-Talkie 'proof-of-concept'.

Constantly segfaulting, no clear way to use items in the GUI, just over all not finished in any way.

DTN seems interesting, and I see the server discovering my tablets, but the talkie app isn't there yet. And without source code, I guess it won't be.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#15
Originally Posted by qole View Post
DTN seems interesting, and I see the server discovering my tablets, but the talkie app isn't there yet. And without source code, I guess it won't be.
https://garage.maemo.org/plugins/scm...?root=dttalkie
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#16
OK, someone take the source and make it into an end-user app!
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#17
Originally Posted by fnordianslip View Post
Uuurgh. I've noticed that DT-Talkie doesn't work with my debs. I think its down to a change to 64-bit timestamps in the XDR for the RPC API in the hg repo. Shame, as all my nodes are using the 64-bit timestamps code, and they don't work well with nodes that aren't.

Best stick with their debs. I've edited my earlier post to note this.
Thanks for the feedback. Now the DT-Talkie version 2.1 in the project homepage is workable with the latest dtn2.6.0 in the hg repository. This time you won't face any problem mentioned above.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to palash_cse For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#18
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Wow, thanks for finding that! I have two N800s, I'll try it out soon!

I'm still a bit unclear myself... What kind of networking does it use? Ad-hoc WiFi?

From the website:

.... Aha, later on, they say they're using Bluetooth....

So your walkie-talkies only work in BT range? Couldn't you just, you know, talk loudly?
Bluetooth convergence layer and discovery mechanism is used in the dtnd configuration file as an example. Now TCP convergence layer with IP discovery mechanism is added which allows DT-Talkie to communication over ad-hoc wi-fi as well. Basically, DTN architecture is designed to interoperate over heterogeneous underlying link layer technologies.

Last edited by palash_cse; 2009-07-29 at 15:24.
 
fnordianslip's Avatar
Posts: 670 | Thanked: 359 times | Joined on May 2007
#19
Originally Posted by palash_cse View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Now the DT-Talkie version 2.1 in the project homepage is workable with the latest dtn2.6.0 in the hg repository. This time you won't face any problem mentioned above.
Thanks for that. I've installed the latest deb, and have had some degree of success.

As I have only one N800, I set up a destination EID in DT-Talkie to point at dtn://mbpro.delaytolerant.net/dttalkie (obviously dttalkie doesn't run on my macbook pro) and recorded a voice message with DT-Talkie. DT-Talkie and DTN2 did actually deliver the bundle to mbpro, where it will sit until it expires.

There does seem to be a minor issue in that DT-Talkie seems to append .dtn/dttalkie to both the EID it registers locally, and to destination EIDs. That seems a bit odd to me, and may cause routing issues. I would have expected DT-Talkie to just append /dttalkie to the EID in the account file in order to create its own local EID, and also to the entry from the Individual or Group Contact to form the destination EID. Having said this, it may well work as is, but is probably best changed.

If anyone else fancies sending a voice message to me, you can add a link and a route via delaytolerant.net as shown in my post above). The destination EID should be dtn://n800.delaytolerant.net in the Individual Contacts field.

Then you may need to change the router type in /etc/dtn.conf to be dtlsr - I'm not entirely sure whether bundles will get routed through my DTN if you don't.

You need to press the fullscreen button to start recording, and again to stop recording and send the bundle. Note that there is nothing to show that you are actually recording a message, and if you don't stop recording, you'll fill up the file-system eventually. If you run dttalkie from the terminal, you can see the current state of recording in the output there, and the GUI does indicate when a bundle has been sent, although there is no perceptible difference in the display when sending or 2nd or subsequent bundle to the same destination, so a little bit more feedback in the GUI would be a great thing.

Note that because of the store and forward mechanism involved, you can send messages (as bundles) to nodes that aren't connected, or even to nodes that don't exist yet, and those bundles will still get delivered, as long as those destination nodes (exist and) connect into the same DTN before the bundles expire. That is, of course, unless the node storing them happens to fail.
__________________
Class .. : Lame hacker & beardy boffin
Humour . : [#######---] Alignment: Apathetic anarchist
Patience : [####------] Weapon(s): My cat, my code.
Agro ... : |#---------] Relic(s) : N900, MacBookPro, NSLU2, N800, SheevaPlug, Eee-901, Core2-Quad, PS3
"In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they're not."
--
Beware of extras-devel.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fnordianslip For This Useful Post:
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#20
It was little things like, "Note that there is nothing to show that you are actually recording a message, and if you don't stop recording, you'll fill up the file-system eventually" that made me say that DT-Talkie is proof-of-concept level still. There are no cues to tell you what button to push in the app itself, and no cues to show that anything is being done...

EDIT: Here are some more things that make this a rough-edged app:

There is also no way to delete contacts, and contacts that are discovered by your tablet are not added to your list or shown in the GUI in any way...
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!

Last edited by qole; 2009-07-25 at 06:56.
 
Reply

Tags
dt-talkie


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:08.