Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#31
I can do that when its finished... i've found a problem.
Its to static, if i do a search or plan a route and use the zoom, the search or routes will be deleted... i have to find another solution. maybe anyone with javascript skills could do this correctly?
Yeah this is the issue with reloading the page, you loose the state.

I still think it would be good to work out how to hook into the iPhone gesture stuff and how that's used in the Javascript (I certainly couldn't see it anywhere though). Anyone who actually knows something about Javascript fancy taking a look-see?
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#32
A solution would be to rewrite the whole thing and use the Google Maps API, but that's already what twaelti did... http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=33645
Does this support Latitude updates though? That was the driving factor behind trying out the iPhone page.
 
Posts: 226 | Thanked: 63 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Maldives
#33
I don't understand why the browser won't send keyboard "Shift" along with the mouse event, so that we can zoom out when using the finger friendly Google Maps.
 
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 103 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ switzerland
#34
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
I still think it would be good to work out how to hook into the iPhone gesture stuff and how that's used in the Javascript (I certainly couldn't see it anywhere though). Anyone who actually knows something about Javascript fancy taking a look-see?
Well, I do know something about javascript And again, same problem here. Browser security doesn't allow any third party page/code to access any of the properties of a framed document. That includes also javascript. It's one of the basic principles of browser security and that's why we have all those APIs lying around.

You simply cannot control that page in any way as long as it is in a frameset...
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,309 times | Joined on Sep 2006
#35
Does this hold true for embedded pages? E.g. the googlelatitude app in extras-devel simply wraps the above page in a Qt+webkit app (which means that unfortunately the geolocation doesn't currently work, though I understand there is support in the webkit source code).

Would this be another option? It would also allow the app itself to capture e.g. the +/- keys and pass those over as javascript inputs to zoom (I guess!)
 
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#36
Originally Posted by AndiThebest View Post
Yeah thanks!! how did you find this? I dont know anything about java but i can make framesites

I've created this now: http://n900maps.ath.cx

Now the site is zoomable in a few steps!
The webspace is in austria on my university account, i dont know how fast it is. Have anyone webspace to store it?

greets, Andi
Works for me!

For others if you wish to run it locally...

Save the source code to a local file called "whatever.htm".

Now add "zoom.htm" to the above addy (http://n900maps.ath.cx/zoom.htm). Open it in a browser and save that source code to a file called, you guessed it, "zoom.htm".

Put both files in the same directory on your N900.

Click on "whatever.htm" from the N900's file manager and rock on saving the schools server and cutting connection time.

Thanks again for the idea dude. It opens up other possibilities.
__________________

SLN member # 009
 

The Following User Says Thank You to YoDude For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,283 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ South Florida
#37
Originally Posted by YoDude View Post
Works for me!

For others if you wish to run it locally...

Save the source code to a local file called "whatever.htm".

Now add "zoom.htm" to the above addy (http://n900maps.ath.cx/zoom.htm). Open it in a browser and save that source code to a file called, you guessed it, "zoom.htm".

Put both files in the same directory on your N900.

Click on "whatever.htm" from the N900's file manager and rock on saving the schools server and cutting connection time.

Thanks again for the idea dude. It opens up other possibilities.
Can you just zip those up in file? I'm having trouble capturing the source code.
 
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 103 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ switzerland
#38
Originally Posted by lardman View Post
Does this hold true for embedded pages? E.g. the googlelatitude app in extras-devel simply wraps the above page in a Qt+webkit app (which means that unfortunately the geolocation doesn't currently work, though I understand there is support in the webkit source code).

Would this be another option? It would also allow the app itself to capture e.g. the +/- keys and pass those over as javascript inputs to zoom (I guess!)
I'm not sure how far the sandboxing extends in qt-webkit apps - haven't got much experience in that area. Googling hints that the answer is both "yes" and "no", depending on the qt version

Also I'd assume that it works, though, as we're no longer in a frame-context here but simply pulling up a page and executing JS on it, not much different than what you are already allowed to do in any browser anyway.
 
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,784 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#39
Originally Posted by les_garten View Post
Can you just zip those up in file? I'm having trouble capturing the source code.
Try this for "Gmaps.htm"

Code:
<html>

<head>
<title>Google Maps N900</title>
</head>

<frameset cols="*,76">
  <frame name="Links" src="http://www.google.com/maps/m">
  <frame name="Rechts" src="zoom.htm" scrolling="no" target="Links">
  <noframes>
  <body>

  </body>
  </noframes>
</frameset>

</html>
And then this tweaked "zoom.htm"

Code:
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="de-at">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>Google Maps Zoom</title>
<base target="Links">
</head>

<body link="#FFFFFF" vlink="#FFFFFF" alink="#FF0000" text="#FFFFFF" bgcolor="#000000">

<p align="center">

<b>

<font size="6">

<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=20" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=18" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=16" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=14" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=12" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=10" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=8" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=6" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>
<a href="http://www.google.com/maps/m#II=&z=4" style="text-decoration: none">&lt;</a><br>




</font>

</b>


</body>

</html>
Don't forget to put them in the same directory on your N900.

When it's up and running, come back and thank AndiThebest & BrentDC for making it happen
__________________

SLN member # 009

Last edited by YoDude; 2010-01-09 at 16:41.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to YoDude For This Useful Post:
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Aug 2009
#40
I've noticed if you go to the link on your desktop PC

http://www.google.com/maps/m

You can zoom out by holding down the shift key and double tapping. I've tried this on the N900 but unfortunately doesn't work. If we could somehow emulate the desktop shift key...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to TooMuchMoney For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:49.