Reply
Thread Tools
maya's Avatar
Posts: 141 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Brasil
#21
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
no problem

it looks like you have dns trouble, probably not only on the N900 but on your network. but there is a hopefully easy workaround: you make static entries for downloads.maemo.nokia.com
to do that, you just need to enter the IP + hostname into the file /etc/hosts
Code:
echo "195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
echo "195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
by using the append-pipe >> we make sure not to overwrite /etc/hosts but to append new lines to it, one host per line.

these IPs are what i get when i resolve downloads.maemo.nokia.com
i have no idea of akamai's network, so i can not guarantee they will work from brazil. also, these are probably temporary and will change.

if you enter "nslookup downloads.maemo.nokia.com" into a command prompt on your computer, do you get a response? if so, use those IPs. if not, there is something wrong with either your internet service provider or akamai (the host).
good, if is not a hardware problem, since I am more relaxed.

sorry, I did not understand where to enter codes:
echo "195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com">> / etc / hosts
echo "195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com">> / etc / hosts

to do in xterm? (I did in root, but nothing happened)
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#22
watch out for spaces!
/etc/hosts is the path to a file and must not contain spaces! always be very, very careful in a root shell!

to check whether you have successfully entered it, you can view the file contents by
Code:
cat /etc/hosts
it should look like this:
Code:
subcoren900:~# cat /etc/hosts 
127.0.0.1 subcoren900 localhost
195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
subcoren900:~#
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
maya's Avatar
Posts: 141 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Brasil
#23
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
watch out for spaces!
/etc/hosts is the path to a file and must not contain spaces! always be very, very careful in a root shell!

to check whether you have successfully entered it, you can view the file contents by
Code:
cat /etc/hosts
it should look like this:
Code:
subcoren900:~# cat /etc/hosts 
127.0.0.1 subcoren900 localhost
195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
subcoren900:~#
Well, it was different. See the image.
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#24
Originally Posted by maya View Post
Well, it was different. See the image.
hehe ok i see you tried a few times
you have to edit this file so it looks like the one i showed you, with only 3 lines.
Code:
sudo gainroot
osso_notes /etc/hosts

edit:
btw, the reason your file isn't correct, is that you had too many " in your command. there should be only 2 of them, but you broke the string by adding a third.
as i said, you have to be very careful and exact.
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
maya's Avatar
Posts: 141 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Brasil
#25
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
hehe ok i see you tried a few times
you have to edit this file so it looks like the one i showed you, with only 3 lines.
Code:
sudo gainroot
osso_notes /etc/hosts

edit:
btw, the reason your file isn't correct, is that you had too many " in your command. there should be only 2 of them, but you broke the string by adding a third.
as i said, you have to be very careful and exact.

oops. itīs true.

ok, writed the command, opened in notepad and I replace the lines with:
subcoren900: ~ # cat / etc / hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost subcoren900
195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
subcoren900: ~ #

saving the file. typed there again in xterm: cat / etc / hosts

and ... appeared the same response the previous image
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#26
Originally Posted by maya View Post
ok, writed the command, opened in notepad and I replace the lines with:
no, just these 3 lines
Code:
127.0.0.1 Nokia-N900-51-1 localhost
195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
the other two lines are from the xterm, they look similar on your device. and "subcoren900" just happens to be my hostname


and yes, it seems the easy way of editing in place with osso_notes doesn't work. i tried before i posted it and it worked, but apparently only for the first time. sorry for that.

usually, one uses "vim" to edit system files in place - there are a few other methods, but all of them are a bit too much to describe here, so i'll once again use echo. it's just the least complicated way

Code:
echo "127.0.0.1 Nokia-N900-51-1 localhost" > /etc/hosts
echo "195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
echo "195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
echo just outputs everything between the " ", we use > in the first command to overwrite the target file, and >> in the other two to append to the newly created file instead of overwriting it again.

if you input exactly these 3 commands as root, you should have a correct /etc/hosts file with 3 lines.

edit:
just to be sure - you know you can copy & paste from the browser into the x terminal, right?
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg

Last edited by SubCore; 2010-01-26 at 22:35.
 
maya's Avatar
Posts: 141 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Brasil
#27
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
no, just these 3 lines
Code:
127.0.0.1 Nokia-N900-51-1 localhost
195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com
the other two lines are from the xterm, they look similar on your device. and "subcoren900" just happens to be my hostname


and yes, it seems the easy way of editing in place with osso_notes doesn't work. i tried before i posted it and it worked, but apparently only for the first time. sorry for that.

usually, one uses "vim" to edit system files in place - there are a few other methods, but all of them are a bit too much to describe here, so i'll once again use echo. it's just the least complicated way

Code:
echo "127.0.0.1 Nokia-N900-51-1 localhost" > /etc/hosts
echo "195.113.232.88 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
echo "195.113.232.91 downloads.maemo.nokia.com" >> /etc/hosts
echo just outputs everything between the " ", we use > in the first command to overwrite the target file, and >> in the other two to append to the newly created file instead of overwriting it again.

if you input exactly these 3 commands as root, you should have a correct /etc/hosts file with 3 lines.

edit:
just to be sure - you know you can copy & paste from the browser into the x terminal, right?
Not friend, as I am accessing the forum via the PC desktop, and I am following their guidelines and typing in the N900.

One question, there is only 1 space between the ">" on both sides, right?.

edit:
ok, I accessed the N900's browser, I copied and pasted the code and ran the command again
cat / etc / hosts

But there's something wrong, because the answer does not change.

Last edited by maya; 2010-01-26 at 22:57.
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#28
Originally Posted by maya View Post
One question, there is only 1 space between the ">" on both sides, right?.
yes.
and the two >> have to be next to each other (without space inbetween) for command 2 and 3.
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
SubCore's Avatar
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
#29
Originally Posted by maya View Post
edit:
ok, I accessed the N900's browser, I copied and pasted the code and ran the command again
cat / etc / hosts

But there's something wrong, because the answer does not change.
/etc/hosts is the path to the file you are editing, there is no space in there. the command is
Code:
cat /etc/hosts
__________________
"What we perceive is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning."
-- Werner Karl Heisenberg
 
maya's Avatar
Posts: 141 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Brasil
#30
Originally Posted by SubCore View Post
/etc/hosts is the path to the file you are editing, there is no space in there. the command is
Code:
cat /etc/hosts
the result is always this:


Last edited by maya; 2010-01-27 at 00:05.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29.