Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
mikec's Avatar
Posts: 1,366 | Thanked: 1,185 times | Joined on Jan 2006
#1
Hi Guys

I have over 100 QpushButtons in a gridlayout, and I want to set the toggle state of all of them to the same state.

Any clues how I can do this short of writing this statement 100 times
self.pushButton1.setChecked(0)
.
.
.
self.pushButton100.setChecked(0)


Cheers

Mike C
__________________
N900_Email_Options Wiki Page

Last edited by mikec; 2010-03-06 at 19:33.
 
Posts: 77 | Thanked: 52 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ US
#2
Maybe (most likely?) I am missing something obvious, but why don't you use array of push buttons and iterate through them in a loop?

Hartti
 

The Following User Says Thank You to hartti For This Useful Post:
mikec's Avatar
Posts: 1,366 | Thanked: 1,185 times | Joined on Jan 2006
#3
Originally Posted by hartti View Post
Maybe (most likely?) I am missing something obvious, but why don't you use array of push buttons and iterate through them in a loop?

Hartti
that is exactly what i want to do, how does one refer to the object names in a loop? the object names have been given by qt designer.

also i thought there might be a more clever way, ie changing the
property of all instances of QpushButton.

thanks in advance
__________________
N900_Email_Options Wiki Page
 
pelago's Avatar
Posts: 2,121 | Thanked: 1,540 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Oxford, UK
#4
Originally Posted by mikec View Post
the object names have been given by qt designer.
I'm not an expert, but it might be that creating these buttons one-by-one in Qt Designer wasn't the best thing to do. If you create them in code instead, in an array as mentioned, you should be able to control them easier.
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#5
Pelago is right. However, since you already did it the other way, you're probably looking for the eval function, something like

eval("pushButton%s.setChecked(0)" % i)
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 

The Following User Says Thank You to attila77 For This Useful Post:
mikec's Avatar
Posts: 1,366 | Thanked: 1,185 times | Joined on Jan 2006
#6
Thanks Atilla and Pelago

I will give the eval function a try, sounds like exec() might also be useful.

Is there no way to globally set QpushButton attributes?
for instance I can change the style of QpushButtons globally with a single method
__________________
N900_Email_Options Wiki Page
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mikec For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#7
Originally Posted by mikec View Post
Thanks Atilla and Pelago

I will give the eval function a try, sounds like exec() might also be useful.

Is there no way to globally set QpushButton attributes?
for instance I can change the style of QpushButtons globally with a single method
Style or attribute ? 'Cause those are two very different things If you maintain parent-child relations or a wrapper class you could of course make things easier.
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 
mikec's Avatar
Posts: 1,366 | Thanked: 1,185 times | Joined on Jan 2006
#8
ok just to close close this thread off.

Could not get Eval() to work but Exec() worked well , but I decided to rewrite the app using an array of buttons populated from within the application. This was non trivial cause of python arrays peculiarities but here is the code snippet for future ref.

This creates an 8x16 array of buttons in an array declared inside the Qt MainWindow Class (this avoids the use of globals, don't even go there )

Code:
#Here is the MainWindow Class with an array called ledArray declared.
class MainWindow(QMainWindow, Ui_MainWindow):
    ledArray=[]
    def __init__(self, parent = None):
          QMainWindow.__init__(self, parent)
           self.setupUi(self)
Here is the initialization routine to create the array of buttons in the Main.py and inserts them into the UI created by Qt Designer, where I had placed a grid layout in the main window to accept my buttons, all pre-styled to look nice.

Code:
def initled():        
        for r in range(8): 
            MainWindow.ledArray.append([])
            for c in range(16):
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r].append(QtGui.QPushButton())
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setCheckable(True) 
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setMinimumSize(QtCore.QSize(45, 45)) 
                    ui.gridLayout.addWidget(MainWindow.ledArray[r][c], r, c)
And I can change all attributes at once now with loop.

Code:
for r in range(8): 
            for c in range(16):
                self.ledArray[r][c].setChecked(self.ledState)
and here is the result



Mike C
__________________
N900_Email_Options Wiki Page

Last edited by mikec; 2010-03-10 at 10:53.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mikec For This Useful Post:
noobmonkey's Avatar
Posts: 3,203 | Thanked: 1,391 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Worthing, England
#9
Originally Posted by mikec View Post
ok just to close close this thread off.

Could not get Eval() to work but Exec() worked well , but I decided to rewrite the app using an array of buttons populated from within the application. This was non trivial cause of python arrays peculiarities but here is the code snippet for future ref.

This creates an 8x16 array of buttons in an array declared inside the Qt MainWindow Class (this avoids the use of globals, don't even go three )

Code:
#Here is the MainWindow Class with an array called ledArray declared.
class MainWindow(QMainWindow, Ui_MainWindow):
    ledArray=[]
    def __init__(self, parent = None):
          QMainWindow.__init__(self, parent)
           self.setupUi(self)
Here is the initialization routine to create the array of buttons in the Main.py and inserts them into the UI created by Qt Designer, where I had placed a grid layout in the main window to accept my buttons, all pre-styled to look nice.

Code:
def initled():        
        for r in range(8): 
            MainWindow.ledArray.append([])
            for c in range(16):
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r].append(QtGui.QPushButton())
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setCheckable(True) 
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setMinimumSize(QtCore.QSize(45, 45)) 
                    ui.gridLayout.addWidget(MainWindow.ledArray[r][c], r, c)
And I can change all attributes at once now with loop.

Code:
for r in range(8): 
            for c in range(16):
                self.ledArray[r][c].setChecked(self.ledState)
and here is the result



Mike C
that rocks!!!!!
__________________
----------- Follow me on Twitter here
----------- My Photography Website and Blog is here
----------- Author of the N900 Health Check Application ----------- New Version in Extras Devel (Dec 2010 - 2.9.10)
----------- Are you on the N900 World Map? - http://pininthemap.com/maemo - masterpin: shotgun
----------- What apps do you want to see on the n900 or in MeeGo in the future? -
 

The Following User Says Thank You to noobmonkey For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#10
Originally Posted by mikec View Post
Code:
def initled():        
        for r in range(8): 
            MainWindow.ledArray.append([])
            for c in range(16):
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r].append(QtGui.QPushButton())
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setCheckable(True) 
                    MainWindow.ledArray[r][c].setMinimumSize(QtCore.QSize(45, 45)) 
                    ui.gridLayout.addWidget(MainWindow.ledArray[r][c], r, c)
Great stuff ! Two notes, though (not as discouragement, just as advices):

Avoid things like MainWindow.ledArray[r].append(QtGui.QPushButton())

The problem is that Python handles Qt object lifetimes/references differently than C++ and this (calling a constructor as a parameter for another function) can cause all sorts of nastiness if you're not careful. I know it's uglier to allocate a local variable for this, but you'll understand when you meet the first segfaults

The other note is python style - when dealing arrays it's recommended to use the 'in' operator. Faster, IMHO prettier and less error-prone than index based stuff. So, something like:

Code:
# c-ish
for r in range(8): 
            for c in range(16):
                self.ledArray[r][c].setChecked(self.ledState)

# pythonic
for row in self.ledArray: 
            for led in row:
                led.setChecked(self.ledState)
See ?
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to attila77 For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18.