Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Tampere, Finland
#1
I'm trying to do a simple app in Qt Creator 2.0. The thing is that all the Qt UI standard widgets looks awful when running the app on N900. Buttons are squeezed, most of the input boxes are just not visible. Interesting thing is that UI looks kind of ok on Qt simulator. But it gets terrible when moving to the actual N900.

I'm attaching a screenshot from Qt creator and how it looks on N900.
Attached Images
  
 
Posts: 80 | Thanked: 53 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Berlin, Germany
#2
It looks like you forgot to set a layout before adding the widgets. It is mandatory on the n900 to use layouts.

For more information on how to set the look on the n900 correctly:
http://doc.trolltech.com/qt-maemo-4....es-maemo5.html
 
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#3
Originally Posted by strekazoid View Post
I'm trying to do a simple app in Qt Creator 2.0. The thing is that all the Qt UI standard widgets looks awful when running the app on N900. Buttons are squeezed, most of the input boxes are just not visible. Interesting thing is that UI looks kind of ok on Qt simulator. But it gets terrible when moving to the actual N900.

I'm attaching a screenshot from Qt creator and how it looks on N900.
Why are you surprised?
The reason is that you set some pixel sizes which are too small on Maemo.

For example: on Maemo, a 70 px high button feels natural, even though it looks stupid in Qt Creator.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Tampere, Finland
#4
Sort of answers I expected Thanks, guys, will try again.
 
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Tampere, Finland
#5
Using layouts and increasing sizes of the widgets get things better. Any idea why this push button looks weird?

I kind of don't want to use QtMaemo5, since it's probably not supported on a Symbian platform.
Attached Images
 
 
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#6
Originally Posted by strekazoid View Post
Sort of answers I expected Thanks, guys, will try again.
You know, there is a button for that in the lower right corner of each post.

Originally Posted by strekazoid View Post
Using layouts and increasing sizes of the widgets get things better. Any idea why this push button looks weird?
It should not be larger than 72 pixels (I think).
Btw, this is a known bug - it may be possible to get around it, but I can't recall the solution at the moment.

Originally Posted by strekazoid View Post
I kind of don't want to use QtMaemo5, since it's probably not supported on a Symbian platform.
Well, use platform specific stuff for platform specific UI.
For a simple push button, no platform specific API should be required, though.

Last edited by Venemo; 2010-07-02 at 09:09.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Venemo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 80 | Thanked: 53 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Berlin, Germany
#7
Well, don't set a specific size for the pushbutton but use the layouts. That works cross-platform and will look the way it should.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nath For This Useful Post:
Posts: 10 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Tampere, Finland
#8
Originally Posted by nath View Post
Well, don't set a specific size for the pushbutton but use the layouts. That works cross-platform and will look the way it should.
That helped, thanks. Now pushbutton looks fine.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:09.