Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#21
Originally Posted by stobbsc View Post
AH MAN,

I had this working 10 minutes ago. Now I've started to try and create a bash file to do this for me, but it won't work.
infact if I go into the correct folder
and then type:
"grep -i extras-devel sources.txt"

nothing happens, have I maybe change something or missed something out? is there a type there maybe
Looks okay - is your repository actually called "extras-devel" though? If you've named it anything else then it won't match. To get a list of the repositories, you can run:

Code:
perl package_sources.pl blah
It'll fail to find a repository named "blah" so will print out the list of the configured repositories instead.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#22
Originally Posted by GEONXT View Post
That is a L I think a diferent font output looks like a 1. I dont think the link works i cant download the zip file from that site?
You're right - there was a typo in the URL. It's fixed now, so give it another shot.
 
Posts: 526 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#23
this is pretty cool,

I've created a little script file that holds all my repo's in and I run the file with a parameter and then it runs your code for me. so I only need to dun
sh Repo.sh 1


so a quick question then.
Is it possible to create a shortcut command that runs sh Repo.sh
or something like that
__________________
Christopher Stobbs

My Blog
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#24
Originally Posted by stobbsc View Post
this is pretty cool,

I've created a little script file that holds all my repo's in and I run the file with a parameter and then it runs your code for me. so I only need to dun
sh Repo.sh 1


so a quick question then.
Is it possible to create a shortcut command that runs sh Repo.sh
or something like that
A shortcut command runnable from where? You can create aliases or add executable scripts into the path, which will allow you to run the script with just "repo" (for example). If you're wanting to add it to the desktop/app menu, you should be able to create a .desktop file to launch it (see http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=35858 for details on how to do this).
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 526 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#25
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
A shortcut command runnable from where? You can create aliases or add executable scripts into the path, which will allow you to run the script with just "repo" (for example). If you're wanting to add it to the desktop/app menu, you should be able to create a .desktop file to launch it (see http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=35858 for details on how to do this).
awesome just what I needed :-)
__________________
Christopher Stobbs

My Blog
 
msa's Avatar
Posts: 909 | Thanked: 216 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Bremen, Germany
#26
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
The sources.txt file will then contain information on which packages you've installed and which repository they're currently found in.
in which they are "currently" found in... i got a question about that:

lets assume there is an app in extras. now what happens when such an app gets an update which gets uploaded to devel?
patches have to go through devel as well, right?

or another scenario: what if you downloaded a program when it was in devel, and when you look it up with your app it already went up to extras the time you check?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#27
Originally Posted by msa View Post
lets assume there is an app in extras. now what happens when such an app gets an update which gets uploaded to devel?
patches have to go through devel as well, right?
The script includes version checks, so it's only reported if the version in the repository matches the currently installed one. If the currently installed version is not found in any repository, it'll report all found versions (with the version number in brackets afterwards).

Originally Posted by msa View Post
or another scenario: what if you downloaded a program when it was in devel, and when you look it up with your app it already went up to extras the time you check?
It'll report the repository it's currently in (there seems to be nothing logged to indicate which repository it was installed from). The script also includes a prioritisation system for the extras repositories, so if the same package version is found in multiple repositories, only the highest priority one is reported.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#28
Rob1n, thanks for this.

Could you help me out with the following though:

~ # cut -f1 sources.txt | sort | uniq
Nokia Applications
Nokia System Software Updates
Ovi
Unknown

No devel or testing, and I know I have packages from those. Could it be that "unknown" is extras-devel and -testing on my system?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#29
Originally Posted by nex View Post
Rob1n, thanks for this.

Could you help me out with the following though:

~ # cut -f1 sources.txt | sort | uniq
Nokia Applications
Nokia System Software Updates
Ovi
Unknown

No devel or testing, and I know I have packages from those. Could it be that "unknown" is extras-devel and -testing on my system?
Do you have the extras-devel and -testing repositories configured and enabled? If not, the apps will fall under Unknown (along with any others you've installed which aren't in any current repository).
 
Posts: 61 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#30
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Do you have the extras-devel and -testing repositories configured and enabled? If not, the apps will fall under Unknown (along with any others you've installed which aren't in any current repository).
Well I should have known this. It's working perfectly now, thanks
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:27.