Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#11
Maybe space inside the image is a problem?
Here is a little Howto for resizing the image to have 1 GB of free space:
- Unmount and close the EasyDebian-chroot
- Install coreutils-gnu as dd does not append to a file while the version of dd in the gnu package does:
Code:
apt-get install coreutils-gnu
- Lets append some space to the debian image (Make sure your image name is correct!!!):
Code:
gdd if=/dev/zero of=/home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2 bs=1M count=1000 oflag=append conv=notrunc
- Make a filesystem check here:
Code:
e2fsck -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
- Now resize the the filesystem:
Code:
resize2fs -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
Takes all in all 5 minutes!

Last edited by michaaa62; 2010-12-19 at 18:06.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post:
FRuMMaGe's Avatar
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Norwich, UK
#12
Originally Posted by michaaa62 View Post
Maybe space inside the image is a problem?
Here is a little Howto for resizing the image to have 1 GB of free space:
- Unmount and close the EasyDebian-chroot
- Install coreutils-gnu as dd does not append to a file while the version of dd in the gnu package does:
Code:
apt-get install coreutils-gnu
- Lets append some space to the debian image (Make sure your image name is correct!!!):
Code:
gdd if=/dev/zero of=/home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2 bs=1M count=1000 oflag=append conv=notrunc
- Make a filesystem check here:
Code:
e2fsck -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
- Now resize the the filesystem:
Code:
resize2fs -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
Takes all in all 5 minutes!
Thanks but it didn't work. All your commands completed successfully, but the end result was still the same.
__________________
OMNOM: Pacman-like game now in extras-devel

fAircrack (Aircrack GUI): Point-and-click pwnage for your N900
Now with John the Ripper integration
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#13
but the end result was still the same
Regarding the size of the image or the issue with installing a bunch of software to the image?
 
FRuMMaGe's Avatar
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Norwich, UK
#14
Originally Posted by michaaa62 View Post
Regarding the size of the image or the issue with installing a bunch of software to the image?
Sorry for being vague. The image resized fine but the phone turned off at the same point in the software installation.

Is it possible to use my laptop to install the correct files (in the armel architecture) directly to the image, and then transfer it to the N900?

Or could someone install them for me and upload the file to BitTorrent or something?
__________________
OMNOM: Pacman-like game now in extras-devel

fAircrack (Aircrack GUI): Point-and-click pwnage for your N900
Now with John the Ripper integration
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#15
Did you check for the partition holding the image to be clean, meaning essentially to be mounted read/write ? First Close Debian before unmounting the partition, then checking the filesystem.
 
FRuMMaGe's Avatar
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Norwich, UK
#16
Originally Posted by michaaa62 View Post
Did you check for the partition holding the image to be clean, meaning essentially to be mounted read/write ? First Close Debian before unmounting the partition, then checking the filesystem.
Just tried it, same issue. I have no idea what could be wrong. I have googled for many hours but still have not found an answer

Is it possible to use my laptop to install the correct files (in the armel architecture) directly to the image, and then transfer it to the N900?
__________________
OMNOM: Pacman-like game now in extras-devel

fAircrack (Aircrack GUI): Point-and-click pwnage for your N900
Now with John the Ripper integration
 
Scottlfa's Avatar
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 38 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
#17
There is a limit of sorts when running from a squashfs ... the overall size of the "os drive" set by the file itself. I think its 2gb in this case, exceeding that would result in bad things.
__________________
Need more apps for the N900?
Qole's Easy Debian lets you choose from some 25,000 precompiled packages running safely on top of Maemo!
 
FRuMMaGe's Avatar
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Norwich, UK
#18
Originally Posted by Scottlfa View Post
There is a limit of sorts when running from a squashfs ... the overall size of the "os drive" set by the file itself. I think its 2gb in this case, exceeding that would result in bad things.
I've tried expanding it to 3gb but it's still working, even though it says only 221MB is to be installed. Surely it would show me an error complaining of space, not just power off without warning.

Also, other people in this thread have tried it and it has worked completely fine.

Thanks for the suggestion, but this is getting really annoying.

I'm currently downloading VMware and the Maemo SDK with the hopes I can install Easy Debian and all the packages I need, then copy the image to my phone. Do you think this will work?
__________________
OMNOM: Pacman-like game now in extras-devel

fAircrack (Aircrack GUI): Point-and-click pwnage for your N900
Now with John the Ripper integration
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#19
Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe View Post
I've tried expanding it to 3gb but it's still working, even though it says only 221MB is to be installed. Surely it would show me an error complaining of space, not just power off without warning.

Also, other people in this thread have tried it and it has worked completely fine.

Thanks for the suggestion, but this is getting really annoying.

I'm currently downloading VMware and the Maemo SDK with the hopes I can install Easy Debian and all the packages I need, then copy the image to my phone. Do yo u think this will work?
Hello FRuMMaGe

Did you find a solution? I have the same problem as you (I'm trying ro install "pikab"). It is definitively not a space problem neither a problem with overklocking. But something makes the N900 crashes. If you have any news since last december, I would be thankfull if you communicated them.

Maemax
 
FRuMMaGe's Avatar
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 483 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Norwich, UK
#20
Originally Posted by maemax View Post
Hello FRuMMaGe

Did you find a solution? I have the same problem as you (I'm trying ro install "pikab"). It is definitively not a space problem neither a problem with overklocking. But something makes the N900 crashes. If you have any news since last december, I would be thankfull if you communicated them.

Maemax
Yes. Turns out it is a hardware overheating problem on large installations. I'm not the only one to confirm it.

I tried installing each dependency one by one and it worked.
__________________
OMNOM: Pacman-like game now in extras-devel

fAircrack (Aircrack GUI): Point-and-click pwnage for your N900
Now with John the Ripper integration
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:47.