The Following User Says Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post: | ||
![]() |
2010-12-20
, 02:57
|
|
Posts: 330 |
Thanked: 483 times |
Joined on Dec 2010
@ Norwich, UK
|
#12
|
Maybe space inside the image is a problem?
Here is a little Howto for resizing the image to have 1 GB of free space:
- Unmount and close the EasyDebian-chroot
- Install coreutils-gnu as dd does not append to a file while the version of dd in the gnu package does:
- Lets append some space to the debian image (Make sure your image name is correct!!!):Code:apt-get install coreutils-gnu
- Make a filesystem check here:Code:gdd if=/dev/zero of=/home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2 bs=1M count=1000 oflag=append conv=notrunc
- Now resize the the filesystem:Code:e2fsck -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
Takes all in all 5 minutes!Code:resize2fs -f /home/user/MyDocs/debian-m5-v3e.img.ext2
![]() |
2010-12-20
, 08:21
|
Posts: 2,102 |
Thanked: 1,937 times |
Joined on Sep 2008
@ Berlin, Germany
|
#13
|
but the end result was still the same
![]() |
2010-12-20
, 11:34
|
|
Posts: 330 |
Thanked: 483 times |
Joined on Dec 2010
@ Norwich, UK
|
#14
|
Regarding the size of the image or the issue with installing a bunch of software to the image?
![]() |
2010-12-20
, 11:50
|
Posts: 2,102 |
Thanked: 1,937 times |
Joined on Sep 2008
@ Berlin, Germany
|
#15
|
![]() |
2010-12-21
, 16:54
|
|
Posts: 330 |
Thanked: 483 times |
Joined on Dec 2010
@ Norwich, UK
|
#16
|
Did you check for the partition holding the image to be clean, meaning essentially to be mounted read/write ? First Close Debian before unmounting the partition, then checking the filesystem.
![]() |
2010-12-21
, 17:52
|
|
Posts: 124 |
Thanked: 38 times |
Joined on Feb 2010
@ Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
|
#17
|
![]() |
2010-12-21
, 17:59
|
|
Posts: 330 |
Thanked: 483 times |
Joined on Dec 2010
@ Norwich, UK
|
#18
|
There is a limit of sorts when running from a squashfs ... the overall size of the "os drive" set by the file itself. I think its 2gb in this case, exceeding that would result in bad things.
![]() |
2011-02-10
, 16:50
|
Posts: 6 |
Thanked: 0 times |
Joined on Feb 2011
|
#19
|
I've tried expanding it to 3gb but it's still working, even though it says only 221MB is to be installed. Surely it would show me an error complaining of space, not just power off without warning.
Also, other people in this thread have tried it and it has worked completely fine.
Thanks for the suggestion, but this is getting really annoying.
I'm currently downloading VMware and the Maemo SDK with the hopes I can install Easy Debian and all the packages I need, then copy the image to my phone. Do yo u think this will work?
![]() |
2011-02-10
, 17:38
|
|
Posts: 330 |
Thanked: 483 times |
Joined on Dec 2010
@ Norwich, UK
|
#20
|
Hello FRuMMaGe
Did you find a solution? I have the same problem as you (I'm trying ro install "pikab"). It is definitively not a space problem neither a problem with overklocking. But something makes the N900 crashes. If you have any news since last december, I would be thankfull if you communicated them.
Maemax
Here is a little Howto for resizing the image to have 1 GB of free space:
- Unmount and close the EasyDebian-chroot
- Install coreutils-gnu as dd does not append to a file while the version of dd in the gnu package does:
Last edited by michaaa62; 2010-12-19 at 18:06.